We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Udon Born

$$
Neighborhood:
El Born / La Ribera
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighborhoods
Neighborhoods
Get directions
Princesa, 23, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
+34 933 10 59 69
Website
Today
12:30 pm - 12:00 am
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:30 pm - 12:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

251 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 89: English reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Small meals, not very tastefull, expensive for the quality, the customer service was not that good. The Beer was OK...

Helpful?
Thank Omri M
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have never posted a restaurant review before. Never saw the point. Until now. Worst. Meal. Ever. And I'm VERY old. Restaurant was empty. No staff in sight. I approached the kitchen & was rebuked for not waiting at the door to be seated. Ordered two simple meals. Grosse chicken noodles, mainly chicken skin dipped in broth. Four thin slices... More 

Helpful?
Thank Meibeihai
UDON_N00dle_Bar, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Udon Born, responded to this review

Dear Meibeihai, Thank you for your visit and for sharing your experience. We are sorry the situation that you have explained and we want to check it with our team. Could you please send us more details to customercare@udon.es? We promise that our main objective is to offer the best experience to all our customers, including the food and the... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The services is ok but the food is soooo tasteless! My recommendation is just take any place else. Sorry! And I can understand why the staff is looking like they are suffering. If you are serving this food you can't really be proud over your profession.

Helpful?
Thank Helena O
UDON_N00dle_Bar, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Udon Born, responded to this review

Dear Helena O, Thank you for your visit and for sharing your experience. We are sorry the situation that you have explained and we want to check it with our team. Could you please send more details to customercare@udon.es? We promise that our main objective is to offer the best experience to all our customers, including the food and the... More 

Level Contributor
111 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had finally gotten our tickets for the Museum (entry in like 30 min) and were starving so we walked around the area to grab a bite, when we saw Udon. The food was very good. Service was super fast. Good value for money. Highly recommended for when in the area visiting the museum. We ordered some chicken gyoza, some... More 

Helpful?
Thank Yn1909
UDON_N00dle_Bar, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Udon Born, responded to this review

Thank you very much Yn1909, we are really happy that you have enjoyed the experience at UDON and our menu of noodles and izakayas. We hope that you will us again soon! Best regards, UDON Team More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My second time there. Me and my friend went there for dinner. I ordered sushi and she ordered the salmon salad and we shared some tempura and wakame salad. Food was delicious and our waitress was really kind and recommended us when we asked. Highly recommended for low budget and high budget! I'm low budget but everything was worth it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kristjana B
UDON_N00dle_Bar, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Udon Born, responded to this review

Thank you very much Kristjana B, we are really happy that you have enjoyed the experience at UDON Born and our menu of noodles and izakayas. We hope that you will visit us again soon! Best regards, UDON Team More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2016 via mobile

Regretfully paid €40 for two lousy bowls of (super) noodles and a uneaten bowl of veal curry and rice. We regretted going there for dinner as soon as we left. Unfortunately would not go back and would not recommend, you could buy nicer noodles in a pack from the supermarket for a fraction of the price! Crispy chicken sushi rolls... More 

Helpful?
Thank sarahe3110
UDON_N00dle_Bar, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Udon Born, responded to this review

Dear sarahe3110, Thank you for your visit and for sharing your experience. We are sorry the situation that you have explained and we want to check it with our team. Could you please send us more details to customercare@udon.es? We promise that our main objective is to offer the best experience to all our customers, including the food and the... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2016 via mobile

I came here with my family for a nice meal out. It looked like a nice authentic noodle bar from the outside and we thought it wouldnt be too different from wagamama. We were very wrong! Both my parents ate meals out of chipped bowls and I just about managed to finish my bowl of tori nanban udon which was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Charlotte S
UDON_N00dle_Bar, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Udon Born, responded to this review

Dear Charlotte S, Thank you for your visit and for give us an opportunity. We are sorry the situation that you have explained and we want to check it with our team. At UDON we do not offer traditional recipes, we offer adaptations to our mediterranean taste, but we only work with fresh and quality ingredients. We promise that our... More 

Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2016 via mobile

Against advise from others on Tripadvisor, decided to visit as family wanted a break from tapas. Service poor (couldn't get it right and staff miserable) and food just lousy. I had chicken curry noodles and then spent next 10 minutes hunting the chicken, I think it was the over cooked dry bits. My wife and son had ebi thai noodles... More 

Helpful?
Thank Derek S
UDON_N00dle_Bar, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Udon Born, responded to this review

Dear Derek S, Thank you for the visit and for sharing your experience with us. We are sorry about the situation that you have explained here and we would like to check it with our team. Could you please send us more details to customercare@udon.es? We assure you that our main objective is that our customers will enjoy the experience... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
639 reviews
460 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2016

My friend wanted to try something new in Asiatic cuisine, so we visited this restaurant and asked about what they were offering. We started out with thick wheat flour noodles called Udon, often served hot in its simplest form as "Kake Udon, a noodle soup. I ordered "Tori Nanban Udon" served with breaded chicken strips, and soya sprouts and shiitake... More 

Helpful?
Thank gabykouchacji
UDON_N00dle_Bar, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Udon Born, responded to this review

Thank you for your review gabykouchacji. We’re glad for your comments, we hope that you can return to our restaurants in your next trip to Barcelona in order to enjoy our menu of noodles, rices and asian “tapas”. We are going to check your comments and we will work hard to improve our quality and service. Best, UDON Team More 

lleida
Level Contributor
150 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2016

Yesterday we popped in this little Japanese restaurant in the heart of Barcelona not far from Arc del Triumf and Parc de la Ciutadella. As usual every time we visit these kind of restaurants we have to buy some bread somewhere else to accompany our meal as they do not have on their menu. Knowing this and that the seats... More 

Helpful?
Thank stendek
UDON_N00dle_Bar, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Udon Born, responded to this review

Thank you Stendek for your visit and for sharing your experience at this platform. We are sorry that you had these feelings, but the decoration of our restaurants is a true reflection of Asian restaurants. We are very happy that you have enjoyed our dishes and the attention of our staff. We hope that you will visit us soon and... More 

Travelers who viewed Udon Born also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Udon Born? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Average prices
$17 - $26
Cuisine
Japanese, Asian, Soups, Fusion
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Good for
Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:30 pm - 12:00 am
Monday
12:30 pm - 12:00 am
Tuesday
12:30 pm - 12:00 am
Wednesday
12:30 pm - 12:00 am
Thursday
12:30 pm - 12:00 am
Friday
12:30 pm - 12:00 am
Saturday
12:30 pm - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Princesa, 23, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
  • Location: Europe  >  Spain  >  Catalonia  >  Province of Barcelona  >  Barcelona>  > El Born / La Ribera
  • Neighborhood: El Born / La Ribera
  • Phone Number: +34 933 10 59 69
Description
Welcome to Udon Noodle Bar, where noodles are fun!We are specialized in Noodles, but we also make delicious side dishes, rices, salads and home made desserts.Udon is based on the concept of "casual food", which combines fast-food, speed and an affordable price policy using quality raw materials and traditional Asian cuisine.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Udon Born staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Staying in El Born / La Ribera

Neighborhood Profile
El Born / La Ribera
The labyrinth that is El Born becomes most apparent the moment you turn down one of its side streets. But this is one of the few labyrinths you might actually enjoy losing your way in. After all, there are few places that live and breathe such exciting energy regardless of the time of day. This neighborhood seamlessly transcends the old and new parts of the city, reflected in its vast array of restaurants ranging from fancy Michelin-star establishments to trendy fusion restaurants. Here you'll find historical and cultural attractions such as the popular Picasso Museum and the Gothic cathedral La Santa Maria del Mar, where you just might be able to catch a traditional Catalan wedding.
Explore this neighborhood