Sensi Tapas

Sensi Tapas

Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
+34 932 52 88 41+ Add website
Hours
Sun
6:00 PM - 12:45 AM
Mon
6:00 PM - 12:30 AM
Tue
6:00 PM - 12:30 AM
Wed
6:00 PM - 12:30 AM
Thu
6:00 PM - 12:30 AM
Fri
6:00 PM - 12:45 AM
Sat
6:00 PM - 12:45 AM
Improve this listing
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Ratings and reviews
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Travelers' Choice 2023

RATINGS
Food
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Atmosphere
4.4 of 5 bubbles
About
Sensi Tapas first opened its doors in 2006 and has enchanted clients from all over the world with its delicious tapas, tasty wine and special energy. An original take on modern Mediterranean tapas cuisine in a vibrant setting that takes the traditional tapas bar to the next level. Located in the emblematic Gothic quarter of Barcelona, Sensi Tapas draws direct inspiration from Barcelona and its surroundings, mixing the old gothic charms with a jungle and fresh vibe. Inspired by our motto “Come, bebe, la vida es breve” (Eat, drink, life passes in a blink), Sensi Tapas offers a unique dining experience, combining the qualities of a modern tapas restaurant with the vibrant buzz of Barcelona.
PRICE RANGE
$25.00 – $40.00
CUISINES
International, Spanish, Catalan
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner, Late Night, Drinks
FEATURES
Seating, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles2,523 reviews
Excellent
1,802
Very good
443
Average
138
Poor
67
Terrible
75
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

JRNFran
London65 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 friends
After trying to get into the busy sensi tapas in 2017 we tried the sister restaurant Sensi Mezzanine and were left in awe, so I knew that sensi tapas was going to be amazing and I genuinely think they exceeded my high expectations. Tucked away in the Gothic Quarter, Sensi tapas was easy to get to but I generally recommend booking in advance because what’s a good restaurant without a wait? The atmosphere was perfect for couples, business dinners or friends looking for a soft and upbeat team to deliver the most delicious dishes. We particularly enjoyed the beef fillet dish that came with a potato dauphinois-style cheese topped wedge covered in gravy, and the cocktails were perfection. The ribs and croquettes were great. I was disappointed by my squid dish that wasn’t as tasty but none the less I’m sure some would enjoy it. Our server was amazing and each dish came when it was ready (which is the norm with tapas) and what I love is that you can go at your own pace as the food service involves no rushing! I recommend walking over to the till to get your bill politely if you are in a rush but it is a custom for diners to enjoy time to chat and enjoy each other’s company after dinner in Spain so take advantage of it! This was definitely a highlight of my trip
Written April 16, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SensiGroup
Dear JRNFran, Thank you so much for your comment, and specially for coming back after 2 years and try Sensi Tapas this time! We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your dinner with us, our service and to read we were a highlight during your trip. Thank you! Hope to see you back soon, The Sensi team
Written August 3, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Rose C
Barcelona21 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 none
We accidently found this restaurant wandering around in the gothic area. It was packed and lively but we got seats and were greeted warmly. Everything we ordered was tasty and the wines served was great as well. Our waiter, a gentleman with arm tattoos was very very helpful and attentive. We recommend this place to everyone visiting or locals.
Written January 21, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SensiGroup
Dear rccherie, Thank you very much for your comment. It is a real pleasure to read that you enjoyed your dinner at Sensi Tapas... it is not always easy to find us in the little streets of the gothic quarter :-) We hope to see you back soon, The Sensi team
Written January 22, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Richard P
Barcelona57 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 couples
i was getting a bit demoralised with 'Spanish Tapas'; this little sandwiches with cheese and sausages! We wanted to eat a proper meal. And here we are at last. Okay, so we started with the Potatoe Bravas which was tasty, the peppers were ok but the stars of the show were Curried Chicken with Rice, Seafood paella and Teriyaki pork ribs. All super quality and tender succulent meat. Highly recommended and will return. They apparently have 4 restaurants in the vicinity so will try the Bistro next with different menu.
Written February 10, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SensiGroup
Dear Richard, Thank you so much for your comment! we really try hard to make some different and unique tapas... and it is really nice when it is appreciated! We do have 5 restaurants in total, with 5 different menus... so many more tapas to try! :-) We hope to see you back soon! The Sensi team
Written February 11, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Vverena
Cologne47 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2021 none
Unfortunately Sensi was one of the worst restaurants I've ever been to. We asked the waiter to recommend us a dry red wine, and we listened to his recommendation, even though it was (of course) one of the more expensive wines. The bottle arrived - And it was literally ice cold. I think any half decent restaurant should know that you do NOT put red wine in the fridge. On top of that, the red wine wasn't dry at all, it was sweet and pretty bad. Now, the food: Pretty sure at least part of the food was literally frozen food heated up in the microwave. The ravioli and crispy chicken were absolutely terrible. The dates were small raisins. The only plate (out of 6) that was half decent was the tuna, but that wasn't great either and a tiny portion anyways. Unfortunately I can't recommend this place to anyone. You might as well eat at one of the overpriced terrible restaurants on the Ramblas. Sensi is packed with tourists and with their US prices and bwloe average food a total rip-off.
Written August 23, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SensiGroup
Dear Vverena, First of all, we would like you to know that this is a small business and that there is people behind it working really hard to make sure that everything goes well. Therefore, next time you write a review, I would recommend you to think about this. We might have failed during your visit at Sensi Tapas... unfortunately, it can happen sometimes, but we do all our best to make sure the Sensi experience is a good one. We aren't going to give any comment on your remarks, but next time you are at a restaurant, we recommend you to share your thoughts directly with the waiters and staff... We can't go back in time now, but if you would have expressed your thoughts while you were at Sensi, I am sure we could have changed your experience. Best regards, Caroline Sensi Team
Written September 7, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

meg
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2022 friends
So… where do I start! We turned up with a reservation for 8.30, they told us 10mins however 40minutes later we are still waiting at the door…. They eventually said the first round of drinks are compensation and sat us to the table. However it then took them 45 minutes to order this ‘compensation’ round of drinks, (let’s not forget when we asked the waiter for drinks mutual times he said ‘can you not see we are busy, you need wait’ rudely) the food arrived before any of the drinks and then the last drinks arrived after an hour. When the food arrived they got the orders wrong and we got our food over a 2 hours period. We were missing 4 different plates however after reminding them 3 times we cancelled the order and asked for the bill which we then had to ask for it 4 times over before paying. The table next to us has the same issue and the waiter actually swore at them which shows it wasn’t just with our group. I’ve never experienced such a awful group of waiters and I can’t explain how rude and arrogant they were.. despite the food being enjoyable I will never ever return to this place and never recommend it as I just can not describe how awful this place was.
Written March 25, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SensiGroup
We are very sorry to read your comment and experience at Sensi Tapas. As I believe you were on the same table as the previous comment, I'll reply the same: To be honest, when I was reading your comment at first I thought you had wrongly posted on our restaurant and that this was a mistake, as your experience doesn't describe at all our service. This is definitely not the type of service we are used to provide at Sensi Tapas! As some of the issues that your mention are very serious ones, we will be running an internal investigation. Would you be so kind to write us personally to sensigroupbcn@gmail.com? Regards, Caroline Sensi Team
Written April 4, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Hatty S
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2022 friends
Upon our visit to Barcelona we pre booked this restaurant with high hopes at the end of the night those hopes were shattered, through out the meal we had poor food and the worst service I had ever receive; for example the first round of drinks took 45 minutes alongside waiting 40 minutes for the table which we booked for 8:30 and not seated at until 9:15! The food arrived before the drinks which came sporadically through out the evening then after three hours waiting for our remaining tapas dishes we cancelled ! When asked waiters told us they were to busy ! The table next to us walked out after the waiter swore at them every one was very upset and disappointed not just our group! The arrogance of the waiters was beyond belief as we waited for our drinks they stood round the bar doing shots laughing in our faces , laughing in our faces as we reminded them we were waiting for our drinks. Nor me or my friends have ever had such a bad experience with staff and such mediocre food . Along side this beware of the area many pick pockets and even as a group non of us felt safe walking out the restaurant as we were approached multiple times by these sketchy people, please don’t waste your money terrible !
Written March 25, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SensiGroup
We are very sorry to read your comment and experience at Sensi Tapas. To be honest, when I was reading your comment at first I thought you had wrongly posted on our restaurant and that this was a mistake, as your experience doesn't describe at all our service. This is definitely not the type of service we are used to provide at Sensi Tapas! As some of the issues that your mention are very serious ones, we will be running an internal investigation. Would you be so kind to write us personally to sensigroupbcn@gmail.com? Regards, Caroline Sensi Team
Written April 4, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Xanthy P
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2022 friends
We went as a group of 16 for tapas and drinks. The manager (very short guy with floppy hair) said he would take care of things and design a special menu for us to take account of vegetarians, non-fish eaters and gf guests rather than us choosing a la carte which can be more difficult for their kitchen and leave people waiting for food. We were happy to go with his recommendation and asked for a budget. He told us €25-30 euros per person for food plus drinks on top. We were happy to do that and went ahead. The food was incredible and service was excellent. However, we were given far too much food - especially as we had vegetarians and a number that do not eat fish which the manager had noted. A lot of food came out and many plates had gone uneaten. There were at least 7 plates per person which was far too much. Especially if people do not eat fish/meat! The bill was well over $900 euros. Of that the food came to €45 each (inc. service) which was significantly more than the budget we were given and agreed. To be clear the food was very good and I cannot fault the chef or wait staff in any way but it is not fair to quote a price and then unilaterally increase it without checking and knowing full well that plates are not being eaten. It was an incredibly shortsighted thing to do by the manager. Worst still after paying the bill without even mentioning the fact we had been quoted far less, the manager said it was €9 short. I felt terribly embarrassed for the owners that the manager would even raise an issue such as this on a bill of almost €1.000. Shameful. It was great food and service but sadly we will not be returning. What a shame to leave a sour taste. I hope the manager learns from this. My advice would be to pick your own (insist even if in large group) so you know how much it will cost!
Written June 4, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Craige1959
London874 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2020 family
We are regular visitors to Barcelona but always looking for new restaurants. By coincidence a friend of my partner and a friend of my own recommended this restaurant as did my hotel. With a 3 out of 3 recommendation we decided we had to give it a go. Firstly you are unlikely to find it or may even not go into it without these recommendations, it’s a little bit of a backwater. Upon arrival we were greeted by friendly faces and staff that wanted to take time to describe the food to us. It is a more traditional Tapas bar but with some modern twists. We chose several courses to share amongst four of us and there was genuinely nothing we didn’t like. The twist was the Oriental Tapas section of the menu which was new to all of us are certainly worth trying. We had an excellent meal, served by very friendly and pleasant staff who could not do enough for us. It is a small restaurant so I do recommend you pre-book and again I would recommend a visit the next time somebody is in Barcelona.
Written July 20, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SensiGroup
Dear Craige1959, Thank you very much for your comment! We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your dinner with us at Sensi Tapas and that it was an excellent meal. We hope to see you back the next time you are in Barcelona! The Sensi Team
Written August 4, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Natasha L
2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2022 family
We booked in advance for 8 people. We were texted by a member of the team to ensure we would not be late as they were fully booked-the option to go earlier was encouraged. We turned up at 6:05 for our 6:30 booking but was told we’d have to go elsewhere and come back. Two of our party then went over at 6:30 and were also turned away due to supplier delays. We sat in a bar nearby and I texted the number that had messaged me earlier than evening asking them to let us know when we can head over to which they replied ‘Not working.’ ‘You are late’ ‘they will not keep your table’ which was so unprofessional and we didn’t have a clue what to do. We finally headed over and the members of staff were very cold, sat us down, did not say anything and walked off. Our female waitress had a very short patience, lots of attitude and eye rolling. Due to the nature of the tapas style dining, we didn’t know how much to order for 8 people. I placed the order on behalf of everyone else. When a few members of the party were still hungry I asked if I could order 1 more dish. I was told ‘you must all order at once, you can’t just place one off orders’. I explained that we were sure of portion sizes etc. Overall, the whole experience was so let down by the staff. I think we only had 1 gentlemen waiter who was really nice and very friendly. We would have liked to have been served by this man the whole evening which would have made our review a 5 star.
Written April 20, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

fortybefore40
United Kingdom358 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2022 none
Sensi tapas was very busy when we visited but it's not surprising as the food is delicious and great value for money. The staff are really friendly the food arrives at your table as it is ready so there was a constant stream of plates arriving and being cleared away. I loved the burrata, potatoes bravas, tortolini and padron peppers. I would recommend it as a fun atmosphere place to eat in central Barcelona
Written April 19, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SensiGroup
Thank you very much fortybefore40! We are glad to read you enjoyed your experience at Sensi Tapas. We hope to welcome you back soon! Sensi Team
Written April 19, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Zoe B
Barcelona99 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2021 none
We were bossed around and talked to disrespectfully by several different members of staff, who told us that they had a very busy restaurant and we had to order everything on arrival as we had a limited time to eat and couldn't add anything later if we wanted to. The food was good, although a bit overpriced, and actually the staff made is stressful to rush our meal. I wouldn't eat here again.
Written February 4, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SensiGroup
Dear Zoe B, We are very sorry to read your comment, as it is not the type of service we are used to provide. We take good note of it and we will continue working to make it a perfect service! Sensi Team
Written February 14, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jooel
Jyväskylä9 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 none
A group of friends went here to eat and I wasn’t supposed to. You see, I had already eaten so I wasn’t supposedly hungry. But I wanted to go in for a drink or two. That’s what was supposed to happen. First of all they (my friends) had made a reservation for a table that didn’t include me but that was no problem for the staff. Before I could say anything, they already pulled me a chair, took my drink order and brought me a plate. And before I knew, I had ordered three plates of tapas and in full eat-mode. And why not? This is just the kind of place to taste different flavors, have a little something to drink and spend time with friends.
Written February 4, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SensiGroup
Dear JooelN, What a great comment! Thank you very much. The truth is there is always space for some of our delicious tapas! :-) We are very please to read that you had suc a good time with your friends at Sensi Tapas... whenever you want to we will be very happy to have you again for some more tapas & drinks! The Sensi Team
Written February 10, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

chrislvn70
London5 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2022 family
Food was very ordinary , 2/5 but the service was terrible 1/5 - for some reason it was impossible to order a large bottle of water, 330ml between 2 doesn’t go far, no one could offer more. At one point the wine was removed without any explanation and then brought back 5 minutes later as if that was perfectly normal and not in fact insane. it’s totally unacceptable to take half a bottle of wine away for 5 minutes without explanation. All the glowing reviews make this place more popular than free iPhones, but this is very very far from deserving of these reviews.
Written September 5, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Marc
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2022 solo
Being seated at the bar is rather boring, you are staring at a wall. Their passion fruit mojito is mixed from concentrate and tastes rather poor. The food is ok but definitely not worth paying EUR 30 per person. To top it off, after i paid my EUR 40 bill and was finishing my water, the owner asked me if i would be kind enough to leave as he had guests waiting.. even though i only stayed for 40min 😅
Written February 15, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SensiGroup
Dear Marcel, We are sorry to read you didn't enjoy your experience at Sensi Tapas. It is definitely not the type of service we are used to provide... and we are certainly not asking our customers to leave 40 minutes after arriving. We have taken great note of your comments and we will make sure this was all an unfortunate misunderstanding. Regards, Sensi team
Written February 23, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

alecw222
Edinburgh86 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2022 couples
Not a tapa experience as we waited 20 minutes to get any opportunity to order anything then had only received two dishes after waiting 55 minutes. We cancelled the remainder of the order and left. Absence (of food) did not make the heart grow fonder as we were too hungry to appreciate it when what did show up was eaten.
Written April 29, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-15 of 1,465
Best moderately priced restaurants
See all
Sponsored
Alice Secret Garden
$$ - $$$ · American, Mediterranean, European, Spanish
Desoriente
$$ - $$$ · Japanese, Asian, Healthy, Japanese Fusion
La Gastronomica Burgers
$$ - $$$ · Street Food
Vrutal
$$ - $$$ · Bar, Healthy
30% off
Faire Brunch & Drinks
$$ - $$$ · International, Healthy
Jara Sushi Degustación
$$ - $$$ · Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Japanese sweets parlour
BelleBuon
$$ - $$$ · Italian, Neapolitan, Campania, Sicilian
20% off
Le Romane
$$ - $$$ · Italian, Pizza, Mediterranean, European
40% off
Buenos Brasas Grill
$$ - $$$ · Steakhouse, Argentinean
Artéteca Pizzeria Napoletana
$$ - $$$ · Italian, Pizza, Mediterranean, Neapolitan
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

SENSI TAPAS, Barcelona - El Congrés i els Indians - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

All Barcelona HotelsBarcelona Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Barcelona
Things to Do
All Barcelona RestaurantsRestaurants near Sensi Tapas
FlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars