We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
C/ 31 de Agosto, 42, 20003 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
+34 943 42 54 37
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

161 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 39: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2016 via mobile

Mushroom tapa must definitely be tried. They really know how to make it. I was told that mushroom tapa was quite famous in that restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Ekin E
Atencion_Restaurante, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Cueva, responded to this review

Good evening. Thanks a lot for sharing your review. We are glad to read you enjoyed our mushrooms (or txampis). It would be great to see you back to San Sebastian soon. Best. More 

Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2016 via mobile

Service was friendly and welcoming. We sat outside but there was some shelter from the busy Friday street. All food was delicious... Asparagus, octopus, squid, snails, tripe and lamb. Lovely atmosphere and good value.

Helpful?
Thank Lesley O
Atencion_Restaurante, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Cueva, responded to this review

Good morning Lesley. Thanks a lot for sharing your comment. It is great to read you have had a good experience with us. We hope you are having a great time in San Sebastian and to see you back soon. Best. More 

Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2016 via mobile

We were a group of seven with no reservation on a Tuesday night and they were able to seat us immediately. We sat in the cave and had a lovely dinner! The garlic mushrooms and the Ox Tail are must haves. We also ordered the mussels, the artichokes and the chicken dish, which were all good as well. The staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shanna A
Atencion_Restaurante, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Cueva, responded to this review

Good morning Shanna. We are thankful for your comment. It is great to read the experience was so great in terms of food and service. We hope you are having a great time in San Sebastian and to see you back soon. Best. More 

Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2016

This is actually the first time i have written a review, but just felt i was compelled to so. We have enjoyed some great food and pintxos in San Sebastian and decided to try this restaurant on our last night. It is not cheap and chose the swordfish steak which was miserable and just served with a handful of chips.... More 

Helpful?
Thank sjinks2016
Atencion_Restaurante, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Cueva, responded to this review

Good afternoon. We regret your experience was not as good as we would have liked. We will keep working hard to improve. Best. More 

Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2016 via mobile

After sampling the many Pintxos bars we fancied a sit down meal. This fine establishment was exactly 25 metres from our Pension so ideal to stagger back to after our feasting. I say stagger as that was what we did with fully bell's and after a Grande jug of Sangria. We started with Fish soup which arrived in a terrine,... More 

Helpful?
Thank hungrygourmetRMF
Atencion_Restaurante, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Cueva, responded to this review

Good afternoon. Thank you very much for sharing your review, It is great to read you had such a great experience and you enjoyed the visit and the food. It would be nice to see you back to San Sebastian soon. Best. More 

Sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2016 via mobile

On our first evening in the city we got some great tapas action in various bars. Soon enough it was time to get serious & choose a place for dinner. The staff were friendly enough although the boss/owner was a captain grumpy character. Food was very average & overpriced. Shame, a lack of passion and enthusiasm.

Helpful?
Thank TimJT
Atencion_Restaurante, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Cueva, responded to this review

Good afternoon Tim. We regret you did not enjoy the visit, we take a note and will try to improve. Best. More 

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2016 via mobile

We could listen how the boss was shouting to the waiters because they didn't switch off the air-machine.The waiters were very kind and professional, no so was the boss. The salade very poor . For three people one only asparragus, 4 pieces of tomato, 4 olibes and a piece of lattue. The fish correct. We didn't take no dessert no... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hernan B
Atencion_Restaurante, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Cueva, responded to this review

Good morning. We regret you did not enjoy the visit. We will keep working hard to improve. Best. More 

Melbourne
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2016 via mobile

We were introduced to this restaurant when we did the "San Sebastián" Pintxos Walking tour with Keith. We had one of the signature dishes of grilled mushrooms & the green peppers which were great. We decided to come back for a sit-down dinner which we thoroughly enjoyed. In actual fact we ate here on 2 seperate nights. Dishes we tried... More 

Helpful?
Thank MelbourneElizabeth
Atencion_Restaurante, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Cueva, responded to this review

Good morning. Thanks a lot for sharing your review. We are glad to read you tried a good variety of our dishes and that you enjoyed the visit so much. We hope you are having a great time in San Sebastian and to see you back soon. Best. More 

bordeaux
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2016

Not a good place to lunch. The restaurant is pleasant in exterior but that's all. The dish was bad and the quantity were very light. In this place you can find better restaurant than here. Hit the road ! Very disappointed

Helpful?
Thank AlexisBrown
Atencion_Restaurante, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Cueva, responded to this review

Good morning Alexis. We regret you did not enjoy the visit. We will keep working to improve. Best. More 

Zandhoven, Belgium
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2016

We had a very bad experience at this place...service, food and hygiene were awefull... Chicken wasn't cooked well, gamba's were actually little pink shrimps, lamb chops were like 1 piece of fat,... Table was dirty and sticky... Service wasn't friendly at all. A disgrace for San Sebastian...!

Helpful?
Thank Esther2240
Atencion_Restaurante, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Cueva, responded to this review

Good afternoon Esther. Thanks for sharing your comment. We regret you did not enjoy the visit and we will keep working to improve. Best. More 

Travelers who viewed La Cueva also viewed

San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
 
San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
 
San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
 

Been to La Cueva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Mediterranean, Spanish
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Families with children
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: C/ 31 de Agosto, 42, 20003 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
  • Location: Europe  >  Spain  >  Basque Country  >  Province of Guipuzcoa  >  San Sebastian - Donostia
  • Phone Number: +34 943 42 54 37

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from La Cueva staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?