We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Scene Brasserie

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Reserve a table
2
Mon, 8/8
8:00 PM

Ratings and reviews

#569 of 1,356 French in Lyon
#858 of 2,665 Restaurants in Lyon
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
$20 - $33
CUISINES
French
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Drinks
View all details
features, about
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 09/30/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from La Scene Brasserie
Updated 09/30/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
11 results
Traveler rating
6
1
1
0
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
6
1
1
0
3
See what travelers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed March 20, 2022 via mobile

Had a reservation but got a terrible table and ended up sitting outside. The service knew English Price was fine and the food was good and not boring The menu they had on the website was not what they offered Good atmosphere and location I...think because we were young and tourists they didn't sit us wellMore

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
La scene brasserie, Propriétaire at La Scene Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2022

Thank you for visiting La Scène Brasserie and for sharing your experience ; We apologize if you could not have been seated up to your expectation. As for the menu, as we are changing it daily, it is published only 30 minutes prior each meal...More

Reviewed February 27, 2020

We went for lunch while shopping in Lyon. The location is perfect, the decor inside is discouraging and old fashioned. We stayed despite the decor and we were happy we did. We had full lunch menu each and every single dish was delicious and carefully...prepared. My vegetarian starter was wonderful, the vegetarian main was just okay, but I do appreciate a vegetarian option on the lunch menu. Value for money is fair, house wine is good, service is super. Great place for food in central Lyon.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Lascenebrasserie, Propriétaire at La Scene Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded February 29, 2020

Thank you for dining with us while shopping in Lyon, and for your comments which we appreciated

Reviewed January 28, 2020

Located out of the beaten track, on a lovely place, this little gem amazed us for Lunch. After a warm welcome, we enjoyed an imaginative, market fresh cuisine. Kudos to the Chef for the spot-on cooking temperature of all meats and vegetables. From the spring...onwards, I highly recommend you seating on the terrace. I highly recommendMore

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Lascenebrasserie, Propriétaire at La Scene Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2020

Thank you for visiting La Scène Brasserie and I am glad to learn that you have enjoyed your meal on the terrace under the magnolia trees. Thank you again for your warm recommendations. Your comments will be shared with the entire team.

Reviewed September 7, 2019 via mobile

We ordered at lunch starter,main dish and dessert. It took more than 2! Hours before we arrived at dessert. We got served wrong dishes, had to ask three times for our drinks, no bread was served though asked for. No excuses from the service. It...can happen to be overloaded,but come on,the customer is king. At least excuse... Really bad experience. Not coming back hereMore

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
franck r, Propriétaire at La Scene Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2019

We feel sorry for the shortcomings in the service as stated in your review and we hope this will not deter you for visiting us again in the future

Reviewed August 24, 2019

When I lived nearby, this restaurant was one of my regular places to dine. When I read on here that it had new owners I decided to make a return visit. I'm happy to say that the food and service were outstanding. Equal to and...in some aspects exceeded what the previous owner presented. This restaurant continues to offer excellent food. I can't wait to return.More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
franckroyer, Propriétaire at La Scene Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2019

Thank you for giving us a try and we are glad you have enjoyed your meal experience. We are looking forward hosting you again soon !

Reviewed August 24, 2019

Staying in Lyon in July on a family holiday, we visited twice. The food was delicious, imaginative and not too heavy. The staff were friendly and helpful. We thoroughly recommend this restaurant.

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
franckroyer, Propriétaire at La Scene Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2019

We are glad to learn you have have enjoyed several meal experiences with us and we thank you for your recommandations !

Reviewed August 23, 2019

This was an extremely disappointing experience with an awful service. We had to make the complete order (4 dishes) at the beginning of the dinner just to discover during the dinner that half of the our orders were not available and we had to change...them for something else. Service was awful bringing the entree before bringing any cutlery at all and afterwards taking ages to bring the food, drinks and everything. The service didn't apologize for not having our selection. In the case of the main course it is completely unacceptable that at the time of taking the orders they don't know what is available and what is not. We were notified when we were asked for whether the main would be coming anytime soon. Experience got worse later after 1.5 hours (for just 2 plates) and after approximately 30 minutes waiting for the dessert to come we had to ask again whether it was coming or not. We were then notified that the dessert wasn't available anymore. Although the waitress might have found it funny it wasn't for us so we asked for the manager. The manager approached and apologized saying that the tart (strawberries, raspberries and lemmon curd) we ordered wasn't available because they lack strawberries but the chef would change them for raspberries if we were happy with that, we accepted and then what we were served was no tart because there was no pastry and the lemmon curd was some whipped cream. Any similarities between our orders with reality were mere random coincidences. After everything as a good faith detail they invited us for the drinks... A Coke and a 25cl beer. From our experience a place to avoid, better go to McDonald'sMore

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
franckroyer, Propriétaire at La Scene Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2019

First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing La Scene Brasserie for your dîner. We apologize for the service provided that particular evening as we had exceptionally temporary replacement waiting staff attending your table that night with all the consequences listed in...More

Reviewed July 17, 2019

We were looking for a place to eat around Theatre Célestins. We were also looking for a table in the shade as the weather was extremely hot. This restaurant met both needs - and we were warmly welcomed. Our table was a bit wobbly but...staff did try to fix it. For lunch we ordered salads with citrus fruit and chicken. Fruits were nice and fresh. The chicken was not exactly a curry as we know it - but still good. Two glasses of wine and some polite service made for a nice lunch.More

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
franckroyer, Propriétaire at La Scene Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2019

Thank you for visiting La Scène Brasserie. I am glad that you have enjoyed your lunch and hope having the pleasure to host you soon again.

Reviewed July 13, 2019

Beware of the older reviews you find on the internet: This place changed ownership in December 2018 and it's terrible now. I should've known it would be bad when I saw the cheap decor. The tables had a laminate to make them look like wood...but it was fake. The knives were the cheapest ones available at Ikea - I know because I own the same knives and they even say Ikea on them. The candles were fake too. This restaurant seemed to take no pride in itself nor in providing a special experience for its customers. It's like they did everything as cheaply as possible. Also, the fact that the inside of the restaurant was empty and the only people outside were drinking, not eating food, should've been another red flag. The bread basket was stale and was some of the worst bread I had while in France for 32 days. The cod was overcooked. The vegetarian dish was some quinoa and zucchini strips steamed together with what were obviously jarred red peppers and capers thrown on top - it had no added flavor and it was a very strange combination of things to put together. It all tasted like it was heated up in a microwave and like it was done as cheaply as possible. We had originally ordered a dessert and canceled it because our first two courses were so terrible. I spent a month in France and even ate at McDonald's once during the trip, and this was easily the worst meal I had, despite it costing a shocking €68. I left a review on another site, and instead of apologizing, the owner made fun of me for eating at McDonalds once out of convenience while I spent 32 days in France. That ought to tell you everything you need to know about this restaurant and how it views its relationship to its customers. Bottom line: Terrible, disgusting and a waste of money. Do not eat here. Ignore older reviews. The new ownership is riding the coat tails of older reviews while providing a mediocre-at-best dining experience as cheaply as it can.More

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
franckroyer, Propriétaire at La Scene Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2019

Note to the readers : all 21 reviews posted on TripAdvisor are belonging to La Scène Brasserie”

Reviewed March 28, 2019 via mobile

Stopped in for dinner here on a Thursday evening shortly after arriving in Lyon. Atmosphere quiet,uncrowded. Prompt attentive service in English as well as French. Franck, the owner, was welcoming, charming, and helpful. Recommended an inexpensive bottle of petit chablis that was outstanding. My wife...and I both had the prix fixe dinner. Every item was beautifully presented. Egg cocotte appetizer was creative and delicious. Both the oyster mushroom risotto and the osso bucco were outstanding, as were the desserts: creme brulee and chocolate pot au creme. Entire meal with wine came to just less than 100 euro. A delightful intro to a great city.More

Date of visit: March 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
franckroyer, Owner at La Scene Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2019

Dear reviewer, Thank you for dining at La Scene Brasserie when first stepped in Lyon. I am glad to see you have enjoyed your evening with us and we hope to see you back soon ! Best regards, Franck

Reviewed March 9, 2019 via mobile

My partner and I visited this restaurant in March 2019. The food and ambience were excellent and we would highly recommend this place. We had a egg and spinach starter and a sole fish and pork belly for main. We followed with a absolutely delicious...coffee creme dish for afters. Lovely service and very friendly staff.More

Date of visit: March 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
franckroyer, Owner at La Scene Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2019

Dear Guest, Thank you for visiting La Scene Brasserie while in Lyon and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor ; we are glad that you spent a memorable time with us and we do look forward to welcome you back in the near future! Best...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hotel du Theatre
292 reviews
.02 miles away
Hotel des Celestins
1,434 reviews
.04 miles away
Hotel des Artistes
802 reviews
.06 miles away
Best Western Saint Antoine
265 reviews
.07 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Monsieur P
243 reviews
.04 miles away
L'Acteur
318 reviews
.03 miles away
Penjabi Grill
202 reviews
.05 miles away
Cafe Terroir
313 reviews
.04 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The Presqu'ile
788 reviews
.08 miles away
La Place des Jacobins
548 reviews
.06 miles away
Theatre des Celestins
72 reviews
.03 miles away
Passerelle du Palais-de-Justice
28 reviews
.14 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from La Scene Brasserie staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about La Scene Brasserie

Yes, La Scene Brasserie is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

La Scene Brasserie is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4