We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Le Bistrot

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
151 avenue de l Aiguille du Midi, 74400, Chamonix, France
0450535764
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 1:30 pm
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 pm - 1:30 pm
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

326 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 113: English reviews
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is in the Hotel Morgane in Chamonix but it is not your "typical hotel restaurant" - it is really very good. Initial service was a little odd - we were seated and almost immediately presented with an amuse bouche plate then left alone while another later table was given the amuse bouche, menus and drinks. Oh uh I thought,... More 

Helpful?
Thank matterbury
San Francisco
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2016

We were happy to have chosen le Bistrot over more and less expensive options as the food was very satisfying, equal to several well regarded Bistros in Paris that were less comfortable overall (don't be fooled by the name, the house operates like a traditional restaurant). The service tried really hard to be like a starred establishment, like noticing when... More 

Helpful?
Thank happywanderer71
Jérôme R, Directeur général at Le Bistrot, responded to this review

Happywanderer71, Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor after your recent diner at Le Bistrot. I was delighted to read that you truly enjoyed your Chamonaird diner with us, that my team took wonderful care of you and that the quality and service of the restaurant played an important role in making it a memorable one. I... More 

cktng
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2016

My sister-in-law chose this place. Because of our schedule, we had time to dine in only one fine dining restaurant. She compared menus from a few restaurants and decided on Le Bistrot and I was glad she did. Our party of 8 (6 adults, 1 child, 1 infant) turned up at restaurant at about 1pm. 2 of us ordered the... More 

Helpful?
Thank cktng
Jérôme R, Directeur général at Le Bistrot, responded to this review

Dear Cktng, Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor after your recent diner at Le Bistrot I was delighted to read that you truly enjoyed your Chamoniard diner with us and that my team took wonderful care of you and that the quality and service of the restaurant played an important role in making it a memorable... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2016

We have been before as a family, which worked well. Plus for 14th Feb, which like a lot of restaurants was rather contrived. Both perhaps 2 years ago, sadly. We visited with two kids and all had excellent meals, nice and appropriate service and concluded with a respectable bill! Adults had the Easter special, for about €55 - a white... More 

Helpful?
Thank Highgate2010
Jérôme R, Directeur général at Le Bistrot, responded to this review

Highgate2010, Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review on TripAdvisor after your recent Dinet at Le Bistrot Chamonix. We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant diner and that you had a very good experience among us! We are also very pleased to read that you enjoyed the Easter Special menu with asparagus, lamb... More 

Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2016

we tried the 5 course dinner with wine package. fine dining, great variety of courses. the cheese tray is amazing. not super expensive.

Helpful?
1 Thank Fredrik G
Jérôme R, Directeur général at Le Bistrot, responded to this review

Dear Fredrik G, I thank you very much for your comments shared on Trip Advisor, this really help us to monitor and measure our Excellent food. I would like to thank you sincerely for your loyalty and I am glad to read that you tried the 5 courses dinner with wine package and of course our amazing cheese tray. And... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2016 via mobile

After seeing some average TripAdvisor reviews I was hesitant about a visit to Le Bistrot, but obliged a friend who was dying to dine at a Michelin starred restaurant in France. If Le Bistrot represents a typical Michelin experience I'm staying away from accredited places, because it basically equates to pretty average/boarding on poor service, okay food and ridiculous prices.... More 

Helpful?
Thank JaneDoe2078
Jérôme R, Directeur général at Le Bistrot, responded to this review

Dear JaneDoe2078, We thank you for sharing your opinion after your recent diner at Le Bistrot. We highly value your feedback and would be grateful if you could grant us a few minutes of your precious time. We would like to follow-up on your remarks and have more details. Please note that we don't have star on the guide Michelin.... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2016 via mobile

Just had the lunch menu here which was very good (€22 for a main dish and dessert) a lot amuses and very good wine per glass too.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2016 via mobile

First of all they did not registered my reservation that i made 3 months ago. And they settled us a bistrot instead of a table which is behind a big wall and seperated of the restaurant. We felt bad. The meals was not delicious at all and doesn't worth that price not at all. You have to check the bill... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Melisa Y
Jérôme R, Directeur général at Le Bistrot, responded to this review

Melisa Y, We thank you for sharing your opinion after your recent diner at Le Bistrot Chamonix. We highly value your feedback and would be grateful if you could grant us a few minutes of your precious time. We would like to follow-up on your remarks and have more details. Kindest Regards, Jerome Ridel Directeur More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2016

Touted as the "best restaurant in Chamonix" this somewhat pretentious establishment fails to impress on all levels. The fact that this place has a Michelin star just devalues the Michelin name. You will most likely have a reasonable meal, albeit with sub par service. Even with the restaurant a third full we were left sitting waiting for service regularly. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robert L
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2016 via mobile

This was our first visit since the change of chef in the summer. The style of cooking and presentation was quite similar - and still excellent value in the €22 lunchtime menu. It's 2 courses, but feels like 3 as you get so many extras! Highly recommended if you like distinctive stylish cooking.

Helpful?
Thank Emyr1

Travelers who viewed Le Bistrot also viewed

Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to Le Bistrot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Average prices
$37 - $148
Cuisine
French, European
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 1:30 pm
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 1:30 pm
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 1:30 pm
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 1:30 pm
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 1:30 pm
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 1:30 pm
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 1:30 pm
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 151 avenue de l Aiguille du Midi, 74400, Chamonix, France
  • Location: Europe  >  France  >  Rhone-Alpes  >  Haute-Savoie  >  Chamonix
  • Phone Number: 0450535764

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Le Bistrot staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?