We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hippopotamus Annecy

4 quai Eustache Chappuis, 74000, Annecy, France
+33 4 50 45 09 38
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent12%
  • Very good31%
  • Average27%
  • Poor16%
  • Terrible14%
Travelers talk about
“bread” (2 reviews)
“main reasons” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Steakhouse, French, American, Grill
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
4 quai Eustache Chappuis, 74000, Annecy, France
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

This is a chain restaurant, so I went in with low expectations. The decor is fun, the service was really quite good, and the food was much better than I expected. Definitely not fine dining, but all in all, pretty good.

Thank teacher050
Hippopotamus_FR, Manager at Hippopotamus Annecy, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday
Google Translation

Cher teacher050, Merci beaucoup pour vos compliments sur notre restaurant ! A très bientôt chez Hippo :) L'équipe d'Hippopotamus Annecy

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I gave this place a chance bec we were looking for a place to eat and this is the only one open at that time (knowing that we had a bad meal months before, we still entered since we’re quite hungry) my husband ordered a...More

Thank Leanne M
Hippopotamus_FR, Manager at Hippopotamus Annecy, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Cher Leanne, Merci d’avoir pris le temps de partager votre avis sur notre restaurant. Malgré notre souci permanent de satisfaire...More

Reviewed December 12, 2017 via mobile

Our main reasons for choosing this restaurant was location (next to our hotel) and the play area for children. We were visiting Annecy with our 3 yr old and found this place to be a perfect option to keep him happy. The menu options are...More

Thank Chozz
Hippopotamus_FR, Manager at Hippopotamus Annecy, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2017
Google Translation

Cher Chozz, Merci beaucoup pour votre avis qui nous fait chaud au coeur ! Au plaisir de vous accueillir à...More

Reviewed December 5, 2017

Our main reasons for choosing this restaurant was location (next to our hotel) and the play area for children. We were visiting Annecy with our 3 yr old and found this place to be a perfect option to keep him happy. The menu options are...More

Thank Chozz
Hippopotamus_FR, Manager at Hippopotamus Annecy, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Cher Chozz, Merci beaucoup pour votre avis qui nous fait chaud au coeur ! Au plaisir de vous accueillir à...More

Reviewed December 3, 2017 via mobile

The meat was very dry with no taste.Not worth the money we spended. Very disappointing. We ordered fillt beef.More

Thank Pazit Z
Hippopotamus_FR, Manager at Hippopotamus Annecy, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2017
Google Translation

Cher Pazit, Merci pour votre message. Je suis désolé que la cuisson de votre viande n'ait pas été respectée, d’autant...More

Reviewed August 22, 2017

This is right in front of the Hotel Splendid so very convenient while staying there. There is a lovely view of the lake, and the food and drinks were fine. The beef carpaccio was delicious and the charcuterie was very good. I would not recommend...More

Thank Cantley2014
Reviewed August 17, 2017 via mobile

We think that wait 90 min (1h and half) to beginning to eat it's really to much!!! All the people, family, couple and single who become after us have already eat!!! It's really a pity... and we are here still waitingMore

Thank Marco F
Hippopotamus_FR, Manager at Hippopotamus Annecy, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2017
Google Translation

Cher Marco, Merci d'avoir pris le temps de nous faire part de votre expérience chez Hippopotamus. Je suis navré d'apprendre...More

Reviewed August 11, 2017 via mobile

The service is very good and quick from the português guy. We ordered Crush Menu which was a pretty nice option.More

Thank Ninja_Loira
Hippopotamus_FR, Manager at Hippopotamus Annecy, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2017
Google Translation

Cher Ninja_Loira, Merci beaucoup pour vos compliments sur notre restaurant ! A très bientôt chez Hippo :) Benoît, Directeur Hippopotamus...More

Reviewed July 23, 2017

This is one of a chain of hippopotamus steakhouses. For UK residents this was very similar to the Miller & Carter chain of restaurants in the uk. The menu offered a limited range of fish and vegetarian dishes. Our waitress provided a slick, friendly and...More

Thank Helpmeimlost
Hippopotamus_FR, Manager at Hippopotamus Annecy, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2017
Google Translation

Cher Helpmeimlost, Merci beaucoup pour votre avis qui nous fait chaud au coeur ! Au plaisir de vous accueillir à...More

Reviewed June 13, 2017

Staff smile but do not care Plates of food came out in good time but one plate did not have the new potatoes as shown on menu and had to wait for them mean while meat geting cold when they did arrive they looked like...More

Thank Rex W
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 47 hotels in Annecy
Splendid Hotel
785 reviews
.02 miles away
Atipik Hotel Alexandra
886 reviews
.12 miles away
Hotel Le Pre Carre
175 reviews
.13 miles away
Hotel de Savoie
129 reviews
.15 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
La Croustille
132 reviews
.07 miles away
Restaurant L'Etage
960 reviews
.05 miles away
La Cave
110 reviews
.06 miles away
L'appart du 17
211 reviews
.06 miles away
Nearby Attractions
La Vieille Ville
3,175 reviews
.17 miles away
Rose des Neiges
21 reviews
.16 miles away
Pont des Amours
670 reviews
.18 miles away
Palais de l'Ile
509 reviews
.18 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Hippopotamus Annecy staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer
Good for
Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 4 quai Eustache Chappuis, 74000, Annecy, France
  • Location: Europe  >  France  >  Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes  >  Haute-Savoie  >  Annecy
  • Phone Number: +33 4 50 45 09 38
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing