We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Gaudinade

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Reserve a table
2
Thu, 6/30
8:00 PM

Ratings and reviews

Travelers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$16 - $47
CUISINES
French, Mediterranean, European, Grill
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Tables disinfected between guests
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
Updated 10/02/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 10/02/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Reviews (531)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveler rating
72
26
8
3
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
72
26
8
3
5
See what travelers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed September 18, 2021 via mobile

On holiday in Mougins, this restaurant was a suggestion made by the receptionist at our hotel. So we made a reservation... And La Gaudinade didn't disappoint. We chose the menu (you can choose your entree, main course and dessert from the à la carte menu...- with cheese after the main), with a wine suggested by the maître d'. And we enjoyed every bit of it. It was so good that we immediately made a reservation for later in the week, chose the menu again with different courses and enjoyed every bit again. Cuisine: Provençale with a lot of attention to detail. Service: very good, friendly and fun. La Gaudinade comes highly recommended.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?1  
Nathalie, Marketing at La Gaudinade, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2021

Hello cedriccooreman, Thank you for taking time for rating and giving us an amazing feedback. We are glad that you appreciated our service and the food prepared by the house. It will be a pleasure to welcome you again. Best regards, La Gaudinade

Reviewed September 18, 2021 via mobile

We had just finished dinner at another restaurant and walked by this restaurant and decided to go in and reserve for the next night . We were greeted warmly , despite the restaurant being busy and our reservation taken promptly . The next night we...went for what turned out to be an excellent dinner . We had the 49 euro 4 course meal , which was excellent and, in our view, good value . The wine list is good and also fairly priced . We won’t review each dish but they were all top rate . A husband and wife run the restaurant , and what made the night special was their genuine warmth, and enthusiasm for their excellent food and pleasing their guests . They were about to go on a 2 week well deserved holiday, Or we would have eaten here again during our 12 nights in mougins. Highly recommend !More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Nathalie, Marketing at La Gaudinade, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2021

Hello Jsquared69, Thank you for your recommendation. It was a great joy having you in our midst. The food and the quality of service we offer are equally important for us thus, we always do our best to meet the expectation of every customer. Best...More

Reviewed August 23, 2021

We ate at La Gaudinade with another couple. Service was horrible! First, my order was taken incorrectly. The owner admitted to making a mistake. Consequently, my entree arrived as the others in my party were finishing their meals. Then my rushed entree was undercooked! Additionally,...two of the other three entrees were subpar in quality. There was no attempt made to compensate us for the problems we encountered. Then to complete the unpleasant evening we were overcharged and now have to go through the process of disputing the bill. Avoid eating at La Guadinade! There are many other good places to eat in Mougins.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed August 20, 2021 via mobile

We had a fantastic dinner here last summer and were really looking forward to come back. Unfortunately, nothing even close to the last exprrience. We were all sure it just can not be the same chef anymore. Everything we ordered was good, but that"s it....Neither the taste nor the dish presentation were special, as it was the case just a year ago.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?1  
Nathalie, Agence/Consultant at La Gaudinade, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2021

Dear Koscha, Thank you for your visit and your opinion. We take good note of your comments, although, depending on the dishes, gourmet sensations can be different for each person. We therefore hope to treat you on your next visit!

Reviewed August 25, 2020

We had a fabulous time! The food was fantastic (highly recommend the escargots). The wine selection is good and most importantly the two owners, husband and wife, are adorable. They entertained us the whole time. Very funny couple. But hey, it's not a comedy show,...you are there for the food and the food is delicious. Merci encore et bravo.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?2  
nathaliebella, Marketing at La Gaudinade, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2020

Dear TheHotelTrotter, thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our restaurant. We are glad to hear that you have a fabulous time and that you appreciate the food. We look forward to welcoming you again to La Gaudinade.

Reviewed August 9, 2020 via mobile

We dined here last week with our 2 children and had a fantastic dining experience. The couple were so attentive to us from the start when the restaurant was relatively quiet, to the end of the meal, when the restaurant was busy... it looked like...every table was still being well looked after and service could not be faulted. In the current climate, health and safety was evidently so important to make all feel safe and still enjoy an extremely high quality dining experience... and to the important part... the food... it was so delicious and to such a high standard... presentation, taste... the gnocchi, escargot, mille feuille were particular favourites... overall a delightful, delicious and safe environment to enjoy a meal during these times... would so very highly recommend.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
nathaliebella, Marketing at La Gaudinade, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2020

Thank you so much for your kind words, B1268MUmichaelm. We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us. And we are glad to hear that your family had a fantastic dining experience. Hope to see you soon at La Gaudinade.

Reviewed August 4, 2020 via mobile

I was here 3 times, and each time I met with the exceptional hospitality and cuisine. This is the taste of France for me. The rooms are stylishly arranged (Provence style). The dishes are served on a beautiful tableware. The portions are not so small,...and not so big, just enough to make you feel a bit unsatisfied and ask for more. The best foie gras I ate so far. But also the seafood is delicious. The host likes talks with guests, tries to remember some niuances about them (the country they come from, etc.). What struck me was the fact that he rembembered each of us after a year passed from our last visit (we behave well ;-)) I recommend my friends to go there if they are somewhere near Cannes.More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
nathaliebella, Marketing at La Gaudinade, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2020

Dear Justyna G, Thank you so much for giving us a 5-stars rating and for your wonderful feedback! We are overjoyed to receive your compliments and appreciation. We always do our best in giving outstanding service to every customers and you shall always remain our...More

Reviewed July 22, 2020

This restaurant was fab from start to finish. The owners are so lovely. The service was impeccable. The food- top notch. I am a vegetarian and loved that I finally found a restaurant in Provence with a vegetarian menu! But all of our dishes were...great. My son loved the truffle gnocchi. The decor is lovely too. Highly recommend!!More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?2  
nathaliebella, Marketing at La Gaudinade, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2020

Dear Debra H, Thank you so much for visiting us and for giving us a 5-stars rating! It's highly appreciated. We are overjoyed to receive your compliments and appreciation. We always do our best in giving outstanding service to every customers. Thank you also for...More

Reviewed October 2, 2019

Good food from a small menu, interesting decoration, very friendly staff, crowded and noisy as you'd expect. Have no reason at all to give less than 5 points: Fully met expectations and surpassed them because I didn't expect much in a tourist trap like Mougins.

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
Olivier N, Responsable relations clients at La Gaudinade, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2019

Dear A9358LGmarcoa, Thank you for this lovely review. We are glad to see that you had a good moment in our restaurant. We hope to see you again during your stay ! Best regards, La Gaudinade

Reviewed September 14, 2019 via mobile

We ate here on our first night in Mougins. Everything we ate was outstanding. Highly recommend the fois gras and the zucchini as starters - both were made to perfection. The fowl and the octopus main course were prepared beautifully and equally delicious. And I...could have eaten multiple dishes of the warm chocolate dessert - it was seriously that good!! The husband and wife duo that owns the restaurant are wonderful people and made the experience like we were invited to their home for dinner. Highly recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Mougins!More

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
Olivier N, Responsable relations clients at La Gaudinade, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2019

Dear p413ak, Thank you for this lovely review. We are glad to read that you had a great moment for this first night in Mougins ! We hope to see you again during your stay ! Best regards, La Gaudinade

Reviewed September 8, 2019

The vegetarian menu is truly excellent - not extensive but superb quality. Great service too. Highly recommended

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
Olivier N, Responsable relations clients at La Gaudinade, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2019

Dear Tony_Divey, Thank you for this kind review. Indeed, our vegetarian menu have a great succes :) We hope to see you again during your stay ! Best regards, La Gaudinade

Reviewed September 6, 2019 via mobile

Do not be fooled by the appearance of this restaurant and the bonhomie from the owners- there are some major issues with the kitchen here- it is a health and safety event waiting to happen. We had been looking forward to a lovely meal together-...our table of six each ordered turbot (at a supplement cost to the set menu) and it all arrived half cooked- with each plate having grey uncooked fish disguised by some sauce. The owners blamed their fish supplier for supplying fattier fish so difficult to cook properly- how is that the issue of your customers? All plates were removed and we should have left at that stage but gave them the benefit of the doubt. After a while it was clear there was a scramble behind the scenes and we were served with a replacement “turbot” which appeared to be old fish, smelled bad and the owner apologised that it now may be over cooked. An absolute disaster! We did not want the cheese and dessert courses which followed as part of the menu which seemed to cause some frustration with the owners. By that stage we all felt nauseous and wanted to leave. Zero effort was made to deal with the situation or make a goodwill gesture and the full bill was charged (including a supplement for the Turbot). The owners just did not seem to care about the issue which really worried me and seemed to think as we were on holiday that they did not need to bother as they have a steady stream of unsuspecting custom. Without sharing the gory details- members of my family had upset stomachs overnight after inadvertently eating some of the raw fish. There are lots of other great restaurants in Mougins- avoid this one at all costs!More

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
Olivier N, Responsable relations clients at La Gaudinade, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2019

Dear Christina879, we would like to thank you for your comment, which only confirms your bad faith. We can not accept that you are questioning the quality of our products. The only thing we can accept is that the fish was not cooked as you...More

Reviewed September 5, 2019

After 15 years I have returned to visit Les Mougins and the village that i so enjoyed visiting on a number of occasions. The beauty has not changed nor has the high class cuisine on offer. My family of four were lucky to book a...table on a Friday evening and were treated to a culinary delight. The ambience, the location, the smiles and feast we experienced was as good as ever and to a high standard as you would expect in Mougins Village. The decor was beautiful, the service impeccable and taste and flavour of food a delight. I can highly recommend the octopus starter, sea food grill and chocolate dessert topped with the Rose Chateau Saint Maur.More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?2  
Olivier N, Responsable relations clients at La Gaudinade, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2019

Dear dionysus3467, Thank you for this lovely review. We are so glad to made your second trip to Mougins amazing through our cusine :) We hope to see you again during yur stay ! Best regards, La Gaudinade

Reviewed August 9, 2019 via mobile

We dined here while on holiday in a nearby resort hotel. Very friendly welcome by the owner and his wife. Great menu offering a la carte or 3 course menus. Lovely food and service. Mougins is a beautiful town but parking was a challenge so...allow time to find somewhere for on the outskirts of town. The town centre is lovely for a walk around and the restaurant is situated right in the heart of the town.More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?1  
Olivier N, Responsable relations clients at La Gaudinade, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2019

Dear Radwiser, Thnak you for this nice review. We are glad to read that you had a lovely time in our restaurant. We hope to see you again during your stay ! Best regards, la Gaudinade

Reviewed August 4, 2019

So herw we are again and at same table buit now with 1 year old grandsom on his 3rd visit to La Gaudinade. Each time meal has been excellent (Grandson asleep in pushchair) . This time had the fab foie gras starter again which I...followed with the beef special, True there was a misunderstanding about the fish special: owner advised it was big enough for two but son in law asked if 1 could have (he meant size). it was huge! Anyway resolved by then owner kindly vacuum packing half the dish and its sides and we had for lunch the next day. Hosts are charning as always desserts were good and had a great bottle of Rose. This is definitely our restaurant of choice now in Mougins.More

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
Olivier N, Responsable relations clients at La Gaudinade, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2019

Dear NickDavis, Thank you so much for this third visit and your review. We are glad to see that we are your restaurant of choice in Mougins ! We hope to see you again for each visit of the village ! Best regards, la Gaudinade

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Le Mas Candille
1,364 reviews
.20 miles away
Le Club Mougins
454 reviews
.31 miles away
Le Moulin de Mougins
101 reviews
.42 miles away
Hotel Villa Sophia
119 reviews
.75 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
La Place de Mougins
1,473 reviews
.03 miles away
La Mediterranee
1,315 reviews
.03 miles away
L'amandier de Mougins
2,400 reviews
.07 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Musee d'Art Classique de Mougins
499 reviews
.08 miles away
Chapelle de Notre-Dame de Vie
93 reviews
.57 miles away
Office de Tourisme
28 reviews
.03 miles away
Museum of Photography
102 reviews
.05 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from La Gaudinade staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about La Gaudinade

Yes, La Gaudinade is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

La Gaudinade is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5