We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

L'Astrolabe

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Location and contact

About
Our restaurant, l'Astrolabe is located in the heart of the historical center of La Rochelle, between the old harbour and the central market. Our goal is to make your taste buds travel! We offer a travel kitchen made with locals products. Specialties of raw or cooked meats and fish, vegetarian dishes, gourmet desserts ... everything is possible so that everyone has a good time. You will also find in our restaurant an original selection of wines and beers from around the world
PRICE RANGE
$12 - $19
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
CUISINES
International, Asian, Fusion, Healthy
FEATURES
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Outdoor Seating
Reviews (259)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveler rating
10
5
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
10
5
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ceviche sweet potato amazing flavours small restaurant lr rochelle cuisine dish
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 16 reviews
Reviewed December 6, 2018

Don't let the size of this place fool you: the cuisine is great. It's impressive for a restaurant to successfully serve so many of the world's cuisines, and with a diverse menu that has dishes from Africa, South America, Asia, and Oceania, you need to...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank C9216RKmarkh
AstroResto, Propriétaire at L'Astrolabe, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2018

Hello Mark, we are delighted that you enjoyed our cuisine. It is a pleasure for us to offer these cuisines from all continents. We are sincerely sorry for the wait, we were indeed full with 23 people and 2 waiters. We do not need help...More

Reviewed December 3, 2018

Firstly either book or go early, it's a very small restaurant and gets packed quickly. Secondly the menu though small is a great mix of fusion dishes. Maybe not ideal for children but I'd happily go again.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Woodabell
AstroResto, Propriétaire at L'Astrolabe, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2018

Hello, indeed the restaurant is small and it is advisable to book. For the children know that we propose a specific and adapted dish which is not on the classical menu. Thank you for having appreciated our food and see you soon with pleasure.

Reviewed October 11, 2018 via mobile

Great little restaurant for lunch. Found by chance. Innovative food way above French standards. Highly recommended

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Anne C
Pioneer726731, Propriétaire at L'Astrolabe, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2018

Hello Anne, Thank you very much for your great review and recommandation ! See you soon

Reviewed September 4, 2018

What an amazing find in Rue des Dames right next to our rented apartment and as far away as possible from the quay and its rows and rows of generic tourist trap restaurants Everything is so fresh and innovative - very much a result of...More

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank petesaund
Pioneer726731, Propriétaire at L'Astrolabe, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2018

Hello, Thank you very much for your very nice message. We are happy that you have enjoyed your visits to us from the starter to the dessert through the wines. The whole team thanks you and Steven especially. Thank you for this comment that we...More

Reviewed August 26, 2018

Full points for the effort to cater to vegetarians alone (hard, hard job to find a restaurant like this in France...). There was one vegan dish also plus one other that could be veganised. All dishes can be prepared starter or main course sized. Very...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Virpi T
Benoît L, Propriétaire at L'Astrolabe, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2018

Hello, We are happy that you have enjoyed our cooking and our desire to discover good vegetarian dishes. The technique of "la ficelle" is indeed a good test of control of our love of wine. 😇 Thank you very much for your very pleasant review,...More

Reviewed July 21, 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed an excellent dinner at "L' Astrolabe" with very friendly waiters. Just go there and see yourself!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank lavieestsibelle
Benoît L, Propriétaire at L'Astrolabe, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2018

Hello, Thank you very much for your great review. The whole team is happy that you enjoyed your dinner. See you

Reviewed July 1, 2018 via mobile

Recommended to us by one of the locals and it didn't disappoint. A tailored menu with fresh ingredients, fantastic flavours and cooked in a variety of ways. Great location close to the market area in a quiet side street. Really worth booking to avoid disappointment.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank 805MariaD805
Benoît L, Propriétaire at L'Astrolabe, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2018

Hello Maria, It was a pleasure to meet you and Jim. We are glad that you enjoyed your evening with us ! You're right it's better to book ... ;) Thank you very much for your pleasant words.

Reviewed June 24, 2018

We researched and decide on this fabulous restaurant on TripAdvisor before our holiday, and it did not disappoint. It is located on a back street in the old town of Rochelle, just a couple of minutes from the shops but sufficiently hidden that you are...More

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Thiosux
Benoît L, Propriétaire at L'Astrolabe, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2018

Hello, it's a pleasure to know that you had a good evening in our establishment. The entire team and the chef in particular thank you for the enthusiasm you expressed. We are delighted that you have appreciated the quality of our products and the precise...More

Reviewed June 14, 2018

We have been staying in LR for a few days and noticed that most restaurants seem to be similar in style - which, on the whole, have been good experiences. However, we were looking for a special dinner and began looking through tripadvisor for suggestions....More

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Hazel S
Benoît L, Propriétaire at L'Astrolabe, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2018

Hello Hazel, Thank you so much for this lovely review. We are a small place but trying to give to our clients the experience and service quality level you've described. It truly touch our team to see such comments and we would more than glad...More

Reviewed June 11, 2018

It was lovely to have dinner in L'ASTROLABLE :) the food was very fresh and i could feel they use ingridients from local! i had tataki which is japanese style of dish! it was well cooked! ( cus sometime tataki would not well cooked, so...More

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank soyoungh870
Benoît L, Propriétaire at L'Astrolabe, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2018

Hello Soyoungh, Thank you for your review. We are happy that you have enjoyed your tataki and its just cooking. We are looking forward to having you forlunch and hope you will be 100% satisfied Thanks

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 50 nearby hotels
Ibis la Rochelle Centre Historique Hotel
652 reviews
.09 miles away
Hotel de Paris
199 reviews
.11 miles away
Hotel de la Paix
283 reviews
.12 miles away
Hotel Francois 1er Urban Style
641 reviews
.13 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 592 nearby restaurants
Delicacy
104 reviews
.04 miles away
Le Cabanon des Pecheurs
750 reviews
.04 miles away
La Salle a Manger
248 reviews
.05 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 181 nearby attractions
Le Bunker de La Rochelle
727 reviews
.01 miles away
Marche du Centre Ville
258 reviews
.06 miles away
New World Museum (Musee du Nouveau-Monde)
133 reviews
.10 miles away
Eglise St-Sauveur
65 reviews
.17 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Liz Y
January 15, 2018|
Answer
Response from AstroResto | Property representative |
Hello, Thank you i have well received your email. I am replying to you soon. For information of others customers, your reservation have to be made by phone, by e-mail or the app on ourwebsite.
0
Votes
Google Translation
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing