We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Bistrot de la Place

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
16 Place Saint Pierre, 49400, Saumur, France
+33 2 41 51 13 27
Website
Today
7:00 am - 12:00 am
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 10:00 am - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 12:00 am
Sat 7:00 am - 12:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

356 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 108: English reviews
Fleet
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We came here during a one-night stopover in Saumur. We tried to reserve a table through Tripadvisor but it hadn't been confirmed by the time we got there. No matter, we got a table despite high demand during a music festival in the square. The food was fantastic, especially the filet mignon of pork. We had a bottle of local... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank J3649FKnickw
BistrotdelaPlace, Gérant at Bistrot de la Place, responded to this review

Thank you for your opinion. The reservations via Tripadvisor are not parametrized yet but thank you for noticing. In the pleasure to receive you again a day. More 

Holmfirth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Bistro is situated in one of the town's old squares, very picturesque and lively. The terrine starter was reasonable if somewhat lacking in flavour. The tuna carpaccio was average with rather greasy chips.

Helpful?
Thank malcolmp409
BistrotdelaPlace, Gérant at Bistrot de la Place, responded to this review

So sorry that you did not spend a good moment and that our cooking is not for your taste. Enjoy! More 

Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
249 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a really nice lunch sat in the square. Menu has some great choices and the set menu equally as varied. The home cooked regional cuisine means that how your dish comes may not be exactly how you have had it previously but that's not a criticism everything we had was so tasty. Friendly staff & a really welcoming happy... More 

Helpful?
Thank family147
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
296 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A lovely restaurant with seats on the cobbled market square. The service was really good and helpful. The range of dishes was helpful to select from and the vin blanc was cheap and cold. The fresh bread kept coming and the L'escargot were buttery and garlicky -delicious. portions were generous so much so that we had to pass on the... More 

Helpful?
Thank 78Pam
Jersey, Channel Islands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went here last night, having read pretty good reviews, and it certainly disappoint! Both had steak, and loved it. Pasqual, the Waitress was really good fun aswell, attentive but also a bit forgetful which made it entertaining...if you have a sense of humour, which unfortunately a lot of people don't! Definitely recommended if you enjoy good food in the hustle... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nigel B
BistrotdelaPlace, Gérant at Bistrot de la Place, responded to this review

Thank you! and sorry for Pasquale's mistakes!! Enjoy! More 

melbourne
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place really needs to lift its game. The menu came fast enough but we had to wait about 15 minutes for water or a drink and only after we called them over. Then the maitre 'd slopped the wine on the table as he was pouring because of his lack of care. We had to signal for the waiters... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank EJL12
Lossiemouth
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a busy restaurant so a booking is probably best especially for sitting outside. A very good menu with good service. We wanted to try a few places during our three night stay but ate there twice. Superb steaks.

Helpful?
Thank morayharvester0
BistrotdelaPlace, Gérant at Bistrot de la Place, responded to this review

Thank you. Ilt's pleasure to receive you More 

Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2016 via mobile

Dropped in on spec for an evening meal for two. Friendly welcome and service. Good menu choice and good wine list, but they just recommend the house: no thought in suggesting matches to the food! There is a good selection of local specialities and when the food arrives, the main part (pork, fish, beef etc) is really well cooked and... More 

Helpful?
Thank malfordmamil
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2016

Ordered Pork and a beer. 40mins later fish turned up. No beer. Waitresses and in particular manager were useless and indolent. Manager bumped into pram containing our sleeping toddler. No apologies. Shoulder-shrugged off..... Dire.

Helpful?
Thank Lupu21London
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2016 via mobile

Having had a long drive up from The Dordogne we were starving. Our hotel had booked this for us so we were looking forward to our dinner. We ordered starters, the filet de boeuf, and the chicken. We ate our starters and were then told there was no beef. Sadly though this was then served to 4 people on the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peter H
BistrotdelaPlace, Gérant at Bistrot de la Place, responded to this review
Google Translation

Nous sommes bien désolés que votre venue se soit mal passée à vos yeux. Nous tenons tout de même à... More 

Travelers who viewed Bistrot de la Place also viewed

Saumur, Maine et Loire
Saumur, Maine et Loire
 
Saumur, Maine et Loire
 

Been to Bistrot de la Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Average prices
$10 - $26
Cuisine
French, European
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Open Hours
Monday
10:00 am - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 12:00 am
Tuesday
10:00 am - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 12:00 am
Wednesday
10:00 am - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 12:00 am
Thursday
10:00 am - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 12:00 am
Friday
10:00 am - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 12:00 am
Saturday
7:00 am - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 16 Place Saint Pierre, 49400, Saumur, France
  • Location: Europe  >  France  >  Pays de la Loire  >  Maine et Loire  >  Saumur
  • Phone Number: +33 2 41 51 13 27
Description
Good food and good wine: here's what you get at the Bistrot de la Place! We serve fresh homemade food that you can choose off the "a la carte" menu or from our set menus. And if you're feeling peckish during the day, we also offer oysters, cured meat and cheese platters.
During spring and summer, our outside terrace will allow you to enjoy the relaxing atmosphere of this small and cute square of Saumur.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Bistrot de la Place and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Bistrot de la Place staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?