We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!

Restaurant La Couronne

Certificate of Excellence
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
31 Place du Vieux Marche, 76000, Rouen, France
+33 2 35 71 40 90
10:00 am - 4:30 pm
6:00 pm - 12:00 am
Closed now
All hours
Sun - Sat 10:00 am - 4:30 pm
6:00 pm - 12:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

910 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 232: English reviews
Kohler, WI
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We were not actually inside the restaurant but had drinks and enjoyed the culture from the outdoor tables on the Market Place. Service was good and the staff friendly.

Thank sccwife
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

A lovely ambience with great food. We were a little concerned it would be a bit stuffy but the staff were lovely and very helpful. The food was tasty and everything was well matched. The portions were a good size that still allowed us to squeeze in the 3 courses offered on the impressionist menu. A very good evening

Thank Gill T
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Service was superb, the food was perfect, advice from the sommelier was spot-on. All in all a lovely, if very indulgent evening. Slow food at its best.

Thank Roger N
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We came here just for the pressed duck and it didn't live up to its hype! I give it a star for the entertainment for breaking down the whole duck in front of us but taste wise----It didn't meet our expectation. The sauce (duck juices, red wine, broth, salt & pepper) was so rich it looked like chocolate sauce and... More 

Thank Liz L
Bucks England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Menu read well and I remembered having a good evening here several years ago, so we booked a table for two. Restaurant was not busy but service was slow and waiters were stuffy. Starters were fine (foie gras and salmon) as no cooking required but the main courses were very disappointing. We both wanted John Dory but were told it... More 

Thank Grifo
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Extremely lovely building. Slightly formal dining with more formal service than others we visited. It was the only place that offered gluten free bread. Wide range of excellently prepared food but very large portions (especially the beef). Various menus offered in differing price ranges. Only shock was 7 euro coffee at the end. Suggest you forget that and buy it... More 

Thank Vivien L
SachaCauvin, Responsable relations clients at Restaurant La Couronne, responded to this review

Good afternoon Vivien L. Thank you very much for your comments a bout la Couronne, i will certainly share them with our teams. You mention Gluten Free Bread, our head chef caters for all kinds of food restrictions, i am glad he made your experience better. Thank you for the note you have give, us. Kind regards, More 

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
211 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited this quaint restaurant, the oldest Inn in France, for afternoon tea while on our Uniworld River Cruise. We had one of their specialties, Apple Pie, with lashings of cream. The food and hospitality was excellent! The building is worth a visit alone, the walls are lined with autographed photos of all the famous visitors over the years, very... More 

Thank Jude D
SachaCauvin, Responsable relations clients at Restaurant La Couronne, responded to this review

Good afternoon Jude D. Thank you for reviewing la Couronne. We do indeed cater for cruises for an afternoon tea with traditional apple pies, especially the River Cruise. this is for us a brand new tourism trend and a large one nowdays. All the river Seine banks have been re-thought and re-built (with new cafés and shops too), it is... More 

Level Contributor
182 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Arrived in Rouen late in the evening and straight away went looking for somewhere to eat. Place looked classy and was michelin recommended so decided to give it a try. Great choice. Amazing food, wonderful execution and presentation and fabulous array of taste sensations created a wondeful dining experience. Coupled with the attentiveness of the waiting staff made us feel... More 

Thank iseult
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This claims to be the oldest restaurant but does not rely solely on that. The food here is excellent. The restaurant gets busy, even on a Thursday when we visited so booking is advisable. We ate outside which meant we missed the wonderful interior but it was very warm so it was probably the right thing to do. The food... More 

1 Thank DaveNKent
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2016 via mobile

Located in an ancient half timbered flower bedecked building directly across from the old market. The interior is every bit as lovely as the facade. Romantic old world charm. This restaurant takes hospitality seriously without being obtrusive. Maitre'd immediately showed us to our table. He was friendly and efficient as was our waiter . The proprietress mingled among the table... More 

Thank Loretta N
SachaCauvin, Responsable relations clients at Restaurant La Couronne, responded to this review

Good afternoon Loretta N. Thank you very much for sharing your review with us. I am glad to read that you enjoyed the original surroundings of la Couronne and that your evening with us was a good one for you and your husband. The Beef is locally raised and the Lobster comes from our Fisherman on the Channel Coast. I... More 

Travelers who viewed Restaurant La Couronne also viewed

Rouen, Seine-Maritime

Been to Restaurant La Couronne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$27 - $82
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Free Wifi, Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Visa
Good for
Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Open Hours
10:00 am - 4:30 pm
6:00 pm - 12:00 am
10:00 am - 4:30 pm
6:00 pm - 12:00 am
10:00 am - 4:30 pm
6:00 pm - 12:00 am
10:00 am - 4:30 pm
6:00 pm - 12:00 am
10:00 am - 4:30 pm
6:00 pm - 12:00 am
10:00 am - 4:30 pm
6:00 pm - 12:00 am
10:00 am - 4:30 pm
6:00 pm - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 31 Place du Vieux Marche, 76000, Rouen, France
  • Location: Europe  >  France  >  Normandy  >  Haute-Normandie  >  Seine-Maritime  >  Rouen
  • Phone Number: +33 2 35 71 40 90

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Restaurant La Couronne and other visitors
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Restaurant La Couronne staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?