We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Playden Oasts Inn Restaurant

Playden Oasts Rye Road, Playden, Rye TN31 7UL, England
+44 1797 223502
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good26%
  • Average10%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible7%
Travelers talk about
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Playden Oasts Rye Road, Playden, Rye TN31 7UL, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

We were staying a mile or so away from the restaurant and someone had written on the flyer that they had had a lovely meal and would recommend it ... so we thought we'd give it a go. As it was a Saturday and we...More

Thank TonHoliday
Kim R, Owner at The Playden Oasts Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Unfortunately I was at a different location doing the bar for an outside wedding. I was total on my return that you had complained about the long wait, which I can only apologise for. This clearly should not happen.

Reviewed 1 week ago

We brought our dog with us, so we sat outside in the walled area near the Oast room (too close to a main road). Wife ordered the steak & ale pie and the pie was a wedge from a packaged pie. I ordered the rib-eye...More

Thank Erik H
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Always wanted to stay in an Oast House & Playden Oasts Inn certainly didn't dissapoint. Lovely quirky room, with comfy & tasteful furnishings. Excellent breakfasts & friendly staff. Less than a mile outside Rye, so a very good place to stay. Highly recommended

Thank Susan G
Kim R, Owner at The Playden Oasts Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewed June 16, 2018 via mobile

Booked a table today but wasn't busy.Staff not very friendly or welcoming. Ordered local lager which was flat, salad was dry and needed oil or dressing. We had burger which was dry and unappetizing, scampi obviously from a frozen supermarket bag and chips on all...More

Thank davidmctaggart2018
Kim R, Owner at The Playden Oasts Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2018

I am sorry you were disappointed but none of you mentioned any if this at the time. Our food is always freshly prepared and of a high standard.

Reviewed May 28, 2018 via mobile

Ordered pint of Guinesss ad there was a tap on the bar. Without a word the young lady poured from a can. It was then agitated into life and given a head. The final insult £4.90!!! What a rip off. This review would not of...More

Thank Paratrooper66
Kim R, Owner at The Playden Oasts Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2018

I believe you were served by a trainee. The Guiness is a Surger and this is the first complaint I have received. I will ensure she is given more training on explaining the products we serve.

Reviewed May 28, 2018 via mobile

Went on a sundayband both had roast turkey- good value for money and big portions. Lots of choice on the menu to suit all tastes Friendly service in a quirky inn where the restaurant seeing is in th round oast section of the building Would...More

Thank Wendy R
Kim R, Owner at The Playden Oasts Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2018

Thank You for taking the time to leave a review. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed May 9, 2018

An interesting building with some very interesting beer on tap. If it's available, try the Curious Brew, a lager made with Chapel Down champagne yeast - different and addictive. The food is very much English staples. We tried the steak and kidney pudding - absolutely...More

Thank StuartVine
Kim R, Owner at The Playden Oasts Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a positive review. Hope to see you again.

Reviewed May 5, 2018 via mobile

Really rude staff, no smiles, couldn’t be bothered to serve us - everything seemed like a hassle (eg asking for drinks). One of us asked for no sauce on the salmon - salmon was brought out with the sauce. When we told the lady, she...More

1  Thank amy123452014
Kim R, Owner at The Playden Oasts Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2018

I am sorry you did not enjoy your experience at the Playden Oast. It is always a shame when people have to place such negative remarks without even discussing the issues first with the people involved. I can assure you that my staff were never...More

A TripAdvisor Member
21
Reviewed April 12, 2018 via mobile

The owners manner leaves a lot to be desired. Most of the hotels and restaurants around Rye and the Peasmarsh area have been so friendly and welcoming. However, the lady owning this restaurant was not of the same ilk. She didn’t seem to have time...More

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Kim R, Owner at The Playden Oasts Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2018

I will repeat my reply made to your daughters review and stand by it. Previous reviews about mu Hotel, Restaurant & bar speak for themselves. If you wanted a processed burger you should have gone to McDonalds which I am sure you are more used...More

Reviewed April 10, 2018 via mobile

We are currently eating here but this couldn’t wait till I got home it is that bad. The burger looks like dog poo....literally. And when we told the waitress I wasn’t happy...her only reply was “it’s homemade” that’s it. Not happy AT ALL! Do not...More

1  Thank Seda K
Kim R, Owner at The Playden Oasts Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2018

If you wanted a processed burger you should have gone to McDonalds which I am sure you are more used to eating. Our Burgers are very popular and the table next to you also had a burger and commented on how good it was, infact...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Rye Lodge Hotel
911 reviews
.90 miles away
The Regent Motel & Bar
62 reviews
.90 miles away
The George in Rye
1,573 reviews
.98 miles away
The Mermaid Inn
1,182 reviews
1.03 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Knoops
597 reviews
.87 miles away
Landgate Bistro
557 reviews
.83 miles away
Mahdi Spice
390 reviews
.89 miles away
Nearby Attractions
St. Michael's Church
14 reviews
.45 miles away
The Playden Oasts Inn Bar
16 reviews
.31 miles away
Mapp & Lucia's Rye
56 reviews
.90 miles away
Purdie Gallery
37 reviews
.96 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Playden Oasts Inn Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$25 - $44
Meals
Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant features
Television, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Playden Oasts Rye Road, Playden, Rye TN31 7UL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Rye  >  Playden
  • Phone Number: +44 1797 223502
  • E-mail
Description
Boasting many of the original features, including the impressive roundels themselves, the Playden Oast offers a unique hotel experience in the heart of the East Sussex countryside. You can choose from eight traditionally styled, en-suite bedrooms including two large round bedrooms in the centre of the building. There are also two restaurants offering a wide range of locally sourced dishes, served daily. Families and pets are welcome.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing