We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Taverne

6 Place Cadelade, 43000 Le Puy-en-Velay, France
+33 4 71 04 55 55
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent16%
  • Very good34%
  • Average23%
  • Poor20%
  • Terrible7%
2 weeks ago
“Our pre Tour de France late dinner”
Jun 23, 2017
“Poor service all Round”
Open Now
12:00 pm - 3:00 pmAll hours
CUISINES
French, International
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
6 Place Cadelade, 43000 Le Puy-en-Velay, France
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (342)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived at 9 pm after a long drive to Le Puy-en-Velay, and after having checked in our luggage, we went to town for dinner. We found this nice place, which is a hotel restaurant at a square, with indoor and outdoor tables. We got...More

Thank KEGillesen
Reviewed June 23, 2017 via mobile

A good hotel in prime position, on a very hot day the draft beer ran out, followed by the 7Up. Dinner, menus issued orders being taken 'no steaks'. The staff could not wait to get home, collected plates as they were finished (whilst others were...More

Thank CoggiCheshire
Reviewed October 13, 2016

This looks lovely from outside and the decor inside is attractive. The service is erratic and the food was very disapppointing. I chose a special of lentil veloute (Puy lentils!) which was served with mussels and croutons. However, it was cold and quite disappointing. The...More

Thank Wendy M
Reviewed August 10, 2016

We tried this restaurant for both late lunch and dinner. Both times the young staff were excellent. Happy, smiling,helpful young men brought us our menus, answered our questions and recommended choices. Whilst the appearance of some parts of the salad looked tired the flavours were...More

Thank Christine F
Reviewed December 28, 2015

Seems to be run by very inexperienced people. Servers were all very pleasant but the food was industrial, not reheated enough (tepid), not fresh at all. Good beer though.More

Thank Xeni25
lepuy-hotels, Responsable commercial at La Taverne, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2015

Dear Xeni25, Thank you for taking the time to review the Taverne. I would like to apologize for the negative experience that you had with us. I can assure that is not the service quality that we stive to provide our guests. All our menus...More

Reviewed September 29, 2015 via mobile

We were staying at the Ibis styles which offers a 10% discount to guests at this restaurant. It was easier on our first night in le Puy to eat here and not search around. The meal itself was tasty, but the staff were more inclined...More

Thank Fiona S
Reviewed August 25, 2015

This place was attached to the Ibis Styles and we got 10% off as guests of the hotel. It mostly features Alsacian type selcetions along with duck and burgers with selections of the famous le Puy lentiles added, even buns made with them. The service...More

Thank lpennin104
Reviewed May 20, 2015

Staff were great, but the menu was geared for short stay visitors. 10% discount card from our hotel encouraged us to try it out. The menu had groups of dishes, but eventually they were all similar. By the end of our week, 3 visits were...More

Thank marydoll19
lepuy-hotels, Responsable commercial at La Taverne, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2015

Dear Marydoll14, Thanks you for your comment on tripadvisor. Our taverne offers 3 different menus each with 3 starters, 3 main courses and 3 desserts. In order to answer all budgets and customer desires. If, however, you prefer to order "à la carte" it would...More

Reviewed April 13, 2015

What''s my good surprise. After reading precedent comments, didn't except a extraordinary lunch but it was a real good one! A sympatic team with a warming welcoming, fresh dishes and London local specialities, very tasty! I recommend

Thank Gloria G
Reviewed January 17, 2015

Carafe of house wine good for the price, but the main course was rather thin and had a massed produced feel to it. Service was good, waitresses knew what they were doing. 10% discount for guests who stay in the Ibis Styles hotel. Next time...More

Thank larazet
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Saveurs du Mekong
131 reviews
.06 miles away
brasserie 912
56 reviews
.07 miles away
MataVanille
61 reviews
.20 miles away
Le Bateau Ivre
43 reviews
.09 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Cathedrale Notre-Dame
607 reviews
.29 miles away
Chapelle St. Michel d'Aiguilhe
468 reviews
.56 miles away
Statue de Notre Dame de France
385 reviews
.32 miles away
Cloitre de la Cathedrale du Puy-en-Velay
186 reviews
.26 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from La Taverne staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$47
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Wheelchair Accessible, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available
Good for
Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Monday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:30 pm - 12:00 am
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:30 pm - 12:00 am
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:30 pm - 12:00 am
Thursday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:30 pm - 12:00 am
Friday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:30 pm - 12:00 am
Saturday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 6 Place Cadelade, 43000 Le Puy-en-Velay, France
  • Location: Europe  >  France  >  Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes  >  Haute-Loire  >  Le Puy-en-Velay
  • Phone Number: +33 4 71 04 55 55
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing