We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices


Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1, avenue de l'Imperatrice, 64200 Biarritz, France
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

65 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 17: English reviews
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2016 via mobile

The site is wonderful along the pool and the atlantic sea. The service is efficient and staff takes care. We ate there for lunch and I recommend then the buffet. If you order something else, It takes far too long time. 60mn to get a kid's pasta! Unbelievable! We ate there during the evening too. Nice place to enjoy a... More 

Thank Samuel R
HotelDuPalais, Responsable relations clients at L'Hippocampe, responded to this review

Dear guest, Many thanks for taking the time to post your kind words following your experience. We are very sorry to read about the inconveniences you had and we will use your comments as we continually evolve to best meet and exceed our guests' expectation. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcoming you again, With all our very... More 

Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2015

Everything was terrible, even French fries. The seafood was below par. The bearnaise disgusting. The place simply has nothing to do with the way it looks on the website.

1 Thank FES25
HotelDuPalais, Responsable relations clients at L'Hippocampe, responded to this review

Dear FES25, Thank you so much for writing us about your recent experience to our restaurant Hippocampe. This testament is very popular during the summer and we can do a very large number of cover, we are sorry to notice that you did not appreciate our restaurant while we are eager to propose an irreproachable quality. Your feedback has been... More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2015 via mobile

We have been in this hotel a couple of times and each time we decide to visit the restaurant by the pool. However, each time we are very disappointed. We are fully aware of the high prices and wouldn't mind them if the quality of the food would be worth it. We ordered chicken, which was miserable, dry and tastless.... More 

Thank Apple S
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2015

We stayed in another hotel so went to this place for the view. We were not lucky as it rained all the time so we did not enjoy the main attraction of this place. Very friendly waiters but the food was really average (especially, for this area) - nice but nothing special or interesting. Prices were in line with what... More 

Thank Dmitri K
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2015

What a treat to be on the beach and yet secluded above the crowds. A beautiful restaurant serving gastronomic food but aiming to be slightly more relaxed by the stunning hotel du palais pool. The buffet is an experience in itself that is clearly very popular with the locals judging by the numbers.

Thank Dantol13
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
341 reviews
254 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2015

We were here on a day trip from San Sebastian and spotted the restaurant from a distance deciding that it looked like a nice place for lunch. It was everything we expected. Great view sitting outside overlooking the sand and sea by the pool of a luxury hotel. The weather wasn't warm enough for there to be lots of people... More 

Thank Mike C
Westlake Village, California
Level Contributor
213 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2015

We had a lovely lunch at L'Hippocampe. The food was amazing (we particularly enjoyed the seafood and desserts). The service was impeccable, friendly and warm. The servers were lovely to our family. L'Hippocampe is a wonderful restaurant offering excellent Basque cuisine and breathtaking ocean views.

Thank JMH1986
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

I was fully aware of the prices in this restaurant and I expected nice and deliciuos food. Despite the view is stunning, and waiter was attentive, food, the main thing in any restaurant, was disappointing. When one pays for sole 51€, he expects something really tasty. But instead, there was sole with its bones and three boiled potatoes on the... More 

Thank Apple S
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

Although we anticipated that this would be an expensive option our group decided to bite the bullet as the views across the bay were so beautiful. We ordered a one course lunch for seven people and two rounds of drinks. I had the chicken fricassee which doesn't sound very exciting but was absolutely delicious. It was cooked to perfection and... More 

1 Thank Emma V
Carlisle, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
111 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

One could be put off by the sheer size of the Grand Hotel and the absence of an inviting approach to this restaurant which is beside the pool and offers a nice view of the central beach and waterfront in Biarritz. It is open to the public and the quality of the service and food makes it a fine place... More 

Thank jdarr

Travelers who viewed L'Hippocampe also viewed

Biarritz, Basque Country
Biarritz, Basque Country
Biarritz, Basque Country

Been to L'Hippocampe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$33 - $87
French, European
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Reservations, Buffet
Good for
Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1, avenue de l'Imperatrice, 64200 Biarritz, France
  • Location: Europe  >  France  >  Nouvelle-Aquitaine  >  Pyrenees-Atlantiques  >  Basque Country  >  Biarritz
  • Phone Number: 0559416400
On the waterfront.
The summer restaurant Hippocampe features one of the most beautiful views of Biarritz.
In low season (from mid April until the end of June and September until the end of October) for lunch from 12.30pm to 2.30pm
In July and August opened:
For lunch from 12.30 pm to 3.30pm
For dinner from 8pm to 10pm with a Brazilian Musician on Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays

The summer buffet is perfectly adapted to your seaside cravings and the summer weather with an endless array of seafood, light salads and magical desserts served in a unique setting on the Basque Coast.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from L'Hippocampe staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?