We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
2 Old Bank Street | Just off St Ann's Square, Manchester M2 7PF, England
+44 161 832 9955
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 3:00 am
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 pm - 3:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

197 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 195: English reviews
oldham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Called in here for the first time on a quiet early Sunday evening. Received a warm cheery but unintrusive welcome, our waitress helpfully talked us through the menu explaining the specials etc. They have a selection of tapas available at three for £12, we placed our order all four of us chose 3 each off the £12 menu and ordered... More 

Helpful?
Thank Guisseppe1957
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Please bare in mind my review is for drinks, service and overall atmosphere and not food. Sandinista offers a great, chilled environment to enjoy a few drinks. For me they have one of the best selections of pale ales in Manchester. They have a limited number on draught but a huge selection of cans and bottles. The decor is slightly... More 

Review collected in partnership with Windows 10 app

Helpful?
Thank Dan_Clews90
Sandinista_Ltd, Guest Relations Manager at Sandinista, responded to this review

Hi Dan, Thank you for taking the time to review us. It's always great to hear when our guests have a great time at our bar! We are very passionate about Beer and we're glad you have enjoyed the selection we currently have available. Our draught lines change on a weekly basis so whenever you are around pop on down... More 

Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went there for a late lunch. The menu had many tempting dishes, and we ordered 6 different types, which were enough for two hungry adults. The food was good. The place is casual, but not shabby. It looks nice, and the bar is great with a good beer selection. The music they play in this place is also excellent!... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kjersti B
Sandinista_Ltd, Guest Relations Manager at Sandinista, responded to this review

Hi Kjersti B, Thank you very much for your feedback, we are delighted you had a great overall experience at Sandinista! I will pass on your kind words to the team working on the day. We look forward to seeing you again very soon! Kindest Regards Erica & the Sandinista Team More 

Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2016 via mobile

Tapas were really good, we shared six different dishes, each one was tasty and well made. We came up from Birmingham and found you guys via tripadvisor. Would definitely visit again. Maybe you could open a branch a little closer to Birmingham ;) Staff were super friendly and helpful, this is always important for us when choosing where to eat... More 

Helpful?
Thank Katie Y
Sandinista_Ltd, Guest Relations Manager at Sandinista, responded to this review

Hi Katie, Thank you very much for your kind review. We are over the moon you had such a great first time experience with us. I wll pass your lovely comments to the staff working on the day of your visit. Next time you are in Manchester don't hesitate to pop over and say hello! Kindest Regards Erica & The... More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2016 via mobile

We arrived at the restaurant to be unpleasantly surprised at how shabby it looked, no one was eating, which is always a sign of poor food and service, it was a Saturday night at 7pm. We asked a waitress for our table, which was booked 3 weeks ago, to be told she didn't have the booking. We weren't too bothered... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank docs1404
Sandinista_Ltd, Public Relations Manager at Sandinista, responded to this review

Hi Docs, Thank you for your feedback. We apologise for the loss of your booking and as mentioned to another member of your party we believe there may have been a loss of service when making your booking. I would like to point out that the restaurant area was fully booked that evening however our staff still tried their very... More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2016

I booked two weeks in advance for 6 people for my husbands birthday. When we arrived they'd lost the booking and tried to seat us at a table clearly meant for 4 people. When my husband said it wouldn't do, the waitress said 'Well it's not my fault, I've only just started me shift!' The manager was equally unhelpful, so... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank N J
Sandinista_Ltd, Public Relations Manager at Sandinista, responded to this review

Hi NJ, Thank you taking the time to review Sandinista. May I apologise for the loss of your booking, we have an automated bookings system and this issue has never arisen before, there must have been a service issue when you booked as I believe you did not receive a confirmation email as this could not be provided on the... More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2016

Where can I start, firstly the smell of the toilets when you walk in the bar then when my friend went to wash her hands the water was scalding hot. When meeting with my friends in the bar area where we had booked a table for six for our friend's birthday they didn't looked blank and didn't seem to have... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra W
Sandinista_Ltd, Guest Relations Manager at Sandinista, responded to this review

Hi Sandra, Thank you for taking the time to write your review as we appreciate all feedback. Firstly, I would like to apologise for the loss of your booking; we use an automated booking system and we believe there may have been a loss of service when booking your table. Having investigated this matter with the General Manager and the... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2016

We'd read a lot about this place so we decided to give it a go. It was a fun experience, the lady who took our orders was lovely. We had a special cocktail jug, don't remember what it was but it was brilliant. The lady told us it would be lethal but beau and I thought it was alright, nothing... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nia N
Sandinista_Ltd, Guest Relations Manager at Sandinista, responded to this review

Hi Nia, Thank you for leaving us your thoughts. You will be happy to hear we have just launched a brand new Cocktail Menu and have tweaked our sharing Jugs. We always appreciate all feedback we receive on our food;with this in mind we are currently working on specials that are not only filling but also tasty and exciting! We... More 

Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2016

In Manchester with our grandchildren a couple of weeks ago on a rainy Saturday, we decided to get some lunch. Just off St Anne's Square in Old Bank Street my grandson spotted Sandinista and, having a very adventurous palate for a 12 year old, said "let's have Tapas for lunch". So, in we went and experienced a delicious meal with... More 

Helpful?
Thank jOHNBOY1949
Sandinista_Ltd, Guest Relations Manager at Sandinista, responded to this review

Hi Johnboy! Thank you very much for taking the time to write us such a lovely review. We are absolutely delighted you have enjoyed all we have to offer, especially our food and service! Next time you find yourselves in town, do pop in and see us again we have a lovely new set of specials for you to try!... More 

Manchester
Level Contributor
101 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2016 via mobile

On a chilled Sunday afternoon, we've strolled in for a nice cocktail and some tapas. The Moroccan Chicken Skewers are still the winners for me hands down followed by the tasty chicken wings. Top it all off with a mojito and we were on our merry way. Thanks again.

Helpful?
1 Thank ManchesterWillH
Sandinista_Ltd, Guest Relations Manager at Sandinista, responded to this review

Hi WillH, Thank you for taking the time to write us another lovely review. It's great to hear that every single one of your visits has been enjoyable for you and that you continue to love our food! We look forward to seeing you again very soon!! Thank you Erica & the Sandinista Team More 

Travelers who viewed Sandinista also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Sandinista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Average prices
$10 - $20
Cuisine
Spanish, Latin, Bar, South American
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 3:00 am
Monday
12:00 pm - 3:00 am
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 3:00 am
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 3:00 am
Thursday
12:00 pm - 3:00 am
Friday
12:00 pm - 3:00 am
Saturday
12:00 pm - 3:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 Old Bank Street | Just off St Ann's Square, Manchester M2 7PF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater Manchester  >  Manchester
  • Phone Number: +44 161 832 9955
Description
Inspired by a love for music, food, drinks and Latin culturewith the maxim ‘nuestra casa es tu casa’ – our home is your home.And as the Eagles sang...“you can check out anytime you like, but you can never leave” MusicMusic is our passion and Joe Strummer is at our heart. The Clash inspired us to name our bar after their 4th album ‘Sandinista’. We play an eclectic mix that covers rock, indie, funk, soul, reggae, 80’s and more. Central American CultureSandinista!s revolutionary theme is influenced by the political movement in Nicaragua - The Sandinista National Liberation Front . They liberated Nicaragua with an oppressive right-wing regime in 1979 to 1990. The Central American influence is carried throughout the Latin inspired food and drink menu as well as the décor. Rock ‘n’ Roll and Food For the SoulIt's more fun to eat in a bar than drink in a restaurant!Our menu focuses on Spanish Tapas. Our dishes embody Sandinista!’s Latin inspired food ethos: simple great tasting cuisine that reflects the culture it was born out of. Drinks (open every day till 3am)Why did the Mexican push his wife off the cliff?...............Tequila!!!!Sandinista!'s impressively stocked bar offers an impressive range of cocktails from the four corners of the globe, our top sellers being fruity, tangy twists on Mojitos, Daiquiris, Mai Tais, Margaritas and Juleps. Our back bar boasts an array of quality tequilas, rums and spirits with a fine selection of beers.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sandinista staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?