We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
Bar, Asian, Fusion
Meals
Lunch
FEATURES
Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Table Service
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveler rating
39
11
10
11
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
39
11
10
11
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bento box tempura prawns sushi scones sister restaurant pornstar martini few cocktails lovely waitress friday night instagram spinningfields
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

5 of us had the high tea bento boxes to celebrate a family birthday. Great presentation of food but the Bau Buns were rock hard (must be frozen). Let the waiter know but he didn’t do anything. I found the surroundings a bit grubby. The...menus were all dog eared and had stains on them (see photo) and the table looked like it needed a bit more cleaning. The wine with the high tea wasn’t as advertised and even though the waiter knew it was a birthday event, nothing to help celebrate. Bit put off that vaping was going on whilst eating food. Overall, great presentation but quite a few details letting it down. Up the standards.More

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
manchesterbdm, Reservations Manager at Sunset by Australasia, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi PeterLYC, Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback following your recent experience with us at Sunset by Australasia. I can only apologise that you left the venue feeling dissatisfied on this occasion, this is not how we wish for any of...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good morning, Our party of 12 were disappointed as arrived at 11pm, ordered our drinks, and had nothing for 30 minutes. I had to personally go to the bar and ask. There were no apologies, but thankfully this seemed to hurry the staff along to...make our cocktails. The manager (in halloween dress) was uninterested in our disappointment. We were a hen party for my best friend who is soon to be married. I had requested sparklers or something to make the event special, there were no efforts made for our special guest. Your venue is clean and with nice decor but the service was below average which let down your venue. Unless reparations were acknowledged I will not be advising your venue to any friends. Thank you, HannahMore

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
manchesterbdm, Reservations Manager at Sunset by Australasia, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Hannah, Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback following your recent experience with us at Sunset by Australasia. I can only apologise that you left the venue feeling disappointed on this occasion, this is not how we wish for any of...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

My daughter won the instagram competition so 3 adults and a child attended the afternoon tea offer. We have had it before so we knew what a delish meal we would get. It didnt disappoint again .I loved it that much the 1st time I...bought the deal as a gift card for my other daughter what she redeemed in feb. Today's visit seemed even better .we get shocked to see it so quiet. We love everything about this place just wish we didnt live hour n half away cos we would visit more. The lovely waitress was great today she was a credit to the restaurant chatted to us n made us feel very welcome. . It's the best afternoon tea with great service and a lovely place. We will be back again around christmas time .thankyou.;)More

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
manchesterbdm, Reservations Manager at Sunset by Australasia, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Ezza2508, Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback following your recent experience with us at Sunset by Australasia and congratulations on being the winner of our instagram competition! The food and service that we provide is at the forefront of our...More

Reviewed September 25, 2022 via mobile

Loved it. Great staff Great surroundings. Cocktails were Devine The service was great. The atmosphere was buzzing. The guy that served us was great food. Such a welcoming place. Fully recommend this place Give it a try.

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
manchesterbdm, Reservations Manager at Sunset by Australasia, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2022

Hi X7618IBheatherh, Thank you for your 5 star feedback! We are so proud of the experience that we provide and I am delighted to hear that this came across on your recent visit to us. Do join us again soon! Many Thanks, Tia

Reviewed September 3, 2022 via mobile

We made a reservation months in advance for a group of 11 which required a £100 deposit which we paid. We arrived and were quickly seated. That’s about as good as this place gets unfortunately. We spent over £400 in there in 2 hours to...have the most awful ‘service’. The bouncer kept staring over and talking to other members of staff. In the end, I went over because it had got to the point where it was uncomfortable and rude. He said that one of the girls was far too drunk and should leave. I’d expressed that she was drinking water and we were ordering food, he shouts back that she had the cocktail menu in her hand, I said that’s the food menu and she is perfectly fine. I explained to the waiter how the food we ordered would be to share so when the food came, no sharing plates. Simple stuff that you might need to share. They then asked us if we wanted more drinks so we ordered 2 bottles of white wine but 2 bottles of red turn up instead. After asking to swap these, she brought them over swiftly followed by the bill. I asked if we could pay when we’d finished as it was quite rude that it had been brought over without us requesting it. She said no, you need to pay now as we need your table back. We fully understand places have bookings but what establishment serves 2 bottles of wine and other drinks to then tell customers they have to leave. This particular waitress (hair tied back, glasses) really needs some customer service training. Another girl came over, I’m assuming the host as she was dressed in black to say we had to leave but could go inside and stand by the bar and order in there. I would expect the host to inform tables in a timely manner of how long they have left on their table as other venues do and ensure large amounts of drink orders aren’t ordered 10 minutes before being asked to leave. We asked them to remove the extortionate £47 service charge due to lack of service and went inside. We were then told by a male waiter we couldn’t stand by the bar and we weren’t allowed to be served unless seated at a table. At this point, I requested to speak to the manager who was just as useless as the other staff. We stayed and finished our drinks but not before the same bouncer moved inside to watch us uncomfortably and then could clearly be seen talking to the same waitress from the table as before. He then asks me to come over. He tells me that he followed my friend down to the toilets and she was being sick and couldn’t walk. 1. No male bouncer should be following women anywhere, extremely worrying! 2. My friend could perfectly walk and was not the girl being sick in the toilets. By this point, we were so disgusted we happily left and I can assure you will never be returning. I don’t think I’ve genuinely experienced such an uncomfortable, rude and unpleasant bar with staff that need some serious customer service training. If you’re a group, want some decent drinks, food and service, avoid this place at all costs!More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
manchesterbdm, Other at Sunset by Australasia, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2022

Hi Georgina19xx, I can only apologise that you left the venue feeling dissatisfied on this occasion, I can assure you that this is not how we wish for any of our guests to feel. We are incredibly proud of the high standard of service that...More

Reviewed August 13, 2022

We visited Sunset for the first time on a Friday night. We booked a table for 2 hours (we were not rushed to leave after 2 hours at all, we could of stayed longer) Great atmosphere with good music being played by a DJ. Our...host Aslam was fabulous, so professional but fun! He makes sure you all have a good night. Drinks were lovely too. We will definitely be back!More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
manchesterbdm, Reservations Manager at Sunset by Australasia, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2022

Hi Lakes1414, Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback following your recent experience with us at Sunset by Australasia. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the atmosphere of the venue, this is something that we pride ourselves on and I...More

Reviewed August 10, 2022

This place truly is stunning and paired with a lovely friendly service. Drinks menu is creative and extensive and most importantly the cocktails were delicious and well presented.

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
manchesterbdm, Other at Sunset by Australasia, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2022

Hi Emily N, Thank you for your lovely feedback! Our bar team pride ourselves on the high standard of cocktails that they deliver and they will be most pleased to hear your kind comments. Do join us again soon! Many Thanks, Tia

Reviewed May 28, 2022 via mobile

Visited for afternoon tea and had a really great experience. We went for the rose option with the vegetarian afternoon tea. There was plenty of food and it was all really tasty. Staff were really helpful and polite as well. Staff were also very knowledgeable,...I wanted to check some of the sweet stuff was vegetarian (no gelatine) and they advised straight away that it was the veggie version - which was great. Although it is pricey, I think it was worth every penny and I would definitely visit again.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
manchesterbdm, Reservations Manager at Sunset by Australasia, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2022

Hi 518sophiek, Thank you so much for your lovely feedback! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your afternoon tea experience with us at Sunset by Australasia. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff, we pride ourselves on the high standard of...More

Reviewed April 17, 2022 via mobile

Came here with a group of besties and was disappointed by the experience! Drinks were fab and the place itself was beautiful, but I sat here with an empty drink for over 30 minutes as all the waiters focused their time on a gent who...tipped very generously. Not what you want when you’re out for cocktails with the girls!More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Rosie Chisnall, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset by Australasia, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2022

Hi, Thank you for leaving us some feedback, I am sorry to hear you felt neglected on your recent visit to us. We do not wish for any of our guests to feel this way and we aim to give everyone who comes to Sunset...More

Reviewed March 25, 2022 via mobile

Here’s to cheers and sunny blue skies! It’s the first day of spring and we’re loving Sunset Manchester in this fine weather. As you can tell, our love for Sushi is limitless and what better way to enjoy it then with a perfectly curated cocktail....Sunset is sister restaurant to the renowned Australasia and it doesn’t disappoint. The sushi was delicious and varied. Their signature cocktails are made to match with exotic influence. They describe the bar as a place to forget the world outside and soak up Sunset. One of us is from Australia so anything that transports us to faraway shores is a must for us! Sunset hosts an Asian themed banquet for afternoon tea which includes cocktails and sushi as well as other beautiful elements of bento boxes. We love this option because it means less decision time and more eating and drinking. This runs from 12-5 and ranges from £22.50-29.50pp. Alternatively, you can order individual dishes from their menu and choose your cocktail to match. Insta&Tiktok: MCRFOODGIRLS 📍Sunset, Spinningfields 1 The Ave, Manchester, M3 3APMore

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Rosie Chisnall, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset by Australasia, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2022

Hi McrFoodGirls, Thank you so much for your lovely reviews, We are so pleased that you had a great time with us enjoying Sushi under the sun, Sunset is certainly the perfect place for this! We do hope you will join us again very soon...More

Reviewed March 19, 2022 via mobile

Our first time visiting Australasia and it did not disappoint! The place is absolutely beautiful and the service was so good. Everyone was really polite - especially our server who I think was called Gregg?! He really made sure to look after us and was...so attentive. The food was excellent - we had a selection of sushi to start with followed by a selection of main meals from the grill. We also had cocktails which were delicious. It is quite pricey however we think it was well worth it. We would definitely go back again as a treat!More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Rosie Chisnall, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset by Australasia, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2022

Hi Chels, Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback, It is great to hear that you had a lovely time with us and your service from Greg was up to his usual spectacular standard! I am so pleased that you enjoyed...More

Reviewed March 13, 2022

Been here in the past and found it full of very young drinkers previously, this visit was no different. Group of loud, very young looking girls shrieking and being quite anti social whilst the staff took no notice. Service was incredibly slow. I do wonder...how this place still manages to compete with the big boys in Manchester. It lacks the sophistication of the other bars in Spinningfields and would be better placed further down Deansgate.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Rosie Chisnall, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset by Australasia, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2022

Hi Smashingg, Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback. I am sorry to hear that your visit to us was impacted by other guests, we are a much more lively venue over the weekend, however I will be sure to discuss...More

Reviewed March 13, 2022 via mobile

I absolutely loved it here! The staff seemed very professional and friendly and the cocktails were lovely! I asked them if they could do me a coconut espresso martini even though I couldn’t find it on the menu and they were happy deliver my request-...which I’m glad they did as the cocktail was a strong 10/10! I would also rate the green apple martini a very high score out of 10! I also loved how they had incense stick burners it just made a nice contribution to the relaxed atmosphere. I would come back here in a heartbeat I could have stayed there all night.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Rosie Chisnall, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset by Australasia, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2022

Hi Sasha, Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback! We are so thrilled that you had a great time with us and do hope that you will join us again for more great cocktails and service soon. Many Thanks, Rosie

Reviewed February 20, 2022 via mobile

We dined here on a Sunday Afternoon for the afternoon tea. We were greeted by a friendly guy at the desk and shown immediately to our table. Sadly, this is where the service started and ended. The restaurant was quiet, with only 4-5 tables being...occupied. Our waiter appeared bored throughout. Food & drinks were served promptly, and we really enjoyed the bento boxes. It was quite difficult to get anyone’s attention to order more drinks. At one point there was no staff in the restaurant. The bento dessert box arrived with no side plate or cutlery. After waiting 5 mins we again couldn’t get anyone’s attention, so I had to walk to the guy on the desk for them to brought over. To be fair he was apologetic, but it shouldn’t happen. Once finished we waited a good ten minutes to ask for the bill. In the end we gave up, put our coats on and asked for the bill at the desk. He told us to sit back down and the bill will be brought over. Our afternoon tea was pre paid for so quite surprised to handed an £8 service charge, which was an insult considering the lack of service. Overall the food was lovely, but the service was very poor. Only days earlier I dined at The Ivy around the corner where the service is outstanding. This afternoon tea is in the same price bracket as The Ivy and for the money I know where I’ll dining next time.More

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
manchesterbdm, Reservations Manager at Sunset by Australasia, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2022

Hi somewheresun, We are sorry to hear that you left feeling disappointed with the service after your recent visit to us at Sunset by Australasia. I can assure you that this does not sound like the usual service that we strive to achieve. Your comments...More

Reviewed February 19, 2022

I took two clients for cocktails before dinner on the evening of the 18th February. The front of house was unwelcoming, the waiters barely acknowledged us and when they did they were quite rude. When they eventually did ask for our drinks they didn't have...the bottle we asked for which in itself is not a huge issue however, the whole thing made for an embarrassing situation for me. I have been a regular at Living Ventures venues for many years. What has gone wrong?More

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
manchesterbdm, Reservations Manager at Sunset by Australasia, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2022

Hi Foodblogger3, Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback. We are sorry to hear that you left feeling disappointed with the service that you received on your recent visit to us - I can assure you that this is not the...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Moxy Manchester City
60 reviews
.07 miles away
Manchester Hall
24 reviews
.07 miles away
YOTEL Manchester Deansgate
291 reviews
.10 miles away
The Edwardian Manchester, A Radisson Collection Hotel
935 reviews
.20 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Comptoir Libanais Manchester
1,366 reviews
.02 miles away
Dishoom Manchester
1,197 reviews
.07 miles away
Fazenda Rodizio Bar & Grill
3,300 reviews
.03 miles away
Hawksmoor Manchester
2,724 reviews
.07 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The John Rylands Library
5,540 reviews
.05 miles away
Manchester Opera House
1,101 reviews
.11 miles away
The Oast House
120 reviews
.06 miles away
One Eight Six
52 reviews
.06 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Sunshine28666588600
November 12, 2019|
Answer
Response from AustralasiaMcr | Property representative |
Hi Sunshine2, We don't - sorry about that! We do however have lots of vegetarian/vegan options! Kindest regards, Rachael Sales and Relationships Manager
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

SUNSET BY AUSTRALASIA, Manchester - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Sunset by Australasia

Sunset by Australasia is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4