We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Market Restaurant - CLOSED

104 High Street, Manchester M4 1HQ, England
+44 161 834 3743
Call
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good16%
  • Average12%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible16%
Apr 25, 2016
“A hidden gem”
Aug 27, 2015
“Great food and superb wine choices and quality”
Restaurant Hours Closed
CUISINES
British, Mediterranean, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
104 High Street, Manchester M4 1HQ, England
All Details
Reviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 130 of 200 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2012

I went on a Friday lunchtime with an offer from manchester confidential. It was 2 courses for £12. My mum had the chicken liver pate which was good, a large dollop of pate with a small salad and some bread. I had the wood pidgeon...More

Thank Citizenandrew
Gary N, Owner at Market Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Thank you for your visit and for your feedback. To address some of the points you raise: the portion sizes were exactly as they are for our evening menu. I am sorry that you were jealous of your Mum's starter. Had you have mentioned this...More

Reviewed August 10, 2012

Third visit this year - high standards yet again. To produce consistent quality is rare in Manchester and this is rapidly becoming our favourite place to dine in the entire City. Interesting food, excellently cooked - with attentive, well informed staff. Keep up the good...More

Thank Anon198425
Gary N, Owner at Market Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to write up your visit. Hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stumbled upon this place whilst out with friends in Manchester and as one reviewer says, don't judge a book by its cover. The welcome was warm, the staff really helpful with the menu and one particular young man very knowledgeable with his wines. We...More

Thank Caroline J
WallisB, Owner at Market Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

Oooo root canal you poor thing as if the pain isn't bad enough the treatment is almost as bad. We look forward to welcoming you again soon (new menu launched yesterday) and I'm sure we can find some bubbles to help celebrate your recovery

Reviewed July 31, 2012

If we hadn't been invited to meet people here, I doubt it would ever have appeared on our horizon. A nice atmosphere. An excellent menu. Food of excellent quality. We expect to be there again.

Thank JeremyMTS
WallisB, Owner at Market Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to share your experiences

Reviewed July 16, 2012

this used to be one of our favourite restaurants and we have had some lovely meals and great nights out here. First time for sunday lunch and the last !! Very small menu with equally small potions of food. The food was to be fair...More

1  Thank Keith D
WallisB, Owner at Market Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Thank you for your frank comments. I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your visit last Sunday. You thought that we had - "a very small menu". On a Sunday we feature 5 starters and 5 mains our a la carte menu at all other times features...More

Reviewed June 30, 2012

Hello, Let me say that at first I wasn't impressed with this place at all but as they say 'don't judge the book by its cover'...My boyfriend and I were celebrating our first anniversary and chose this place for our dinner. We wanted to go...More

Thank MadziaManchester_UK
WallisB, Owner at Market Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

Thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed your visit. Just thought I'd let you know the menu changed last night so hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed June 25, 2012

We ate here before attending the Bruce Springsteen concert at Old Trafford Cricket Ground in 2003 and really enjoyed our meal. Back in Manchester again last week, to see the Boss at Etihad stadium, we were wandering around the Northern Quarter and happened on the...More

Thank drgillybean
WallisB, Owner at Market Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Thanks for your feedback but please don't leave it another 10 years before dropping by again (or wait for the next Bruce Springsteen concert). The Northern Quarter has certainly changed but we still love it.

Reviewed June 17, 2012

I visited the Market Restaurant a heap of times during 2011. I absolutely love it there. The food is delicious and the service so special. It is worth a visit just to have one of the lovely staff recommend the best wines ever! They take...More

Thank ManchesterJ0
WallisB, Owner at Market Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

I encourage all our staff to learn about food and wine and matching them. We invest significantly in their training with masterclasses, courses and trade tastings so it's nice to hear when this is recognised by our guests. Many thanks.

Reviewed June 10, 2012

We dined at the Market Restaurant on the 9th June prior to going to see Coldplay at the Etihad Stadium. I must say that it was one of the best meals that we have had in a long time and we do like our luxuries!...More

Thank David R
WallisB, Owner at Market Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Thanks for your comments. Hope you enjoyed the concert and we see you again soon.

Reviewed May 30, 2012

We are visiting Manchester from Australia and chose this lovely little restaurant for our fist meal.The restaurant is situated in a nice quite part of the city. Our waiter was extremely helpful and courteous and the service of the food was fast. We chose an...More

Thank Sue1956
WallisB, Owner at Market Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Hope the rest of your trip went well and you are now safely home. Don't forget to call and see us if you are ever visiting Manchester again!

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 120 hotels in Manchester
Premier Suites
396 reviews
.06 miles away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
1,495 reviews
.06 miles away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
2,612 reviews
.08 miles away
Abel Heywood
765 reviews
.09 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
This & That
552 reviews
.04 miles away
Luck Lust Liquor and Burn
824 reviews
.01 miles away
Yard & Coop Manchester
607 reviews
.03 miles away
The Northern Quarter Restaurant & Bar
801 reviews
.02 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Arndale Market
125 reviews
.13 miles away
Manchester Buddhist Centre
32 reviews
.07 miles away
Centre for Chinese Contemporary Art
17 reviews
.04 miles away
The Washhouse
118 reviews
.11 miles away
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Good for
Local cuisine, Special occasions
Open Hours
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 104 High Street, Manchester M4 1HQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater Manchester  >  Manchester
  • Phone Number: +44 161 834 3743
  • E-mail
Description
At The Market Restaurant we place an accent on the quality of our ingredients rather than the length of our menu. All preparation of food and cooking is done here on the premises. We avoid convenience pre frozen, pre packed and synthetic products wherever we can and use fresh wholesome foods cooking them in ways that lose as little of their nutrients and flavour as is possible. Wherever possible we source our ingredients from local producers and suppliers. Some guests get it immediately, others unfortunately don't. Our reward is in those guests who recognise the results of our efforts and return again and again.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing