We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rajdoot Tandoori

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
18 Albert Square, Manchester M2 5PE, England
+44 161 834 2176
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Mon - Sat 12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

453 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 448: English reviews
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Visited Rajdoot after reading the reviews. Tasty food, perhaps the best paneer tikka and naan I have ever eaten and very friendly and welcoming staff.

Helpful?
Thank MDTBedford
Hawarden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Ate here on Saturday after a show, did book in advance but upon arrival there were only two other tables full, they sat us down in the waiting area and served us our drinks order, then continued to leave us sitting there and take our food order, I reiterated that we had a table booked but they said this was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Archer1129
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

went to the rajdoot on friday the 17/3/2017 had fantastic food and the staff are so helpful and very friendly and really look after you cant wait to go back

Helpful?
Thank John M
manchester
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Only arrival at the restaurant last night at 6pm, we had booked a table for 6 people we were shown to a seating area prior to going to our table purely as a ploy to order drinks and bump up the bill, we then ordered food still in the seating area (I thought it may of been to help the... More 

Helpful?
Thank beckyboo85
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We've been to this restaurant many times over the years, but hadnt been for the last 2 or 3 years. Recently went again and the food was just as excellent as it always has been. Everything is cooked to order and the dishes are extremely authentic. Cannot fault it.

Helpful?
Thank Maureen D
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I booked a table to eat here 2 days before going. A table for 4. we arrived we were shown to a small table to wait for our table and not given a menu or a wine list. But one menu left on the table from previous occupants. We passed this around! Then we were asked to order! Bear in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jeff W
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Went for late night food, 2 of us and thought would try this after its refurb. Nice interior and good ambience. Poppadums and starters good,Chicken Jalfrezi very tasty.All in all enjoyed the meal but did not like to see 10% optional service charge added to the bill, read the bill carefully at the end of the night!

Helpful?
Thank travellalot011
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Four of us came for a meal after the theatre. The décor and ambience was good and the service was efficient. To be fair the others were satisfied with their meal. I ordered the lamb chilli bhuna. To be honest one of the worst curries I have been served. The lamb seemed to consist in equal parts of fat and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Patrick K
Rajdoot-Team, Public Relations Manager at Rajdoot Tandoori, responded to this review

Dear Patrick Thank you very much for your lovely comments regarding our service and ambiance although I am sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your lamb dish. - This is very surprising as the Lamb Chilli Bhuna always gets a great reception and we are praised for the quality of our cuts of lamb. I always reiterate that if customers... More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Loved it. Went for lunch celebrating wife's birthday. Great service - waiter was funny! Food lovely - make sure you are hungry though!

Helpful?
Thank Paul S
Rajdoot-Team, Public Relations Manager at Rajdoot Tandoori, responded to this review

Dear Paul S, Thank you for leaving us a lovely concise review. I'm glad you chose Rajdoot to celebrate your wife's birthday and more importantly that you enjoyed the food and service! P.S nobody leaves hungry at Rajdoot with our healthy portion sizes :). Have a lovely week ahead! If you have any questions or would like to further discuss... More 

Level Contributor
67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Staying in a local hotel with a rather unimaginative menu so found The Rajdoot on TA. Phoned an order through to a very polite and helpful member of staff. Wandered down half an hour later, short wait and off I went with the food... Most importantly, every mouthful was delicious... the Kebab and bhaji starter were both full of flavour... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bananarob
Rajdoot-Team, Public Relations Manager at Rajdoot Tandoori, responded to this review

Dear Bananrob, Thank you for leaving us brilliant feedback - I'm really glad to hear you enjoyed our Shish Kebab and Rajdoot style Bhajis! We have had them on the menu for 50 years and they have always been throughly enjoyed! I am sorry to hear that you feel your bill was a little steep. Usually for a starter, main,... More 

Travelers who viewed Rajdoot Tandoori also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Rajdoot Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$22 - $43
Cuisine
Indian, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Halal, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Takeout, Free Wifi, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover
Good for
Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 18 Albert Square, Manchester M2 5PE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater Manchester  >  Manchester
  • Phone Number: +44 161 834 2176
Description
Rajdoot Manchester has been serving delicacies to customers for nearly 50 years and was the first Tandoori restaurant in Europe to open in 1966. Located under the depths of Albert Square, Rajdoot Manchester gives a sense of escapism to Moglai inspired interiors, where guests can enjoy an authentic dining experience in an atmospheric and ambient setting. With a central Manchester location, Rajdoot can also be adapted into a space for your corporate event or office party. We specialise in delivering great value, high quality 2-3 course menus and have delivered to the likes of Co-operative, BMW, PwC, United Utilities and many law chambers. Additionally, we host the annual Curry Club networking event and have been for the last 33 years.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Rajdoot Tandoori and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Rajdoot Tandoori staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?