We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Toby Carvery

$$ - $$$, British,
Lyndale Avenue | Edenthorpe, Doncaster DN3 2QT, England
+44 1302 880275
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent32%
  • Very good30%
  • Average17%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible11%
Travelers talk about
“pudding” (13 reviews)
“sundae” (3 reviews)
Open Now
8:00 AM - 10:30 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Lyndale Avenue | Edenthorpe, Doncaster DN3 2QT, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 50 of 235 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2016

Visited The Toby Carvery yesterday and had a great meal. The meat was delicious and the vegetables really excellent. If you like carveries then this is a place to visit. The staff are very pleasant. We ate from the festive meal and had a great...More

Thank Anna R
General Manager A, General Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2016

Sounds like you had a wonderful meal. Gingerbread sundae is a favourite of mine. We hope to see you again soon. Many thanks Toby Carvery Edenthorpe.

Reviewed December 15, 2016

Staff were quite rude my husband said the beef was awful and the veg wasn't much better (we had carvery)I had a veggie carvery all I can say is I've had better.The staff were unbelievable the young man called my husband bud and was not...More

1  Thank janet c
General Manager A, General Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2016

I'm sorry to hear about your meal and service at our Toby carvery. It seems as though we were not up to scratch on this occasion. If you have any more problems please don't hesitate to contact us at edenthorpe@tobycarvery.co.uk

Reviewed December 14, 2016 via mobile

Very good carvery lots of people there for dinner I think that's a good sign we did not book but under five minutes we was at a table good all round

Thank David N
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2016

Thanks for you great review! We hope you see you soon!

Reviewed December 5, 2016 via mobile

Decided to try Toby Carvery with my husband and two sons. My youngest had been playing football for his local team! We thought we'd try it because one of my sons is vegan, of which he had 3 choices! When we arrived, even though we...More

2  Thank Ann H
General Manager A, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2016

Thanking you for taking your time to review our restaurant. I understand why you would be frustrated about your eldest son being refused service unfortunately it is a legal requirement to produce ID when asked. The bar man and business could face a fine if...More

Reviewed December 4, 2016 via mobile

Went today after not going for a number of years.. i had two types of meat with my Sunday roast... well.. the beef was fatty, chewy, and inedible... the veg was less than impressive.. sprouts was hard... and judging by other people's plates they thought...More

Thank 820lorraine
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2016

I'm sorry to hear about your meal at Toby Carvery Edenthorpe. We don't like guests leaving unhappy and clearly that was the case today. Please remember if this happens again to speak to your server or the duty manager, and they would be more than...More

Reviewed December 4, 2016

The food lacked any flavour, all the meats tasted the same and the veg were overdone and tasteless too. Staff were polite. Decor was dated . Some other diners had plates piled high and seemed to be enjoying themselves but take it from me it...More

Thank Sheel52
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2016

Sheel52, we regret that you had a negative experience with us but are glad you brought this to our attention. I will pass all the comments about bland food on to our Kitchen Manager in the hope that he can improve the flavour. I apologise...More

Reviewed November 30, 2016 via mobile

Nice hot carvery, lots of choice of meat and vegetables, quick friendly service, and a great price with the 20% discount offer.

Thank cogey30
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2016

Thank you for your great review! We hope to see you soon. Remember to download the Toby Carvery app for our loyalty card scheme and all the latest offers. Many thanks, Rianna.

Reviewed November 30, 2016

I rate this the best Toby I have been too. The food was hot and delicious. The veg was fresh and looked good. The staff are hard working and, polite and amenable.

Thank nswann
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2016

Thank you for ranking us the best! We hope to see you soon. Remember to download the Toby Carvery app (if you haven't already) to get access to the latest offers and our loyalty card. Many thanks, Rianna,

Reviewed November 26, 2016

I've gone here for years & travel 15miles to get there. After our last visit I won't be going again.. the beef had more fat on it than meat.. roast potatos were black (burnt) .. & as for the Yorkshire puddings you could have done...More

Thank Johanne N
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2016

I'm sorry to hear about your unpleasant experience at Edenthorpe. Did you speak to your server or duty manager that day? They would of been more than happy to arrange a fresh meal for you on the day. Any more question please don't hesitate to...More

Reviewed November 20, 2016

i had friends visiting form Newcastle and we decided to go for the Toby breakfast We arrived at 10.15 and i am absolutely clear we asked if we were too late as it had 1-.30and we could have easily gone to the sandall parkWe were...More

Thank David W
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2017

Thank You for your feedback your comments have been passed onto our kitchen management team and I can assure you this will not happen again James

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Eden Arms
172 reviews
.87 miles away
La Fiesta Doncaster
606 reviews
.77 miles away
Jimmy Piggs Coffee House
112 reviews
.75 miles away
Ashoka Doncaster
117 reviews
.75 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Yorkshire Wildlife Park
5,918 reviews
1.72 miles away
South Yorkshire Aircraft Museum
321 reviews
2.69 miles away
Doncaster Racecourse and Exhibition Centre
839 reviews
2.22 miles away
Sandall Park
151 reviews
.71 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Toby Carvery staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Lyndale Avenue | Edenthorpe, Doncaster DN3 2QT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  South Yorkshire  >  Doncaster
  • Phone Number: +44 1302 880275
Description
Nestled on the outskirts of Doncaster, towards the M18 sits Toby Carvery Edenthorpe, offering Britain's "Home of the Roast" Call in and enjoy choice of 4 home cooked joints including, Beef, Gammon, Turkey & Pork. With a full bar on offer and a weekly quiz on a Friday night at 8pm, our team are all on hand to welcome you. Huge beer garden for the kids to run free and relax on sunny days, ideal for popping in after the hustle and bustle of the local shopping areas or a day at the racecourse
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing