We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Water Witch

) #21 of 186 Restaurants in Lancaster $$ - $$$ , British,
Aldcliffe Road | Aldcliffe Lane, Lancaster LA1 1SU, England
+44 1524 63828
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good32%
  • Average14%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible5%
Travelers talk about
“burger” (59 reviews)
“lamb shank” (7 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Delicatessen, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Aldcliffe Road | Aldcliffe Lane, Lancaster LA1 1SU, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (540)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 160 of 535 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2016 via mobile

We went here for lunch last Wednesday, it's in a great position but that's it, I had a soup and sandwich for lunch and my partner scampi, The tuna sandwich was full of mayonnaise and so much cheap margarine that it actually dripped out of...More

4  Thank smast
MitchellsofLanc, General Manager at The Water Witch, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2016

Hi there Smast, I am disappointed with the contents of your review and I would ask that you make contact with me directly at the Waterwitch to discuss your visit. In the mean time I will be discussing the contents of your review with all...More

Reviewed July 24, 2016

We are a group of men aged between 50 & 68. We had pre ordered and booked dinner at the restaurant in order to ease the congestion on arrival. We arrived at the restaurant ordered drinks and some of the group went into the restaurant...More

8  Thank joshua21
MitchellsofLanc, General Manager at The Water Witch, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2016

WE WELCOME GROUPS THAT ARE NOT DRUNK, RUDE AND ABUSIVE, TO EITHER ME OR ANY OF MY TEAM. You were asked to leave as you were all of the above. If you are ex police officers you should know how to con duct yourselves. I...More

Reviewed July 21, 2016 via mobile

The Water Witch sits in an enviable position, on the banks of the Lancaster canal, just below the hospital. This one time stables, is now a very popular venue with the locals and is always quite busy, particularly when the weather is good, as it...More

3  Thank holidaymanWashington
MitchellsofLanc, General Manager at The Water Witch, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2016

Many many thanks for your lovely review. we are please you loved our great little pub and our home cooked food see you again soon regards Simon and all the team

Reviewed July 20, 2016

We were moored on the Lancaster Canal and this pub was very convenient. Had a very good lamb shank with mediterranean veggies and mash - delish! Hubby had the mussels with chips and bread to mop up the white wine sauce.

2  Thank Karooblossom
MitchellsofLanc, General Manager at The Water Witch, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2016

Hi There Glad you enjoyed your visit to us! Kind regards Simon Morrissey GM

Reviewed July 18, 2016

On a nice day I couldn't think of a better place to enjoy a spot of lunch, with a great choice on the menu and as well a huge variety of drinks on the bar I couldn't think of a better way to spend a...More

2  Thank Christopher B
MitchellsofLanc, General Manager at The Water Witch, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2016

Hi There. Thanks for your kind review. We look forward to seeing you again soon regards Simon

Reviewed July 18, 2016 via mobile

Been to this pub a few times on a Sunday afternoon when we're looking for a drink and something to eat. The outside space is right on the canal and is in the sun most of the time, which is great when it's nice out....More

1  Thank Izzy D
MitchellsofLanc, General Manager at The Water Witch, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2016

Hi there Izzy Thank you for your review, and its always a pleasure get comments like yours. See you again soon Regards Simon

Reviewed July 17, 2016

They could do with more chairs in the dining room and bar for when people can't eat outside. No table ready for us, despite having booked in February for an evening in July, and reconfirming by phone a few days before! Nevertheless, staff were doing...More

2  Thank Travels62
MitchellsofLanc, General Manager at The Water Witch, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2016

Hi there, Thanks for your review, and complementing our burgers!! We are indeed a popular destination, not sure what you mean by "victim"? Anyhow, we hope to see you again soon Regards Simon and all the team

Reviewed July 15, 2016 via mobile

In Lancaster for a play: walking along tow path came across The Waterwitch. Fantastic situation, with many outside tables, on canalside. Good range of beers and exceptional food. The sharing platters are great for a lazy afternoon. Plenty going on with boats "tooing and froing"....More

2  Thank John B
MitchellsofLanc, General Manager at The Water Witch, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2016

Hi John!! Thanks for your lovely review. We are very lucky to have our location, and the Narrowboats are certainly interesting!! We look forward to seeing you again soon Regards Simon and all the team

Reviewed July 15, 2016 via mobile

The water witch was average. There was nothing extraordinary, the food was OK and the quizmaster couldn't pronounce half the quiz properly.More

Thank Aidan W
MitchellsofLanc, General Manager at The Water Witch, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2016

DISTINCTLY AVERAGE REVIEW!!!! I am struggling to respond to your review, as its so vague? Our quiz master(s) do a great job presenting the weekly quiz. Its just a bit of fun!!! I am sorry you don't see it like that? Please feel free to...More

Reviewed July 14, 2016 via mobile

We recently attended here with a party of 6 of us, we had a table that was a bit in the way for people Our food took a while to arrive people had came and gone before we received our mains! The food was lovely...More

1  Thank bobslouise
MitchellsofLanc, General Manager at The Water Witch, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2016

Hi There, and thanks for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your meals, and I am also pleased your waitress looked after you, given your wait for your food. Thanks again, and we hope to see you again soon Regards Simon and all...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Whale Tail
278 reviews
.19 miles away
Gingernut Food Cafe & Bistro
128 reviews
.22 miles away
Toll House Inn
234 reviews
.08 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Lancaster Castle
1,402 reviews
.44 miles away
Lancaster City Museum
237 reviews
.35 miles away
Judges' Lodgings
85 reviews
.41 miles away
The Dukes
101 reviews
.40 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
woodford9
October 3, 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from MitchellsofLanc | Property representative |
Hi woodford9, We have do have an disable toilet that can be accessed in a wheelchair. Thanks Chris Summers
1
Vote
Shhhepherd
March 22, 2016|
Answer
Response from MitchellsofLanc | Property representative |
Hi Children are allowed in until 9pm
1
Vote
angus r
October 24, 2015|
Answer
Response from MitchellsofLanc | Property representative |
Hi We allow clean,well behaved dogs in the bar end of the pub
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$4 - $23
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Monday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Tuesday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Wednesday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Thursday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Friday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Saturday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Aldcliffe Road | Aldcliffe Lane, Lancaster LA1 1SU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lancashire  >  Lancaster
  • Phone Number: +44 1524 63828
  • E-mail
Description
The Water Witch was originally converted from purpose built stables in 1978 and offers a large range of high quality dishes ranging from Great British classics to continental cuisine. Our Head Chef sources all of our produce wherever possible from local British suppliers, enabling us to reduce our food miles and serve you the very best of what's in season. Whether you're visiting to sample our superb array of drinks, dine in our restaurant or combining a little of both - you're always guaranteed a warm welcome at the Water Witch.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing