We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Water Witch

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Aldcliffe Road | Aldcliffe Lane, Lancaster LA1 1SU, England
+44 1524 63828
Website
Today
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 am - 12:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

407 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 402: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Had a lovely meal sat outside watching the boats go by. They have a large selection of real ales on offer and also a good selection of food to go with it.All staff are very polite and friendly. They have obviously been well trained and it pays off,making a lovely atmosphere. With it being situated right on the canal bank... More 

Helpful?
Thank andychapman
MitchellsofLanc, General Manager at The Water Witch, responded to this review

Hi There Andy A lovely review from you and much appreciated! The team were delighted with your kind words. We hope to see you again very soon cheers Simon and all the team More 

N Yorks
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Having returned to Lancaster 25 years after meeting at Uni, we decided to try out our former watering holes! We were not disappointed with the food, location and atmosphere! THursday night was also quiz night which added to the overall amibience. The food was tasty and plentiful and there was a range of guest beers on offer. Was lovely to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julie A
MitchellsofLanc, General Manager at The Water Witch, responded to this review

Hiya Julie I am pleased you found your return visit an enjoyable one, and I am sure the place has changed somewhat! Thanks for your review, and we welcome you back soon! Best wishes Simon and all the team More 

Northumberland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited the Water Witch on Tuesday 9 August whilst on a narrowboating holiday on the Lancaster Canal. The Water Wicth is canalside and has moorings outside the front door - a real bonus for thirsty travellers! The staff were very friendly and most efficient. I had cod and chips whilst my wife had scampi. In my quest for Real... More 

Helpful?
Thank OldGeordie
MitchellsofLanc, General Manager at The Water Witch, responded to this review

Hi There It was lovely to see you again! same time next year! Regards The Waterwitch team More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The WaterWitch is a great place to visit whatever the occasion. Always very clean, very professional and friendly staff. Close to the city centre (about 5-10 minutes). Outside seating is available too. However busy the Water Witch gets, it's always reasonable quiet. Poor behaviour is dealt with, but perhaps not always in a professional way, but always for the comfort... More 

Helpful?
Thank James D
MitchellsofLanc, Manager at The Water Witch, responded to this review

Hi James Thanks for your review, and your comment will be fed back to all the team! Regards Simon Morrissey GM More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stopped here for a drink and was very impressed. Obviously a busy canal side pub but very clean. A good choice of beers and ciders and very friendly staff

Helpful?
Thank songster58
MitchellsofLanc, General Manager at The Water Witch, responded to this review

Hi songster, Thanks for complementing our clean pub, beers and ciders and of course the team! See you soon Simon Morrissey GM More 

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I and a party of ten went for my retirement party at the end of July and the food and drink were very good and served with a smile. Overall yes I will go again and can recommend it.

Helpful?
Thank KORBR
MitchellsofLanc, General Manager at The Water Witch, responded to this review

Hi KORBR Thanks for your review, and we all indeed wish you a happy retirement! Regards Simon and the Team More 

Lancaster
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We came here yesterday to enjoy the sunshine, lovely to sit outside by the canal. I ordered the lamb shank, which was beautifully cooked, the meat just fell off the bone. You can buy pimms, here which is particularly enjoyable in the sunshine! We're locals so I know we'll be back soon!

Helpful?
Thank Anna S
MitchellsofLanc, General Manager at The Water Witch, responded to this review

Hi Anna Great words from you! Thanks for your review, it really means a lot to us regards Simon and the Team More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Fab food - lovely restaurant. Convenient for canal users. Bit on the pricey side but the food is worth the price. Highly recommended!

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
MitchellsofLanc, General Manager at The Water Witch, responded to this review

Hi There! thanks for your 5* review, and your recommendation to other TA users. Kind regards Simon and the WW team More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped here for the night and popped in for some food very nice food portions good size staff friendly shame didn't do breakfast

Helpful?
1 Thank Andy M
MitchellsofLanc, General Manager at The Water Witch, responded to this review

Hi There Andy Thanks for your review, and lovely comments. We have tried a breakfast offer before, but with little uptake. See you again soon cheers Simon More 

Prenton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Ordered a ploughmans platter board, looked amazing when it arrived. But the bread was dry and a bit stale, chutney tasted of a sweet fruit filling rather than a tangy chutney, chorizo - thick large cold slices - very chewy & tough. Overall was disappointed. Lovely location along the canal though.

Helpful?
Thank Emma S
MitchellsofLanc, General Manager at The Water Witch, responded to this review

Hi Emma Thanks for your comments, however should you have raised any issue with any of my team, at the time, this would have been dealt with straight away. Regards Simon More 

Travelers who viewed The Water Witch also viewed

Lancaster, Lancashire
Lancaster, Lancashire
 
Lancaster, Lancashire
Lancaster, Lancashire
 

Been to The Water Witch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Average prices
$4 - $24
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Delicatessen
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Scenic view, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Monday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Tuesday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Wednesday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Thursday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Friday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Saturday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Aldcliffe Road | Aldcliffe Lane, Lancaster LA1 1SU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lancashire  >  Lancaster
  • Phone Number: +44 1524 63828
Description
The Water Witch was originally converted from purpose built stables in 1978 and offers a large range of high quality dishes ranging from Great British classics to continental cuisine.

Our Head Chef sources all of our produce wherever possible from local British suppliers, enabling us to reduce our food miles and serve you the very best of what's in season.

Whether you're visiting to sample our superb array of drinks, dine in our restaurant or combining a little of both - you're always guaranteed a warm welcome at the Water Witch.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Water Witch and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
5 months ago
Manchester, United Kingdom
10 months ago
Chorley, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Water Witch staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?