We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Water Witch

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Aldcliffe Road | Aldcliffe Lane, Lancaster LA1 1SU, England
+44 1524 63828
Website
Today
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 am - 12:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

425 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 420: English reviews
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

I travelled to The Water Witch from Preston just to have lunch, and was really disappointed with the food. My partner and I both ordered the same starter and mains. We had the prawn soup from the "specials" menu, which suffice it to say had nothing special about it at all. I found a whopping three prawns in my tepid... More 

Helpful?
Thank sjy17
Glasgow
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Not the most accessible location but well worth the effort Most enjoyable meal from an extensive menu at a reasonable price. The staff were really pleasant & efficient another place to return to. Andy & Irene

Helpful?
Thank Goboldly
MitchellsofLanc, General Manager at The Water Witch, responded to this review

Hello Goldboldly! Thanks for your lovely review. We look forward to seeing you soon! Regards Simon and the team More 

West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
153 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went to the Water Witch on Sunday night for tea. My other half had the fish burger and I had Fish and Chips. The food was really nice and with drinks came to about £20. My only criticism would be that the mushy peas with my fish and chips were a bit dry but everything else was lovely.

Helpful?
Thank notthecentralhouse
MitchellsofLanc, Manager at The Water Witch, responded to this review

Hi There Many thanks for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your food, however I have fed back the issue with the peas to our kitchen team cheers Simon and all the team More 

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This restaurant is nice inside and out but is very overpriced, like many pubs now it does not feel relaxed and is expensive to eat there, very limited seating inside for just a drink as most of the area is reserved for food. I'd recommend for a drink outside but wouldn't eat there again as I only get paid once... More 

Helpful?
Thank buffywuffy
MitchellsofLanc, General Manager at The Water Witch, responded to this review

Hi There Thanks for your review. We welcome both drinkers and diners alike, however we do serve food throughout our pub. With regards our pricing, I take on board your comment, however we feel we are well placed in the market in Lancaster alongside our direct competitors. Hope to see you again soon Regards Simon More 

Lancashire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

lovely spot to sit on Canal with a cheeseboard and wine, food is very good and the location is great just on the edge of the city. Nice building and friendly staff

Helpful?
Thank lancsbabe
MitchellsofLanc, General Manager at The Water Witch, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for your review and for complementing our food and location Much appreciated!! Kind regards Simon Morrissey More 

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I had eaten out many times on my holiday and in fact I was getting a bit sick of the usual pub food as everyone else seemed to serve the same thing. So when I saw the scotch egg platter I though ooh that looks nice. It was lovely so filling and tasty I could eat it now again as... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank chynagirl1
MitchellsofLanc, General Manager at The Water Witch, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, and for complementing our food. We are thrilled you enjoyed your visit! Kind regards Simon and the Team More 

Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I visited the water witch on the 2nd of September and had a platter. I firstly have to say the food was very good however the amount which I received for £19 was miserly, on top of that the staff were more interested in talking to each other than trying to help us. Maybe it was a bad day at... More 

Helpful?
Thank ChrisFarrell75
MitchellsofLanc, General Manager at The Water Witch, responded to this review

Hi There Thanks for your review, however I do have concerns about some of the claims you make. Can you give me a call at the Waterwitch to discuss? Kind regards Simon Morrissey GM More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Coming with my sister and my gf for a beer and a quick appetiser, and then found a diarrhoea and nausea for us (after try the deli board, sharing platter 18'95 quid) over rated just for a few slices of doubtly chorizo, hummus, pickles and some chicken liver pate which was rancid. So i'm four days with a terrible diarrhoea... More 

Helpful?
Thank WanderingSpaniard
MitchellsofLanc, General Manager at The Water Witch, responded to this review

Hi There. You indeed sent us an email suggesting you have been ill as a result of a visit to us. Of course we are sorry you have been ill, but you cannot be certain that it was your visit to us, or anything that you consumed in our pub that caused your illness. We take food hygiene and safety... More 

Liverpool
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Called in for a lunch time snack , something small , so chose the Fish , chunky chips and mushy peas , lunchtime special for the reduced price of £6 . What I did expect though , was some fish in the batter ?? Very poor . Did I complain ? Yes . Did it make a difference ? No... More 

Helpful?
Thank PhilGerrie
MitchellsofLanc, General Manager at The Water Witch, responded to this review

Hi PhilGerrie I am greatly concerned about your review and it's content I would ask you contact me personally to discuss your visit with me. Kind regards Simon Morrissey GM More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A friend and I visited on Thursday based on trip advisor reviews and after looking at the menus online. It has been years since I last ate here but always had a faultless meal. We ordered the scotch egg platter and the fish and chips as well as a bread basket to feed the ducks with. The food was really... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Nina H
MitchellsofLanc, General Manager at The Water Witch, responded to this review

Hello Nina Thanks for your dazzling review, and indeed for choosing to dine with us. Kind regards Simon Morrissey GM More 

Travelers who viewed The Water Witch also viewed

Lancaster, Lancashire
Lancaster, Lancashire
 
Lancaster, Lancashire
Lancaster, Lancashire
 
Lancaster, Lancashire
Lancaster, Lancashire
 

Been to The Water Witch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Average prices
$4 - $23
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Delicatessen
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Monday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Tuesday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Wednesday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Thursday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Friday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Saturday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Aldcliffe Road | Aldcliffe Lane, Lancaster LA1 1SU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lancashire  >  Lancaster
  • Phone Number: +44 1524 63828
Description
The Water Witch was originally converted from purpose built stables in 1978 and offers a large range of high quality dishes ranging from Great British classics to continental cuisine.

Our Head Chef sources all of our produce wherever possible from local British suppliers, enabling us to reduce our food miles and serve you the very best of what's in season.

Whether you're visiting to sample our superb array of drinks, dine in our restaurant or combining a little of both - you're always guaranteed a warm welcome at the Water Witch.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Water Witch and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
6 months ago
Manchester, United Kingdom
11 months ago
Chorley, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Water Witch staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?