We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Prince George

$$ - $$$, British,
151 St. Albans Road, Watford WD24 5BB, England
+44 1923 447650
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent74%
  • Very good19%
  • Average4%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“steak” (18 reviews)
“sunday roast” (10 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
151 St. Albans Road, Watford WD24 5BB, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Went for sunday lunch with family we all had roast beef it was delishous the yorkshires were a bit flat but tasty will be returning soon

Thank gilly P
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Been to Prince George pub quite a lot now as me and my friends find it the nicest on on St Albans Road. Staff and lovely, the atmosphere is really nice and chilled and the food is great too. I’ve been in a large group...More

Thank Gladys1224
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a lovely Sunday Lunch at The Prince George, the ham hock was lovely and my partner had the beef which was very tasty, the crumble after was a great finish. Service was good but you could tell they were busy and we had...More

Thank TAW2001
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went in with my partner for a Sunday Roast. the starters were decent but then the mains took about 40 minutes to come out and when they did the meat was cold. We sent it back and then came out again with under cooked potatoes...More

Thank Andy B
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I've eaten here quite alot, although havn't visted much this summer. We used to really enjoy the George but after our last visit we won't be returning. Prices have increased quite alot, but that wasn't the main issue. Starters where nice, I ordered ribeye steak...More

1  Thank hattingh90
Reviewed September 9, 2018 via mobile

I used to come here regularly for a reasonably priced Sunday lunch . Then they stopped doing them through the summer. Now they've started doing them again the prices have simply rocketed! Before the summer Sunday lunch would cost around £15 for 2 courses Now...More

Thank Andy_jm55
brendax26, Owner at The Prince George, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2018

Dear Andy_jm55 whilst we at The Prince George welcome feedback of both the positive and negative kind we do ask that that feedback be fair in its nature and intent. We have not been serving roasts at £15 for 2 courses for well over a...More

Reviewed September 2, 2018 via mobile

We visited especially for roast dinners and they didn’t disappoint - generous portions, well cooked, all the trimmings. I had the chicken and the addition of bread sauce was just lovely, great stuffing and the sharing leeks were a nice twist. The crumble dessert was...More

Thank Rachel C
Reviewed August 24, 2018

We were at Prince George for a quick lunch and the experience was incredible. Ambience, atmosphere and high-level food. You have many choices of gorgeous and tasty food, Macaroni & Cheese croquettes come from a different World, the Burger Brunch it is a meal itself...More

Thank PABLO V
Reviewed August 19, 2018 via mobile

Have been here a few times..had late lunch today and was hoping for roast. Unfortunately roast dinner not back on the menu until 2nd September. However wasn't disappointed with the chicken burger and sausage and mash meals. The only improvement I would suggest is quicker...More

Thank DEBBIE M
Reviewed August 15, 2018

Dropped in to do some work, using the Wi-Fi, and grab some lunch. We chose the Chuck Eye steak. WOW. I have eaten a lot of steaks in various types of restaurants in and out of London and I can honestly say this was one...More

Thank Marc H
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 13 hotels in Watford
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
826 reviews
.17 miles away
Holiday Inn London - Watford Junction
453 reviews
.35 miles away
Jurys Inn London Watford
1,732 reviews
.64 miles away
Best Western White House Hotel
493 reviews
.77 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Eats and Treats
88 reviews
.27 miles away
Nana's
562 reviews
.14 miles away
Derwish Restaurant
157 reviews
.05 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Cheslyn House & Gardens
143 reviews
.92 miles away
Cassiobury Park
711 reviews
.81 miles away
Parents Paradise
63 reviews
.97 miles away
Watford Palace Theatre
100 reviews
.69 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Steve W
January 15, 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from ChazzaM | Reviewed this property |
They have BT Sports and terrestrial channels but not Sky Sports. I get the impression that they try to avoid showing football as this is not the ambience they're looking to generate but will put it on if requested.
0
Votes
stevenstonmark
June 15, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Claire A | Reviewed this property |
It's not within an ideal walking distance from The Hilton, but it's not far in a cab.
0
Votes
christed
May 12, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from IvanR1967 | Reviewed this property |
You can get it from their website princegeorgewatford . It obviously doesn't have the specials.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$12 - $26
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Waitstaff, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Parking Available, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Families with children, Business meetings, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 8:00 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 151 St. Albans Road, Watford WD24 5BB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Watford
  • Phone Number: +44 1923 447650
  • E-mail
Description
New comfortable renovated pub in North Watford just 5 minutes walk from Watford Junction Station along St Albans Road. We are family friendly and have a Beer Garden behind the pub. Our Head Chef is 5 star trained and has worked at The Grove Hotel in Watford and also in 5 star properties in London. Our food is classic pub style with a smokehouse twist.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing