We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chiltern Hundreds

$$ - $$$, British,
Penenden Heath Road | Penenden Heath, Maidstone ME14 2DG, England
+44 1622 752335
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent35%
  • Very good31%
  • Average14%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible10%
Travelers talk about
“whitebait” (12 reviews)
“mixed grill” (10 reviews)
“sunday roast” (12 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Penenden Heath Road | Penenden Heath, Maidstone ME14 2DG, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (816)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 805 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

The staff were friendly, the decor is comfortable (shabby chic) and the food was ok - standard chain pub food. My son loved the children’s menu, games and his food - he can be picky! Astonishingly though, there were no baby change facilities and I...More

Thank ickleme_funky
Huw T, Manager at Chiltern Hundreds, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thanks for the review as a father of 4 girls myself (my youngest is 6), I totally understand the frustration, I have seen plans for disabled access (via ramp) and new disabled toilets (inc babychange) for our premises. These have been submitted to the council...More

Reviewed 4 days ago

Best meal out we have had for a long time. Nice selection on menu, good service, great value for money and delicious food.

Thank Bridget R
Huw T, Manager at Chiltern Hundreds, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you Bridget for taking the time to review, really glad that we ticked the boxes in all areas last night, I hope to see you again really soon, kindest regards Huw and all the team.

Reviewed 5 days ago

pleasant restaurant with friendly helpful staff. . There is a good selection of food on offer. the restaurant seemed light and airy and we were able to chat over our meal feeling relaxed and comfortableMore

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank chrisjtreasure1
Huw T, Manager at Chiltern Hundreds, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to write the review, I am glad you enjoyed your visit the Chiltern Hundreds, and you are spot-on the menus are very expansive, especially since the launch of the new Spring Menu. I do hope to see you again...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We passed by and stopped for lunch. Today’s special on a Friday is Atlantic cod and chips for £7. Good food, great service. We enjoyed our lunch and recommend this place 👍🏻More

Thank Kristin Krantz W
Huw T, Manager at Chiltern Hundreds, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for calling in, we have some great offers through the week, ie Burger and drink for a £10 on Wednesday, my personal favourite (yes I called in on my day off yesterday to enjoy it!) is a Rump steak and glass of wine...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We come here as an extended family as it's in the middle to meet. However, it's a really easy decision to make each time because of the experience. It was for my birthday this time. A very busy Friday evening. Saying that we were shown...More

Thank Ruth F
Huw T, Manager at Chiltern Hundreds, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you Ruth, I'm really glad you had a positive visit, and also pleased that the staff are all working together to ensure that service is not compromised. Friday Evening through to Sunday evening, it is extremely busy, we have only 23 tables in total,...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My partner chose to dine here for his birthday at the weekend. At 3:30/4pm on. Saturday afternoon and with around three thee other tables in the restaurant (I’m being generous here) I did not expect the service to be as non-existent as it was. I...More

1  Thank FearnB18
Huw T, Manager at Chiltern Hundreds, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Disappointed with your experience, could you email me a contact number to discuss, our email address is 6164@greeneking.co.uk, alternatively text me your details on 07716741337 (my personal mobile number), I do value your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to probe your experience and...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have been here a few times, generally the food has been ok but slow on service. Took my family of 6 out for a birthday treat but was very disappointed. It was a Wednesday and wasn’t particularly busy, we waited 50 mins from when we...More

Thank Dawn H
Huw T, Manager at Chiltern Hundreds, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you Dawn for your feedback, I am gutted at the feedback, and looking through the last 10 reviews, there does appear to be a hit/miss feel to the service element, which is letting down the chefs and their normally excellent output. I will discuss...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent service food was lovely the place was nice and cosy will definitely will be visiting again well done 😊

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank Alison R
Huw T, Manager at Chiltern Hundreds, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review us, I am glad we met your expectations and I hope to see you again soon, kind regards Huw and the team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

First visit to this pub restaurant. Staff were very friendly. Food good quality. Nice choice. Slightly more expensive than most pub grub. My husband wanted the slow cooked pork however it wasn't available. Alternative was very nice.More

Thank Rhonda P
Huw T, Manager at Chiltern Hundreds, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We have a new menu, and we did not expect the popularity of the pork, I apologise that it was not available on this occasion. I am glad that you commented on the staff and kitchen, I always feed back mentions on Tripadvisor to them...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

2nd time coming here first wasn't great but thought we would give it a chance came back on Sunday and left before we even ordered staff not very polite waiting 20nmins before even being seated to then wait another 20 mins before even being asked...More

Review collected in partnership with Chef & Brewer
1  Thank Jaylee1985
Huw T, General Manager at Chiltern Hundreds, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for giving us a 2nd chance, but it appears that again we have not cut the mustard, please send me your contact details to 6164@greeneking.co.uk, so I can discuss your findings further. I do thank you for your feedback, and I look forward...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 17 hotels in Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
1,746 reviews
.17 miles away
Travelodge Maidstone Central
547 reviews
1.42 miles away
Premier Inn Maidstone Town Centre Hotel
779 reviews
1.55 miles away
Premier Inn Maidstone (Sandling) Hotel
460 reviews
1.65 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Spice Hut
162 reviews
.92 miles away
Nai's Garden
23 reviews
.71 miles away
Lah de Dahs Tea Room
14 reviews
.91 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Vinters Valley Nature Reserve
32 reviews
.58 miles away
The Rifle Volunteers
14 reviews
.94 miles away
The Style & Winch
11 reviews
.98 miles away
Chilton Hundreds
32 reviews
.06 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Chiltern Hundreds staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Penenden Heath Road | Penenden Heath, Maidstone ME14 2DG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Maidstone
  • Phone Number: +44 1622 752335
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing