We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Crooked Billet

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
2 Westbrook End | Newton Longville, Milton Keynes MK17 0DF, England
+44 1908 373936
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Mon - Fri 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sat 10:00 am - 12:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

262 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 262: English reviews
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I've just moved to Newton Longville and was looking forward to trying the food and visiting the pub. Absolutely first class service from a lovely lady (sorry we can't remember your name) but we were sat at T5 from about 2pm till 4pm, my Son was talking to you about PokemonGo. Anyway, food was exceptional, amazing selection for a Sunday.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Terry C
Bucks
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The bar staff and waitress were very friendly and welcoming but the food was a big disappointment. My starter of goats cheese tart was less than average, very dry pastry case filled with small pieces of goats cheese mixed with some veg. My main course was duck breast. The presentation was very good but I struggled to cut the duck... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bucksfussytraveler
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

We were disappointed in general. However he waitress was freiendly. But The food was positively average. The starter of scallops was tasteless. The champagne was served at average room temperature with no ice in the ice bucket. Will not return.

Helpful?
Thank Rita J
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The publican was having a tough time that day as the Council had closed the road on him without telling him. Still, we got a cheery welcome, some good beer/bubbles and some very good food. My partner had some delicious monkfish scampi/chunky chips (which the kids scrounged and said were the 'best ever') and I had a stuffed aubergine dish.... More 

Helpful?
Thank WileyWatfordWanderer
Dave P, Owner at The Crooked Billet, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review, we are very glad you enjoyed your meal with us, we look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Met a friend here on a Monday and was told that fish delivery didn't arrive so dishes weren't available as a result. Not sure how this relates to bacon for the Chicken Cesar salad or rabbit for the Ragu. No discount offered and no return custom likely from me.

Helpful?
Thank swadea2016
Dave P, Owner at The Crooked Billet, responded to this review

Thank you for comments, we are very sorry that you did not enjoy your time with us on Monday, from your comments there is no excuse for what you have described, if you could please email crookedbilletmk@gmail.com with your contact number so we can discuss this with you further? Regards David & Alan More 

Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We ate here late afternoon so we chose from the bar menu. The food was good and the portions were OK. With a couple of courses and a couple of rounds of drinks it worked out just over £25 per head without a service charge.

Helpful?
Thank fidos2015
Dave P, Owner at The Crooked Billet, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, glad you enjoyed your afternoon meal with us, we hope to see you again soon. Regards David & Alan More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We came here as a group for a family birthday. We gave a pre-order. The food was pricey and distinctly average. They brought 2 dishes at a time; apparently the kitchen couldn't cope with such a big group notwithstanding a pre-order. The waitress was exceptionally rude too.

Helpful?
Thank RebeccaLuce
Dave P, Owner at The Crooked Billet, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, this seems to be a completely different view to the gentleman who paid the bill who I had a good conversation with, yes there was a pre order and yes the meals were brought out a few at a time, we try to ensure all meals got out hot. you seem to be well travelled... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2016 via mobile

My meal a little disappointing but think due to bad choices. Everyone else's excellent and service good and friendly staff.

Helpful?
Thank Jo C
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2016 via mobile

Stopped off in this restaurant after being in the area recently, had a good meal in a nice old building. The food was well prepared and brought out quickly to the table. Staff were friendly and helpful. Even found me a paper to read. Found this place using the Michelin guide app, thanks for the recommendation Michelin I enjoyed my... More 

Helpful?
Thank 12Dave12345
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2016 via mobile

My husband, mum and I went for Sunday lunch. Although the staff were fantastic the food didn't quite match. The roast wasn't very hot and all in all for the price a little disappointing.

Helpful?
Thank Paula S

Travelers who viewed The Crooked Billet also viewed

Great Horwood, Milton Keynes
Beachampton, Milton Keynes
 
North Crawley, Milton Keynes
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to The Crooked Billet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Average prices
$10 - $30
Cuisine
British, Pub, Gluten Free, International
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
10:00 am - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 Westbrook End | Newton Longville, Milton Keynes MK17 0DF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Buckinghamshire  >  Milton Keynes
  • Phone Number: +44 1908 373936

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Crooked Billet and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Staffordshire
2 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Crooked Billet staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?