We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Crooked Billet

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
2 Westbrook End | Newton Longville, Milton Keynes MK17 0DF, England
+44 1908 373936
Website
Today
10:00 am - 12:00 am
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Mon - Fri 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sat 10:00 am - 12:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

311 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 310: English reviews
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Lunch with friends. Christmas menu. Food has to be pre-ordered. Decor rich and welcoming. Staff friendly. Salmon starters excellent. Ice cream cheesecake pudding very fine. Shame about the Main Course of trad. Turkey: the 'roast' potatoes were terrible (seemed from frozen); turkey not traditional sliced but pre-formed?; yorkshire pudding (?with a Christmas main?); no sausages or stuffing or cranberry sauce.... More 

Helpful?
Thank JEC45
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I'd heard great things about this restaurant but was slightly disappointed: the venison scotch egg starter was hard boiled and very dry, the main steak, which I asked for medium, was more on the rare side but ok. Dessert, plum cobbler was nice. Staff were really attentive and friendly, I'd definitely come back and try something else but it wasn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kim M
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My fiancé and I went to The Crooked Billet last week having heard some fantastic reviews. We were definitely not disappointed. The wine suggestions were beautiful and accompanied our delicious food perfectly. The Jacob's ladder steak starter was to die for! We were looked after by Alan who was charming and attentive. We will definitely be returning! The pub is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Naomi A
Dave P, Owner at The Crooked Billet, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit, we are very glad you enjoyed your time with us, the Jacobs ladder has been a long time favourite for everyone! We will see you very soon. Regards David & Alan More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Practically sold out of everything. Portion size was appalling. Left feeling hungry. Over priced for poor food.

Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda J
Dave P, Owner at The Crooked Billet, responded to this review

Hi Amanda, I'm sorry that you left feeling disappointed, due to us using fresh produce we do sometimes sell out of some items when we have been busy we do have to guesstimate what we will sell each day. As you would of had some verbal contact with us before you left, I'm disappointed that you didn't let one of... More 

Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had not visited for two years and now under new ownership so were not sure what to expect. We were greeted very warmly by the manager and discussed cocktails with him. He did not have my favourite "Silk Stocking" on the menu and said he would investigate. We settled on a bottle of wine and thoroughly enjoyed our dinner.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gildoran
Dave P, Owner at The Crooked Billet, responded to this review

Alan loves to show off his cocktail skills! very glad you enjoyed your time with us. The chef's always love reading great comments about their food. We hope to see you again soon. Regards David & Alan More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2016 via mobile

We visited the crooked billet on a Saturday afternoon on our way back from bicester village outlet. We were traveling back to cambridge and was looking out for a pub or Eaterie for a late lunch. Whilst driving this pub was advertised on a brown sign on a roundabout and so we took a chance and followed the sign. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank JimmyD23
Dave P, Owner at The Crooked Billet, responded to this review

We were very glad you saw the signs! Glad you enjoyed your lunch, the pudding club has been very successful so far. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Bicester, we even have a great B & B in the village for you to stay at! Regards David & Alan More 

England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2016

Went for Sunday lunch with family, we could not eat our dinners, vegetables had been steamed and steamed and were yellow and tasteless. Dinner was cold,roast potatoes hard and certainly not roasted. Cauliflower cheese was just yellow runny water. What a disappointment .... Had heard such good reviews ... Certainly will not be returning.

Helpful?
3 Thank Lollysoxs
Dave P, Owner at The Crooked Billet, responded to this review

As we have discussed this via email, we will look forward to your revisit when you can all get together again, and make sure everything is to our high standard. Regards David & Alan More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2016

Taken by daughter and son-in-law to this venue for the first time. Very attractive exterior which is always a good start. Just the right atmosphere inside, very welcoming, and good level of service. Excellent and varied menu with lots of choice. We all had the delicate and delightful onion soup. For the main course, two of us had the duck,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank RichT25
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2016 via mobile

First visit here and was pleasantly surprised. Welcoming and friendly staff. We were served drinks and quickly shown to a table. At first sight prices look expensive and I did wonder if this was yet another overpriced so called "gastro pub". However, the food quality is good and portion sizes are plentiful so good value for money. In addition it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brian H
Leighton Buzzard
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2016 via mobile

A quick "Siri" search on my phone led us to drive a few miles from Horwood House to this superb pub. The staff are attentive, genuinely friendly and very helpful. The menu itself is mouth watering tantalising and my main of cod wrapped in pancetta with crab butter and crab bearnaise (kind of a spicy fishcake ball) was absolutely delicious-... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank GazzaTrips

Travelers who viewed The Crooked Billet also viewed

Great Horwood, Milton Keynes
Beachampton, Milton Keynes
 
North Crawley, Milton Keynes
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to The Crooked Billet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$10 - $29
Cuisine
British, Pub, International, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
10:00 am - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 Westbrook End | Newton Longville, Milton Keynes MK17 0DF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Buckinghamshire  >  Milton Keynes
  • Phone Number: +44 1908 373936

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Crooked Billet and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Crooked Billet staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?