We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hatch

London Road | Old Basing, Basingstoke RG24 7JL, England
+44 1256 473077
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent34%
  • Very good27%
  • Average15%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible12%
Travelers talk about
“pudding” (21 reviews)
“roast dinner” (7 reviews)
“burgers” (12 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Grill, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
London Road | Old Basing, Basingstoke RG24 7JL, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (620)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 619 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

Went to Hatch on 17/02 for a birthday celebration. There were 13 of us in the party. Food was great and service excellent.

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank BMK15
Reviewed 4 days ago

I had the gammon (again) and it was just as yummy as the first tine. Love the sauce that it comes with. The only down side was there was no fried egg this time, it was a kinda poached egg which looked like it was...More

Thank lisadrew82
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Would like to thank the staff for making my evening special. Food all arrived at same time for 13 people and was very nice. Will definitely be back thank you againMore

Review collected in partnership with Chef & Brewer
Thank debbie d
Sarah C, General Manager at The Hatch, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Debbie d, We are so pleased that we where able to make your 50th a special evening for you and your family. We are happy to know the food and service was nice for you and all your family. We look forward to seeing...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great menu for both food & drink. Myself & the family were made to feel very welcome by the staff here & it doesn’t hurt the pocket either. Would definitely visit again.More

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank marcaI6284WS
Sarah C, General Manager at The Hatch, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi marcal6284WS, Thank you for the kind words about how welcoming our team is and that we are just what you and your family where looking for. We hope to see you all again in the near future and continue serving the great service. Many...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I pop here when I want a no fuss, quick & easy meal. The staff are nice and the food is cooked well. It’s typical pub food (some of the specials are overpriced) and the veggie options are pretty limited. But if you just fancy...More

1  Thank Bunny79
Sarah C, General Manager at The Hatch, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Bunny79 Thank you for your feedback and will pass the information down to our pricing team to see if we can look at some of the prices of our specials. We are glad we hit your expectation of a good burger & chips and...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our family booked at the hatch on the 31st jan 2018, on arrival on 2nd feb 2018 we got refused our reservation as they said they had double booked and lied about cancelled prior by no email or text message/ call had been recieved, therefore...More

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank 948ellies
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

meal was excellent....Jordan was very attentive and always there to help. the only thing that let this pub down was after leaving 2 messages on their answer machine to arrange the booking they never got back to me, rather poorMore

Thank Claire W
Sarah C, General Manager at The Hatch, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

To Claire, Thank you for the kind words regarding your visit to us and also apologize for the voicemail's you had left us leading up to this and the none return of calls. Sadly we did have an issue regarding our voicemail's and was unable...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First time eating out for Christmas Day, to save the wife washing up! I was on the fence whether it would be any good, but the Hatch far exceeded my expectations. From a warm welcome and being shown to our table, to a very friendly...More

Thank jbm232017
Sarah C, General Manager at The Hatch, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi jbm232017, We are pleased to hear that we exceeded your expectations by offering the professional service that we aim to pride ourselves on. I will pass on the great feedback to my kitchen team regarding the Roast Turkey and your perfectly cooked steak. We...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Convenient and good parking. Food is what you would expect from this kind of establishment. Strangely Yorkshire puddings were served with all the roast dinners rather than just the roast beef - would prefer this to be an option rather than just added.

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank Greenfingers11
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We love meeting up here, very convenient with plenty of parking. Food and service was very good. Easy to pre-book and no trouble to increase from the original number first thought. There is plenty on the menu but would like to see more lighter desserts...More

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank 6950Cathy
PreviousNext
12345662
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 13 hotels in Basingstoke
Crowne Plaza Basingstoke
60 reviews
1.26 miles away
Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel
806 reviews
1.46 miles away
Holiday Inn Basingstoke
396 reviews
1.76 miles away
Red Lion Hotel Basingstoke
422 reviews
1.83 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Bolton Arms
260 reviews
.79 miles away
The Crown at Old Basing
530 reviews
.58 miles away
Oliver's
297 reviews
.03 miles away
Bartons Mill
341 reviews
.79 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Basing House
82 reviews
.95 miles away
Crabtree Plantation
22 reviews
.70 miles away
Millfield Nature Reserve
7 reviews
.90 miles away
Basingstoke Common
5 reviews
.68 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Dropkicknm
January 10, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Sarah C | Property representative |
We do have some vegan options, they are served all day everyday.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Monday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: London Road | Old Basing, Basingstoke RG24 7JL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Basingstoke
  • Phone Number: +44 1256 473077
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing