We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Toby Carvery Watergate Toll

Junction 4 M61 421 Watergate Drive, Bolton BL5 1BU, England
+44 1204 650955
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent31%
  • Very good19%
  • Average14%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible22%
Travelers talk about
“yorkshire pud” (5 reviews)
“carvery meal” (9 reviews)
“your plate” (6 reviews)
Open Now
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Junction 4 M61 421 Watergate Drive, Bolton BL5 1BU, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 432 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Staff working really hard kitchen staff run off their feet trying to get food out hope all staff got time and a half for all the stress! They did in fact look quite understaffed However organisation on a day like this is key I did...More

Thank geerowl
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Really friendly service, engaged in conversation and made to feel really welcome and appreciated-love that! Got a table within 5 minutes-really well organised and efficient in the dining area. Less organised and effective with the food-had to queue for ages-waiting for fresh hot veg to...More

Thank colissa
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

The breakfast today was a shambles. I booked a table in advance which was good. But there were signs up as we arrived saying due to it being Father’s Day time at the table would be limited which I found off putting. It was busy...More

Thank Rubyspoppy
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Booked a table in advance good job I did the pub was heaving by the time we got there .Table was given that i had asked for and under a window bliss ! .Bit of a queue waiting for food but soon went down gorgeous...More

1  Thank 944debs
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Watergate Toll, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear reviewer, Thank you so much for your wonderful review it was our pleasure. We are very busy at peak times, but we always endeavour to speed up the service for our guests while still ensuring we deliver on quality. It's fab to read you...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

Visited tonight for the first time. A lovely country feel when you walk in, love the fresh flowers, they really do add to ambiance of the place. We were Greeted with a warm, friendly welcome. Served at the bar as soon as we walked in,...More

2  Thank Rayjill5266
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Seen some mixed reviews on here so thought I would try it for myself. Not the greatest of places as in the evioroment but for the price the food was good and the service was friendly especially our waitress darcie who was very helpful. I've...More

1  Thank SweetS21
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Watergate Toll, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear reviewer, Thank you kindly for taking the time to leave a review. I have mentioned your feedback regarding the environment, to our head office. Thank you for Darcie's personal mention. Best wishes, Joy

Reviewed 1 week ago

My review was 4 years ago. Since then we have stopped using this restaurant was the quality of the food and service deteriorated so my responses would not be like they were. I am also sure that the visit was before July 2017 but the...More

Thank sandgrounderBolton
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Watergate Toll, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm sorry to read you stopped visiting our restaurant. However, since your review, we have a new management team. Thank you again and should you wish to revisit you are more than welcome....More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Looks like a waste recycling site on approach. Large waste skips and rat traps envelope the building. That’s off putting enough but the service.......oh dear the service.........non existent. Little wonder it was half empty at peak time. Terrible shame!

Thank Denise Quigley G
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Watergate Toll, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Denise Quigley G, we regret to hear that you had a negative experience with us, but would appreciate the chance to turn your experience around. Please contact us at 01204 650955 so we can work with you to make this right.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We went at 9.45am for breakfast thinking fifteen minutes after opening we should get a nice big fresh breakfast. We were told by the barmaid that the food was being replenished and if we got our drinks and toast first it would all be ready...More

Thank Rabi M
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Watergate Toll, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Rabi M, it's upsetting to hear that you did not receive the top-notch service we strive to provide. It is discouraging to learn of your experience with us. Your feedback helps us improve and we would like to learn more about how we can make...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Not been for the last 12 months due to being not very good last time. The service was OK,even though staff seemed to be rushed off their feet. We had carvery's. The meats and potatoes were ok, but some of the vegetables looked dried up...More

1  Thank dereknewton1
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Watergate Toll, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Dereknewton1, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. We are disappointed to hear that you are not satisfied with your visit. We hope to be of service to you again in the future. Best wishes, Toby Carvery...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 13 hotels in Bolton
Britannia Bolton Hotel
511 reviews
1.82 miles away
The Mercury
170 reviews
2.23 miles away
Travelodge Bolton Central River Street
421 reviews
2.51 miles away
Holiday Inn Bolton Centre
757 reviews
2.80 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Antelope Indian Restaurant
124 reviews
1.29 miles away
Red Lion hungry horse
403 reviews
.80 miles away
Pine Tree Farm
173 reviews
.12 miles away
Barakat Grill Steak
27 reviews
1.45 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Ena Mill
40 reviews
2.16 miles away
Farnworth Little Theatre
5 reviews
2.24 miles away
Blackleach Country Park
11 reviews
2.33 miles away
Atherton Escape Rooms
26 reviews
1.79 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
nikkiwaldock
August 6, 2017|
Answer
Response from ian2310 | Reviewed this property |
You would be better served by writing a review of the restaurant.
0
Votes
nikkiwaldock
August 6, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from ian2310 | Reviewed this property |
You would be better served by writing a review of the restaurant.
3
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$7 - $13
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Junction 4 M61 421 Watergate Drive, Bolton BL5 1BU, England (Formerly Watergate Toll)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater Manchester  >  Bolton
  • Phone Number: +44 1204 650955
Description
Welcome to the Toby Carvery Watergate Toll. When it comes to roast dinners, we really know our stuff. Every day our chefs lay on a feast of tender, hand-carved meats with all the trimmings – including towering Yorkshire puds, golden roasties with all those lovely little crunchy bits, and plenty of freshly prepared veg, all crowned with proper gravy. So it's no wonder we're Bolton’s favourite carvery restaurant. Drop by and you'll find lots more on offer, including cooked breakfasts and tasty specials.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;