We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Hillside Inn

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Balcombe Road, Pound Hill, Crawley RH10 7SX, England
441293880911
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Mon - Sat 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

429 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 427: English reviews
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
657 reviews
444 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Booked a table, which was lucky as it was full not long after we arrived. Within milliseconds of arriving our waitress was asking if we wanted drinks, we told her we would think, a couple of minutes later back she came asking again! We ordered our mains. My partner had some roast lamb fat with a bit of meat attached!... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hoppityskip
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Booked for 7.30 was busy. Good welcome and quick with drinks. Food tasty. Could have been more menu choice. Wait or was very busy. Had to wait for refills. Dessert plate was dirty underneath as felt gritty. On the whole it was ok. Like to see it a little cheaper

Helpful?
Thank caggym11
General Manager A, Front Office Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this review

Thankyou for your mainly positive feedback. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited on a Friday evening and it was very busy so booking is recommended. The pub seemed very nice and the service was good considering it was a busy evening. We were all disappointed by the food. The menu seemed promising but for the price that we paid for our order the standard was a couple of notches below... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stephen D
General Manager A, Front Office Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this review

Thankyou for your feedback. The new menu is now bedding in,and I am sorry you felt it was not up to the expected standard on this occasion. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Was greated by if you haven't booked you can only sit up there and you have to order yourself! Shame as its not a good first impression! We did sit where we was told rather than having a choice when there was plenty of other nice tables available and we did have a meal. It was okay - bit expensive... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joycie01
General Manager A, Front Office Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this review

Thankyou for your feedback. I do feel we are able to greet and arrange a table for you in a better manner,and would like to apologise. More 

Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went here tonight with girlfriends for a catch up. The pub was busy which is a good sign for a monday night . Its quite spacious inside and seats a large number but the car park is not big enough to cater so very difficult to get a space to park. Menu is normal pub food , food was tasty... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sam H
General Manager A, Front Office Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this review

Thankyou for your mainly positive comments. More 

Kuwait
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Took my mother for lunch and we were greeted warmly. Interior of pub was beautiful. Orders came promptly. Fish cake was disappointing and chicken blt was quite tasteless. Overall quite poor value for money.

Helpful?
Thank 24mark2016
General Manager A, Front Office Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this review

Thankyou for your feedback regarding the food quality. More 

Uckfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Been here on a couple of weekends and both times been excellent. Great service and nice food. Very polite staff

Helpful?
1 Thank 500Stewf
General Manager A, Front Office Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this review

Thankyou for the positive comments. More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited the hillside inn for dinner it was as expected the service was very friendly and food acceptable. We were staying at the holiday inn nearby and felt the food better value for money .

Helpful?
Thank Ruth F
General Manager A, Front Office Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this review

Thankyou for your feedback,it is good to know hotel guests like our pub. More 

Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Ty perfect great bunch of staff food was lovely and we ate outside in the sun which was lovely ty to u all

Helpful?
Thank Kelly O
General Manager A, Front Office Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this review

Thankyou for your positive feedback. More 

Romford
Level Contributor
427 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a late lunch here whilst visiting the area. We hadn't booked but were able to get a table straight away. The menu is quite extensive with plenty of vegetarian, children and Sunday roast options. I went for the roast turkey which proved to be very nice. For dessert we had the sharing platter which was superb. I washed... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Rojo447
General Manager A, Front Office Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this review

Thankyou for your kind comments. More 

Travelers who viewed Hillside Inn also viewed

Crawley, West Sussex
 
Crawley Down, West Sussex
Crawley, West Sussex
 

Been to Hillside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi
Good for
Large groups, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Balcombe Road, Pound Hill, Crawley RH10 7SX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Sussex  >  Crawley
  • Phone Number: 441293880911
Description
The Hillside Inn in Crawley is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Hillside Inn and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hillside Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?