We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Plough on the Hill


Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2015, 2017 - 2018 Winner

Food and ambience

Local cuisine, Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings

Location and contact

The Plough on the Hill is one minute from Junction 15 on the M4. An ideal meeting place and is a refurbished Gastro Pub serving freshly cooked food. We provide free wifi and welcome customers from 10am and are open all day.
$5 - $32
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch
Bar, British, Pub
Television, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (443)
Filter reviews
443 results
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Traveler rating
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roast dinner lamb ham fish cakes pudding potatoes cheesecake pastry burger sea bass the pub specials board motorway services great sunday lunch excellent menu large portions be visiting again
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 443 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

Booked here for dinner on the basis of my partner hearing good things about 'the Plough'. Amusingly, when we arrived, we both thought we were going somewhere different! I've driven past this place so many times over the years but this was my first visit....More

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank G7709GCjons
Reviewed 6 days ago

An excellent halfway point for meeting family members. A tasty starter lunch which was just what was required. We did not have to wait long for our food which was very tasty - we had the Tiger prawns in tomato and basil sauce with lemon...More

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank Jane B
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Table booked for four people. Advised of the two hour slot, not a problem. Three of us sat down waiting for our driver to join us from the car park. A man (manager??) barked at the woman behind the bar ‘table ?? Drinks!!’ She replied...More

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank zimbaSidmouth
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had dinner here with friends and we all enjoyed our meal. The food was great and I would certainly recommend the stuffed chicken dish which I had with excellent chips. The service was good too - very friendly and efficient. My large glass of...More

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank Judi F
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Actually can’t quite put into words what has happened today. Food was incredible make no mistake and the staff were very nice. However the manageress treated us appallingly. Told us the table had another booking when we had just finished our mains which would have...More

Date of visit: March 2019
2  Thank Majestic M
OwnerPloughontheHill, Owner at The Plough on the Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. You are aware that you had the table for your full 2 hours, as per every booking on a Sunday. Your refusal to vacate your table is not what we are used to, numerous popular places to eat operate the...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A very good lunch with a variety of roasts available at a reasonable price. Plentiful helpings. Good taste. The real ale IPA was the best Arkells I’ve drunk in a long time. The raspberry pudding crumble was excellent. A pleasant serving staff as well. A...More

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank ScotinEngland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I booked a table for mother's day for 2pm, the staff took my booking with no problems, i was then called back day's later to ask if i could come at 2.30pm, this wasn't a problem. So today we arrive and we are shown to...More

Date of visit: March 2019
2  Thank bling35
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Our group of five plus a dog were attending a wedding in the West Country. We were looking for a lunch stop and did not want to go to a sterile Motorway Service Station. We found the Plough on the Hill via Trip Advisor and...More

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank derekw186
Reviewed March 17, 2019 via mobile

Went here for a birthday celebration, really nice bar staff and we were actually taken to our table by one of them. Food order was quickly taken and the food was lovely with quite large portions. Would recommend and return.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank JohnPaul78
Reviewed March 3, 2019

Visited for the first time today. The first thing we noticed was that the car park was full. Always a good sign. Went into the pub and it was packed. We had a short time to wait after our booked time for the table to...More

Date of visit: March 2019
1  Thank Holgate1953
View more reviews
Nearby HotelsSee all 25 nearby hotels
Chiseldon House
259 reviews
.59 miles away
Holiday Inn Swindon
582 reviews
1.73 miles away
Alexandra House
1,262 reviews
2.16 miles away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
808 reviews
2.59 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 495 nearby restaurants
The Bakers Arms
246 reviews
.27 miles away
The Three Trees Farm Shop and Cafe
242 reviews
.71 miles away
The Chiseldon smokehouse bar and grill
36 reviews
.73 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 125 nearby attractions
The Fox and Hounds
199 reviews
3.18 miles away
PGL Liddington
79 reviews
2.21 miles away
The Fancott nr. Toddington
12 reviews
1.20 miles away
The Carter's Rest
22 reviews
3.12 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
December 27, 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Flackadder | Reviewed this property |
I think so, yes.
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing