We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Priory

St. Oswalds Road, Gloucester GL1 2SR, England
+44 1452 523022
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent25%
  • Very good17%
  • Average14%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible29%
Travelers talk about
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
British, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
St. Oswalds Road, Gloucester GL1 2SR, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (309)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

Decent breakfast for a decent price and free top ups too...not bad at all! The atmosphere was pretty lively with a mixture of couples, groups and families..the food looked fresh and edible and the self serve section ample and inviting. I would visit again!

Thank Martyn W
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great food but the waiting time was a little long for both the hill.and the food. Service was slow but it was more than adequate for the price!

Thank Jamesi93
priorygloucester, Manager at The Priory, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback! We will use your comment to improve our service for the future! Thanks Team Priory

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited on Sat 3 Feb 18 at about 13.30. The most incredibly noisy place ever with a very unhealthy quota of semi-feral children who variously just screamed to see who could scream loudest and crawled around the floor banging their cutlery on it. The 2...More

Thank MikeT49
priorygloucester, Manager at The Priory, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We would like an opportunity to make this up to you. If you are willing, please reach out to us at 01452 523022 so we can work towards a resolution. Thanks for bringing this matter to our attention. We would like to get more details...More

Reviewed January 17, 2018

My friend and I went there for lunch. Good choices on the Early Bird Menu for £6.99 plus free salad with all main meals. Great service by Lydia. Not so keen on the annoying 'background' music, not only annoying but also too loud.

Thank grahamesir
priorygloucester, Manager at The Priory, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Grahamesir, thank you; we appreciate your feedback! thank you Team priory

Reviewed January 6, 2018 via mobile

I've eaten here many times & the food has always been really good & tasty, but today it wasn't. My daughter ordered the peri chicken burger, she was quite disappointed to find that there was only 1 very small slice of avocado (she loves avocado)....More

Thank alybob1
priorygloucester, Manager at The Priory, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2018

We really appreciate your feedback! We will tray harder on your next visit to make sure everything will be perfect for you . thank you Team priory

Reviewed January 3, 2018 via mobile

Not sure if it was a new chef but it was vile. Plate swimming in water from poached eggs, we tried to drain off what we could but hash browns, black pudding and cold beans had already been swimming, back to the eggs, i would...More

Thank Clarenewson
priorygloucester, Manager at The Priory, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2018

Hi Clarenewson, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. Thank you Team priory

Reviewed December 31, 2017 via mobile

We had troubles finding a space but we have managed. Once inside we were quickly showed a table and we went feasting on the salad bar. i had the simple grilled chicken with gravy, vegetables and spicy rice. Very nice, very tender and tasty. Nice...More

Thank Stefano915
priorygloucester, Manager at The Priory, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2018

We truly appreciate your honest feedback. thank you team priory

Reviewed December 31, 2017 via mobile

Very disappointing. The food was cold, the vegan sausages were so hard they were inedible, the water for the tea and coffee was only warm. The focus felt like it was on the provision of large volumes of food with very little regard for the...More

Thank L K
priorygloucester, Manager at The Priory, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2018

Thank you for leaving us feedback. We are disappointed to hear that your experience was not a positive one. thank you team priory

Reviewed December 28, 2017

We usually stop here on the way from Somerset to Gloucester to visit family. This is probably our fourth or fifth visit and we definitely would not return if we didn't feel it was worth the visit. Today we all ate from the lunchtime menu...More

2  Thank BerkleyBird
priorygloucester, Manager at The Priory, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2017

Thank you for such a wonderful review, I will pass your comments on to the team. We cant wait to see you again soon

Reviewed December 25, 2017 via mobile

This was our third year visiting the Harvester at St. Oswalds (the cattle market), for Christmas dinner; on Christmas Day. I’ll begin by saying that the previous two years were brilliant. Both times, the food and staff were excellent. This year - unfortunately, however was...More

Thank LeeGemma1981
priorygloucester, Manager at The Priory, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2017

We are truly sorry to hear about your experience. I will personally be contacting you shortly to discuss this further GM

PreviousNext
12345631
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 21 hotels in Gloucester
Albert Hotel
17 reviews
.32 miles away
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
670 reviews
.46 miles away
The New County Hotel
395 reviews
.55 miles away
Central Hotel
171 reviews
.58 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Lily's
239 reviews
.39 miles away
Bangkok Canteen
82 reviews
.38 miles away
The Comfy Pew
150 reviews
.38 miles away
Roots Coffee Community
38 reviews
.32 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Gloucester Cathedral
2,698 reviews
.34 miles away
Kingsholm Stadium
136 reviews
.21 miles away
Gloucester Life Museum
106 reviews
.38 miles away
St Oswald's Priory
24 reviews
.17 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Priory staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: St. Oswalds Road, Gloucester GL1 2SR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cotswolds  >  Gloucester
  • Phone Number: +44 1452 523022
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing