We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hilltop Restaurant

) #83 of 279 Restaurants in Gloucester $$ - $$$ Indian, Asian,
19 Worcester Street, Gloucester GL1 3AJ, England
+44 1452 308377
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good20%
  • Average6%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible10%
Travelers talk about
“dosas” (12 reviews)
“chicken” (11 reviews)
“dhansak” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Indian, Asian, Sri Lankan, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
19 Worcester Street, Gloucester GL1 3AJ, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Our first trip back to the Hilltop after its refurbishment, new chef and management. We weren't disappointed and really enjoyed the meal. Both the service and all of the food was fantastic. The menu was smaller than before but still had our favourite starter mosala...More

Thank britpjr
Hilltop H, Manager at Hilltop Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your feedback . We will maintain this standard . Thanks Dharan

Reviewed July 13, 2017 via mobile

The grub club visited this restaurant on a Sunday evening. We were made very welcome the staff we nice the place it's self looked clean enough ( little did I know ) . I had the popadom tray, Sri Lankan lamb chop starter, lamb kottu...More

Thank Toomber
Hilltop H, General Manager at Hilltop Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi there , Very sorry to hear you were sick and not happy after having a meal from us . I personally apologise on behalf of Hilltop Restaurant failing to meet your expectation this time . We reviewed all our orders went out that day...More

Reviewed May 28, 2017 via mobile

Good price, simple menu (I can find some Indian restaurant menu's overbearing) attentive service and wonderful food! Sparkling clean too. Shame we were passing through or this would definitely become a regular visit.

Thank Natalie P
Reviewed April 10, 2017 via mobile

Used to go here a lot but only recently gone back after its refurbishment. Menu selection is quite small but service is very good and everything I've had on the menu has been first class. Would definitely recommend and a special mention for the Sri...More

1  Thank StuColesGloucester
Reviewed March 25, 2017

This restaurant had changed hands since my last visit, but thankfully the quality of the food had not. Staff were very courteous and friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

Thank Diane C
Reviewed February 25, 2017 via mobile

First time back since refurbished. Very busy. Food very good. Waiting times a little long but not too bad. Will be going again

1  Thank Tony O O
Reviewed January 28, 2017

An early visit ...6.30 so very quiet. Very friendly and accommodating staff. Really excellent food and VERY different from your 'standard' curry house. Lovely dosa with accompaniments and a lovely spiced fish to start. The Sri Lankan and Southern Indian curries were wonderful and interestingly...More

2  Thank jonjack315970
Reviewed January 17, 2017 via mobile

Newly refurbished with a varied selection of dishes. Staff friendly and helpful. Within easy reach of city centre and reachable by car bus or train.

1  Thank cssw
Reviewed January 8, 2017

Went with family now that it is under new management. Food is amazing, we are quite experienced with this style of food and this is genuine, authentic and tasty. All food tasted freshly cooked as opposed to most indian restaurants. Will definitely come back.

2  Thank Arun S
Reviewed December 29, 2016

Me and my family thought we would pop in to Hilltop and give the food a try after the stunning reviews on here and we had a great seat at the front it was a great view and our food was delicious everything overall was...More

5  Thank HannahNair
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Sebz
419 reviews
.05 miles away
Lily's
210 reviews
.18 miles away
Tarbosh
34 reviews
.16 miles away
THE BLUE THAI KITCHEN
178 reviews
.11 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Gloucester Cathedral
2,499 reviews
.18 miles away
The New Gloucester Antiques Centre
12 reviews
.20 miles away
Gloucestershire Archives
9 reviews
.14 miles away
The Cider Tree at The Coach and Horses
10 reviews
.13 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Hilltop Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$13 - $39
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Accepts Discover, Delivery, Highchairs Available
Good for
Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:01 pm - 2:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Monday
12:01 pm - 2:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Tuesday
12:01 pm - 2:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Wednesday
12:01 pm - 2:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Thursday
12:01 pm - 2:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Friday
12:01 pm - 2:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Saturday
12:01 pm - 2:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 19 Worcester Street, Gloucester GL1 3AJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cotswolds  >  Gloucester
  • Phone Number: +44 1452 308377
Description
At Hilltop, our Logic is simple. We aim to convey our passion for South indian and srilankan cuisine, through a quest for natural ingredients and technique without any added colour or preservatives, plus a deep-seated desire to continue learning how to evolve and blend old traditions and modern tastes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing