We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wharf House

The Wharf House Horseshoe Dr | Over, Gloucester GL2 8DB, England
+44 1452 332900
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good18%
  • Average20%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible16%
Travelers talk about
“petit fours” (4 reviews)
“carpaccio” (3 reviews)
“sorbet” (5 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
British
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The Wharf House Horseshoe Dr | Over, Gloucester GL2 8DB, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago

On a tempting Travelzoo offer we decided to try the Wharf House as we are getting to know a new area. And we are glad we did. With a very interesting history and connections to the canals, the restaraunt with rooms is both easy to...More

Thank theaparry
Reviewed April 17, 2018 via mobile

Our visit was on tuesday evening. We couldn't book a table online (apparently it was fully booked) so we phoned to make a reservation. It was only one table with two when we arrived. We ordered soup and olives/bread for starter. The tomato soup tasted...More

Thank Karolina S
Reviewed March 29, 2018

6 of us booked via Travelzoo for lunch. The greeting was good and shown to our table. That really was the end of the positves. The soup, although the waitress said was spicy was just curry spices in water. The other starters were of reasonable...More

Thank Stu1066
Reviewed March 24, 2018 via mobile

Having read a few reviews on the breakfasts at the Wharf House, I would like to give my own take on it. We live locally and came for a special “birthday” breakfast. This place oozes quality from start to finish. The welcome was warm and...More

Thank Simon G
WharfHouse, General Manager at Wharf House, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2018

Many thanks for the lovely review. It is almost a secret that we offer breakfast to non-residents!! It is always advisable to book as you kindly did, thank you. Glad you appreciated and enjoyed the quality which we ensure is shown in breakfast and not...More

Reviewed March 20, 2018

Rang this place to book a table for that evening. They had a table until I asked for the Travelzoo offer which in my view was valid. They said it needed 48 hrs notice which is on cancellation in my opinion not on booking. OK,...More

Thank Jay3025
WharfHouse, Public Relations Manager at Wharf House, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2018

It is sad to read this. The offer does very clearly state 'subject to availability'. As you clearly state it was Cheltenham Race Week I cannot believe you would find any restaurant in the area that takes any offers of any description during Cheltenham Race...More

Reviewed February 13, 2018

Splendid food, amazing flavors and textures. Horrible service. Our waitress kept forgetting things, served things with long delays, cutlery and glassware were dirty. The girl did not know how to serve wine or food. The restaurant has a diner set up, not cozy or quiet....More

1  Thank Iris H
WharfHouse, Public Relations Manager at Wharf House, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2018

Very glad that you enjoyed the food so much. I am sorry if you were looking for white linen table cloths etc - we have the most lovely solid oak English furniture which we do not wish to hide This is a more modern relaxed...More

Reviewed February 11, 2018

Where do I start... was it the wait to be seated? Not really though we couldn't understand why, when the place wasn't busy, we sat in the reception area for possibly 30 mins. Was it the getting the wine order wrong, and not bringing a...More

2  Thank peanic
Reviewed October 3, 2017 via mobile

Excellent food and service. Lovely location. Easy parking. No loud music! Tables not too tightly arranged.

1  Thank Richard S
WharfHouse, Public Relations Manager at Wharf House, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2018

Many thanks for the review; we are glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again. The New Year sees our lounge bar launch with relaxed seating for a pre dinner drink or just a coffee and catch up with friends

Reviewed September 15, 2017

Visited the restaurant at the Wharf House to celebrate our friends wedding anniversary, the staff where very friendly and attentive, particularly Ellie who looked after us, throughput our meal, she was very attentive and fun. The food was amazing with the portion sizes, just right,...More

1  Thank Dave M
Reviewed September 1, 2017

Wanted to go out for a special meal, and the Wharf House certainly didn't disappoint. On booking they inquired about any dietary requirements and when seated at the table the lovely waitress ran through the menu and how they could adapt things to cater for...More

1  Thank Michael W
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 21 hotels in Gloucester
The New County Hotel
401 reviews
1.19 miles away
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
683 reviews
1.21 miles away
Albert Hotel
17 reviews
1.22 miles away
Premier Inn Gloucester (Longford) Hotel
490 reviews
1.24 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
On Toast
139 reviews
.97 miles away
Toby Carvery Highnam
511 reviews
.25 miles away
Burger Star
13 reviews
.99 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Gloucester Life Museum
110 reviews
.99 miles away
Over Farm Market
133 reviews
.30 miles away
Gloucester Brewery
30 reviews
.97 miles away
St. Nicholas' Church
8 reviews
.98 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Wharf House staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$20 - $61
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Outdoor Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Special occasions, Scenic view
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Wharf House Horseshoe Dr | Over, Gloucester GL2 8DB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cotswolds  >  Gloucester
  • Phone Number: +44 1452 332900
  • E-mail
Description
An AA Red Rosette restaurant serving quality freshley prepared produce. We would strongly request and advise advance Reservations. signature dishes such as Venison rolled in Walnut with a sauce of red currants with a hint of Dark Chocolate.Please note that we do not have a childrens menu but welcome young diners who will not disturb our other guests and wish to experience the normal a la carte menu. Our menus are designed as three courses, with side dishes available for those who wish, but the option to choose less courses if you wish less. We also offer both an Original and Vegeterian 7 course Tasting menu. We would recomend bookings at least 48 hours in advance
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;