We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Monasterboice Inn

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2016 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

Location and contact

Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
CUISINES
Irish, Bar, European, Pub, Soups
FEATURES
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Reviews (524)
Filter reviews
515 results
Traveler rating
269
125
59
29
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
269
125
59
29
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scampi chicken maryland potatoes chowder scones onion rings ham filet many occasions worth the wait busy restaurant quality of food sunday lunch top class motorway ireland buzzer
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 515 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

If you love your steak, then this is the place for you. Well know for its mouthwatering steaks monasterboice inn is comfortable popular and pricey. This is a place to treat yourself, not for everyday dining, unless your a millionaire. They unfortunately decline taking bookings...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Marion R
Reviewed 4 days ago

What can I say? Monisterboice Inn is a 5* restaurant in my eyes ( or should I say stomach!! Lol) No matter what meal you choose it is superb. Cooked just right with the right flavours. They've added on a large function room and bedrooms...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank evelyncrilly2
Roseanne D, Owner at Monasterboice Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Evelyncrilly2, Thank you for your very positive review. We are delighted to hear you enjoy dining with us. I have to say we don’t have rooms yet, however rooms are part of our development plan, which we hope to roll out soon. In the...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely food wait a bit long but otherwise couldn't complain ,staff lovely, menu great nice place to eat well worth a visit

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank lisabrowne352
MonasterboiceInn, Owner at Monasterboice Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Lisabrowne352, Thank you for your review, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed dining with us and will look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

At Dublin airport a local hear us talking about driving into Dublin for lunch he suggested driving to the Monasterboice Inn as this was on our way to Belfast and what a find, no booking but we were greeted friendly and allocated a table ,...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank QueenslandTommy
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We tried to book a table and were told they don’t take bookings. We were given menus and told that we would have to wait a half hour to be seated. After an hour I asked how long we would be. We had to wait...More

Date of visit: January 2019
4  Thank Della B
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We've stopped here before visiting the Monastic Site, and then for a late lunch afterwards. Their seafood chowder, among other things, was probably one of the best ones I've tried so far. Excellent service, everyone was very friendly. This place appears to be very popular,...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Traveler0987654321
Roseanne D, Owner at Monasterboice Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Traveler0987654321, Thank you for your excellent review, it is great to hear that you were satisfied with our offerings, and you found our service “excellent and friendly “. We will look forward to taking care of you again soon. Thank you again.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The best steaks around! Always top class !! (my last steak there on New Year’s Day had a lot of sinew in it i was disappointed but we’ve eaten here for years and never had a problem so it was a one off hopefully) service...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank keithfoodie81
Roseanne D, Owner at Monasterboice Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Kiethfoodie81, Thank you for your very positive review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed dining with us. we will look forward to taking care of you again, next time you feel like a delicious steak.

Reviewed January 11, 2019

On arrival, we were a bit disappointed that an error had occurred in our booking and the restaurant did not have a suitable table for our family group. However, this was solved quite quickly by the affable maitre d'. We were seated in a stylishly...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Mary A
Roseanne D, Owner at Monasterboice Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2019

Dear Mary A, Thank you for your very positive review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed dining with us. We will look forward to taking care of you again soon.

Reviewed January 7, 2019 via mobile

Beautiful decor, lucky to have table booked very very busy, service very good, staff very friendly and attentive, food excellent as usual, definitely worth a visit.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank O2958QWmariec
Roseanne D, Owner at Monasterboice Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2019

Dear O2958QMariel, Thank you for your very positive review. We will look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed January 6, 2019 via mobile

New years eve called in on off chance. Place was packed. They took your order and you can have a drink while waiting you have a buzzer which Tells you food in ready. Even with the crowd's could not fault anything. Food was super, staff...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank ciaranmullarkey
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 5 nearby hotels
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
590 reviews
4.16 miles away
Westcourt Hotel
438 reviews
4.22 miles away
The d Hotel
1,540 reviews
4.44 miles away
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
550 reviews
5.55 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 133 nearby restaurants
The Valley Inn
209 reviews
2.03 miles away
No. Three Old Bar & Restaurant
86 reviews
3.58 miles away
The Cross
148 reviews
4.05 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 40 nearby attractions
Listoke Distillery & Gin School
8 reviews
1.76 miles away
Irish Military War Museum & Family Park
295 reviews
2.89 miles away
St Peter's Church
280 reviews
4.21 miles away
Celtic Adventures
33 reviews
4.32 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
209SLANEY123
February 23, 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Roseanne D | Property representative |
We do not take bookings in the bar at any time, the bar operates on a first come, first server basis. You can however book a table in the restaurant. Thank you for your enquiry.
0
Votes
Carol F
April 23, 2016|
Answer
Response from Roseanne D |
Hi, delighted to hear you are considering coming to dine with us. The dress code is casual, we welcome families and look forward to taking care of you in July. Thank you for your enquiry.
1
Vote
Wobbles917
July 29, 2015|
Answer
Response from MonasterboiceInn | Property representative |
Hi, of course you are more than welcome to dine in the bar with a pint. we would be delighted to look after you. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.
0
Votes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing