We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Monasterboice Inn

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Monasterboice, Drogheda, Ireland
353419832989
Website
Improve this listing
Today
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Fri 9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Sat 9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 223 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 103
    Excellent
  • 56
    Very good
  • 33
    Average
  • 17
    Poor
  • 14
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Food ok atmosphere could be improved

This was our first time under recommendation of friends. We arrived in the middle of Sunday lunch and loved the modern Decore. On arrival we were immediately greeted by a very friendly waitress who said they had no seats available yet but seated us at the bar and gave us menus. We didn't mind this... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed 3 days ago
Lmcma
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

223 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

This was our first time under recommendation of friends. We arrived in the middle of Sunday lunch and loved the modern Decore. On arrival we were immediately greeted by a very friendly waitress who said they had no seats available yet but seated us at the bar and gave us menus. We didn't mind this as it gave us a... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Lmcma
Dunleer, Louth, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We ate here last week and sadly it wasn't great.We sent back a sirloin steak which had an unacceptable amount of fat on it only to have it taken back to our table and told that it was as it should be!My partner refused to eat it and sent it back again and one of us didn't get to eat... More 

Helpful?
Thank ArlFK
Monasterboice I, Owner at Monasterboice Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your valued review. Having investigated the issue, and after long discussions with chef, we find that the steak you were served was perfect. By its nature sirloin steak has fat, no fat no flavour. As each beast is different, there may be more fat on some than others, which perhaps yours had. However that is not a... More 

Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Monasterboice better known as Donegans to the locals. Has been one of my favourite haunt since childhood. My Fiend and I go there for lunch every 2 weeks.. The menu is very good with a large variety of choices. From meat, Poultry, fish to vegetarian. The menu is reasonable Starters from 5.25 Euros, Main courses vary from 10.50 Euros to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Martha G
Monasterboice I, Owner at Monasterboice Inn, responded to this review

Dear Martha G, Thank you for your valued review. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoy coming to us, for so many years. Thank you for posting your review, it is very encouraging for the team. We will look forward to taking care of you again soon. More 

Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Disappointed. Order taken promptly yet it took over 30mins for mains to arrive. Very small chicken breast on my plate sauce was barely there 2 very small scoops of potatoes and 2 small pieces of broccoli on a cold plate. meal was lukewarm. My husband's chicken maryland was not up to usual standard. Declined dessert. They were steady but not... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank GOULAGON
Monasterboice I, Owner at Monasterboice Inn, responded to this review

Dear Goulagon, Thank you for your valued review. I am sorry that your experience was not a good one. I can see from your review, you are aware this is not our usual standard. I apologies, what happened should not have happened, I can assure you we will endeavour that it will not happen again. Should you decide to give... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went for dinner here in January. The sign of a good restaurant is one which is pretty much full from 5.30 onwards. There was a €25, 4 course menu and the selection was quite varied. There was no extra charge for the likes of chicken wings or steak. The food was absolutely lovely. Large portions and a nice atmosphere. Will... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Graham B
Monasterboice I, Owner at Monasterboice Inn, responded to this review

Dear Graham B, Thank you for your valued review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us, and our menu. We will look forward to taking care of you again sometime soon. More 

ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very accommodating. .. staff very nice and helpful.We both had the set menu for €25pp i Had wings for starter ... They were just how I like them DRIPPING in franks red hot sauce. ... 👌👌. The wife had garlic mushrooms they were lovely. We both had steak cooked perfectly my wife got sauté potatoes I got graten potatoes and... More 

Helpful?
Thank whelo007
Monasterboice I, Owner at Monasterboice Inn, responded to this review

Dear Whelo007, Thank you so much for your review, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us, and will "definitely be back" Your feed back is very important to us, as it helps us to get things right, and is very encouraging for the whole team, when we do, as in your case "brilliant". We will look... More 

Spilsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2015

Have been going to this pub/restaurant for 25 years when working in Iteland & I can honestly say having travelled most of Europe in that time I have never had such a perfectly cooked steak any where else & no where even comes close! Went in here on 28th December 2015 & thought it would be quiet as it was... More 

Helpful?
Thank DJB1957
Monasterboice I, Owner at Monasterboice Inn, responded to this review

Dear DJB1957, "Simply the best" can't say better than that. Thank you for your custom and for taking the time to post your review. It is so encouraging for the team to hear we got it right for you. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

N Ireland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2015

Situated less than 1km from the M1 exit when travelling south, this roadside restaurant has thankfully survived the introduction of the motorway that has limited traffic passing by. However, the excellent food, service and value for money has no doubt had much to do with the continued success. The bar and restaurant is always busy when I visit but they... More 

Helpful?
Thank Eric A
Monasterboice I, Owner at Monasterboice Inn, responded to this review

Dear Eric A, Thank you for your valued review. We are delighted to hear you find we deliver "excellent food , service and value for money". Thank you for your accurate directions from the motorway, the northerners tell us they remember to exit the motorway ( when travelling north) exit 10, when they are on the Boyne cable bridge, they... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2015 via mobile

Recently had Sunday lunch for a large family gathering there. Such a lovely, friendly place. Provided a great service to everyone in the group. The food was delicious as always. Can't wait to go back again!

Helpful?
Thank Neil B
Monasterboice I, Owner at Monasterboice Inn, responded to this review

Dear Neil B, Thank you for your valued review. Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are delighted to hear you and your party enjoyed your time with us and you "can't wait to go back again" it's so encouraging for all the team. Thank you. Looking forward to taking care of you again soon. More 

County Louth, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2015 via mobile

Excellent service as usual. We are regular callers 😄 well done to all the staff. Love the new decor 🍷staff very friendly. Even catered for my 1year old that cannot have dairy or wheat and my fussy needs

Helpful?
Thank yesor
Monasterboice I, Owner at Monasterboice Inn, responded to this review

Dear Yesor, Thank you for your review. It is great to hear that our offering is to your liking, thank you for taking the time to post your review on line. We look forward to taking care of you and your family again soon. More 

Travelers who viewed Monasterboice Inn also viewed

Drogheda, County Louth
Drogheda, County Louth
 
Drogheda, County Louth
 

Been to Monasterboice Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Monasterboice, Drogheda, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Leinster  >  County Louth  >  Drogheda
  • Phone Number: 353419832989

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Irish, British

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Monday
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Thursday
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Friday
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Saturday
9:00 am - 10:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Monasterboice Inn and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Monasterboice Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?