We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Port House

#205 of 1,960 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
$
South City Centre
As featured in One Day in Dublin
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
64a South William St | Dublin 2, Dublin 2, Ireland
+353 1 677 0298
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Mon - Wed 11:30 am - 12:00 am
Thu - Sat 11:30 am - 2:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

575 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 544: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Really good tapas and lovely relaxed atmosphere. Staff were very attentive will definitely recommend to friends

Helpful?
Thank marcy15
PortHouse2016, Customer Services at The Port House, responded to this review

Thank you for this fantastic 5 star rating for our restaurant, we are thrilled. We will most certainly pass on your kind words to our staff and thank you for recommending us to your friends. We look forward to welcoming you all again. More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Love this place. We always get fantastic food. Atmosphere is great and the wine flows easily when youre this relaxed when eating out!! Great value for quality food and staff are fantastic at judging when to appear and when to stay back.

Helpful?
Thank Grainne B
PortHouse2016, Customer Services at The Port House, responded to this review

Thank you for this fantastic 5 star rating for our tapas bar. We are thrilled you were so impressed with our establishment and indeed our waiting staff. We would be delighted to see you again soon, thank you. More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

There are better tapas bars in Dublin. I ordered the Spanish omelette and the chicken paella. The omelette was served lukewarm, the paella had the consistency of risotto, it was pretty atrocious. The only saving grace was the churros with chocolate sauce. I will definitely not visit this establishment again!

Helpful?
Thank H K
PortHouse2016, Customer Services at The Port House, responded to this review

We are hugely disappointed you didn't enjoy your evening with us. We do hope that you may change your mind and give us another chance to prove our authenticity to you. More 

Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Pricy, considering you only get tapas. But the food is good, I like the atmosphere. We were there around 6 30 on a Friday and didn't have to que. Good wine and the dessert is awesome!

Helpful?
Thank Irina M
PortHouse2016, Customer Service at The Port House, responded to this review

Thank you for posting this review of our tapas bar. We are very pleased you enjoyed your dining experience with us and look forward to welcoming you again. More 

County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Have been here twice on two different occasions both with friends. Atmosphere is lovely as are the surroundings. Loads of choice on the food and drinks menus, something for everyone. Ordered three dishes each, ordered a chicken one which essentially consisted of three bite sized pieces on a stick with a lemon wedge beside it ... for over €5. Quite... More 

Helpful?
Thank eaoneill
PortHouse2016, Customer Services at The Port House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post this review of our restaurant. We are delighted you agree that we have something for everyone on our food and drinks menu. However, we are disappointed that you didn't enjoy our tapas portions and prices. We will address this and discuss further with our Management. We hope this won't deter you from... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Delicious tapas in a warm cosy and romantic setting. Great service. Sometimes left waiting for a table a bit long but it's worth it!

Helpful?
Thank names85
PortHouse2016, Customer Services at The Port House, responded to this review

Thanks for posting this fantastic review of our tapas bar and indeed for a 4 star rating, we are honored. We are thrilled you thoroughly enjoyed your dining experience with us and look forward to welcoming you again. More 

Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went here with my sister while on a weekend trip to Dublin from Galway. Was my second time to eat here and to say I was not disappointed would be an understatement! The food is just amazing, rich and full of flavour, highly recommend The chorizo in Rioja. We shared a pitcher of sangria which was really tasty and easy... More 

Helpful?
Thank 05Nicola05
PortHouse2016, Customer Services at The Port House, responded to this review

Thank you for this fantastic 5 star rating of our tapas bar. We are delighted you chose to dine with us during your trip to Dublin. It is our pleasure that you thoroughly enjoyed our extensive tapas menu. We are especially pleased that our staff recognized that you had to wait a little longer than expected for your desert and... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This place used to be great. Stopped by with my husband for a bite to eat and we were disappointed to see how it had gone downhill. Menu had changed with poorer selections. Service was poor. Our waitress was really nice but not enough staff on duty so found ourselves waiting. Food itself was terrible, only one dish was nice,... More 

Helpful?
Thank MariaD1975
PortHouse2016, Customer Services at The Port House, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our restaurant. We deeply regret that your dining experience with us didn't match your expectations and previous dining with us. I can assure you we have addressed each and every issue with our Management and Staff and are working very hard to build up our standards again. We would be ever so grateful if you would... More 

Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Eat here in June 2016. Lovely tapas, great choice and friendly and professional staff. Location lovely and authentic and good vibe. Would definitely recommend. Love the idea of selecting some tapas options from the menu and then you can have a second round if you still feeling peckish without feeling greedy. Lovely if you don't want a heavy meal. Wine... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ann marie b B
PortHouse2016, Customer Services at The Port House, responded to this review

Thank you Annmarie rewarding our tapas bar with 5 stars. We are very grateful. We thoroughly delighted your dining experience with us was a very positive and delightful one. We look forward to seeing you again soon when you can sample some more of delicious tapas and wine menu! More 

Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2016

Fantastic venue and it has a lovely outdoor section for when the sunshines. We haven't yet eaten here but the food does look lovely. We will be looking forward to our next visit.

Helpful?
Thank Alice M
PortHouse2016, Customer Services at The Port House, responded to this review

Thank you for this 5 star rating of our tapas bar. We are delighted you enjoyed sitting outside enjoying the sunshine. Please do come dine with us some time and let us transport you to Spain in our wonderful tapas bar with our extensive food menu and equally extensive wine and port menu. Thanks again! More 

Travelers who viewed The Port House also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Port House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Average prices
$3 - $11
Cuisine
Mediterranean, European, Spanish, Wine Bar
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar
Good for
Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Monday
11:30 am - 12:00 am
Tuesday
11:30 am - 12:00 am
Wednesday
11:30 am - 12:00 am
Thursday
11:30 am - 2:00 am
Friday
11:30 am - 2:00 am
Saturday
11:30 am - 2:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 64a South William St | Dublin 2, Dublin 2, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Leinster  >  County Dublin  >  Dublin>  > South City Centre
  • Neighborhood: South City Centre
  • Phone Number: +353 1 677 0298
Description
Located at 64A South William Street this beautiful and solely candle lit wine cavern has been stripped back to its original features. As a traditional Spanish tapas bar it boasts a fantastic selection of authentic tapas.
The Port House wine menu is varied and full of interesting wines, ports and sherries at a very reasonable price, carefully selected from Spanish and Portuguese regions.
It is the ideal place for one to relax, enjoy some tapas with a glass of wine and soak up the ambiance that makes this spot a must try.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Port House staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?