We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chameleon Restaurant

1 Lower Fownes Street, Temple Bar | Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Ireland
+353 1 671 0362
Website
Save
Certificate of Excellence
All photos (99)
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent67%
  • Very good22%
  • Average7%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“rijsttafel” (67 reviews)
“tapas” (56 reviews)
“steamed buns” (7 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Asian, Indonesian, Seafood, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1 Lower Fownes Street, Temple Bar | Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Ireland
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (705)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 200 of 631 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2015

Don't visit Temple Bar without trying this restaurant. Wonderful authentic food prepared and presented with great panache. The place has a great ambiance also. We were a party of 6 on a Wednesday night and enjoyed the newly-refurbished ground floor.

1  Thank Sean244
Reviewed September 26, 2015 via mobile

Just had a fantastic meal here with 12 ladies. Service was excellent. A lot to choose from on the menu but our waitress suggested a few ideas. Every dish we had was so tasty from the veggie options to the meat and seafood options. Toilets...More

Thank 16,111,912
Carol W, Owner at Chameleon Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2015

Thank you very much, your review really made our day brighter, yes, I wish I had a magic wand to make the toilets more spacious, but with a 200 year old building we have challenges with the structure. Hope to see you again Carol

Reviewed September 23, 2015

It's known as being a trendy restaurant in Dublin but for a restaurant with such a good reputation we were disappointed. We went to this restaurant for my sisters hen do. Our first impressions were good. The décor was nice and we were shown to...More

3  Thank aglanceatfrance
Carol W, Owner at Chameleon Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2015

Just a couple of misleading comments in your review. In relation to overcharging, our Pre-theatre/early bird menu is €20 excluding dessert and €24.50 including dessert, which is great value. While I was on the phone to you I said it was €24 and I apologise...More

Reviewed September 18, 2015

Found this restaurant by chance, and it was fully booked on a Sunday night. However they found us a table, although with a time limit, which we fully understood. The atmosphere was just right, and the young lady who served us was the perfect example...More

Thank Max F
Carol W, Owner at Chameleon Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are really glad you found us and hope you return. We would love to keep in touch if you wanted to sign up to our newsletter on our website. Cheers Carol

Reviewed September 16, 2015

We knew this place was small so we booked online a few weeks earlier. It did not disappoint. We were showed to our table right away, our server was friendly and helpful. Food came quickly and it looked as good as it tasted. It’s not...More

1  Thank PipinBrazil
Carol W, Owner at Chameleon Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2015

Many thanks and delighted you enjoyed the experience. We are blessed with a great team and they really try hard on service and well as good foodl Cheers Carol

Reviewed September 15, 2015

The food and service was poor considering the price of the food. My wife and I got 2 separate set menu’s which came to (€65 in total for main course tapas), that probably explains why is wasn’t full on Saturday night. The pork belly was...More

2  Thank David B
Carol W, Owner at Chameleon Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to come and visit us, if you would like to contact Kevin or myself we can discuss all the details of your meal with us as we pride ourselves on our customer service. On the contrary, we are always...More

Reviewed September 12, 2015 via mobile

Good Friendly staff Some dishes very nice Bad Set Menu's are high prices for low amounts of dishes Worked out that we spend €140 on 8 portions almost €20 a plate...this includes rice / noodles Ambience was very poor a dark room with bright spot...More

1  Thank awayfromreviews
Carol W, Owner at Chameleon Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2015

We would need to know exactly which menu you had as your review does not give me enough information, our set menus are €30 per person for 6 dishes plus rice and condiments, I don't know how you managed to calculate your price. We do...More

Reviewed September 11, 2015

It all starts with the reception and the staff are exquisite from beginning to end. They do take away but unfortunately I don't think the staff are included. It is so homely and nothing is too much trouble and when the food arrives it just...More

1  Thank rob00
Carol W, Owner at Chameleon Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2015

Thank you for your review and I will pass on you delightful comments to our team, they are a great bunch front of house as well as the kitchen team. Hope to see you in again soon. Carol

Reviewed September 9, 2015 via mobile

Visited this beautiful place on our week in Dublin, sat in the comfy snug upstairs was amazing food and service was excellent. Awesome place!

Thank Claire B
Carol W, Owner at Chameleon Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2015

Thank you very much and now that you've found us we hope to see you in again soon. Ta Carol

Reviewed September 5, 2015

I went to this place once with my partner and then again with my partner and siblings. We enjoyed both times. The service is discreet but efficient. No pressure. The dishes are very good. I recommend the place.

1  Thank Marie-Marjolaine
Carol W, Owner at Chameleon Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2015

Thank you very much, delighted to hear you enjoyed both visits, we hope to see you a third time in the Chameleon. Carol

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Klaw
563 reviews
.03 miles away
The Quays Temple Bar
1,029 reviews
.02 miles away
The Old Mill Restaurant
869 reviews
.02 miles away
The Quays Irish Restaurant
1,542 reviews
.02 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Temple Bar
11,578 reviews
.02 miles away
Ha'penny Bridge
1,706 reviews
.03 miles away
Halfpenny Bridge Market
16 reviews
.05 miles away
The Library Project
5 reviews
.03 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Chameleon Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$35
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery
Good for
Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
4:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
4:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
4:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
4:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
4:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Lower Fownes Street, Temple Bar | Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Leinster  >  County Dublin  >  Dublin>  > South City Centre
  • Neighborhood: South City Centre
  • Phone Number: +353 1 671 0362
  • E-mail
Description
Chameleon in Temple Bar is an intimate, ambient restaurant that specialises in Indonesian rice-table (set menus) as well as a large selection of tapas dishes with the flavours of South East Asia, from Javanese short rib to our super tasty steamed bao to free range chicken satay to our delicious desserts, all made in-house! Since opening in 1994, its owners, husband and wife team, Carol & Kevin have made a point in using as much locally sourced Irish produce as possible, including only using free range Irish chicken and locally caught, seasonal Irish fish.Chameleon is ideal for a romantic get together or indeed, for your birthday party or Christmas party, as they can cater for groups of up to 40 in our private dining rooms. 100 Best Restaurants in Ireland 2013 - 2017
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing