We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Merchant's Arch Bar & Restaurant

#100 of 1,960 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
48/49 Wellington Quay, Temple Bar | Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland
+353 1 607 4010
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

835 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 594: English reviews
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Celtic music simply urges you to visit this place. The place is unique and I could sense nice Irish spirit there

Helpful?
Thank Emilija D
Denmark, Maine
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We wandered in because the music was so lively, we couldn't resist. The atmosphere was great. We ordered some whiskey drinks and settled in. The band was a trio of guys, with the lead singer/guitar player looking like Robert Downey Jr. There was a banjo player and an accordian guy. They jammed the best I've seen mixing it up with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lucodo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went to the Merchant's Arch for breakfast on Sunday the 3rd of July. A group of us all ordered the Full Irish Breakfast and were disappointed to varying degrees. First of all, the breakfasts came without baked beans although these were brought out 10 min later after we complained. Several of the breakfasts were also served with small, shrivelled and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ben D
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First place we went into on our first trip to Dublin. Husband and I ordered some food (Beef & Guinness Casserole // Irish Stew) which was very good. The older bartender who served was amazing and told us so many great little historical details about the area, as well as some current events. He was a really sweet and a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
PR-Team101, Public Relations Manager at The Merchant's Arch Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi there, Will will pass on regards to Frank the bar tender in question. Call back and see us again real soon. More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Awesome place to find a traditional Irish breakfast and friendly service. Highly recommended and in a convenient location.

Helpful?
Thank KevinMc1523
Eltham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We returned here with our friend some of which had not been before and like us the fell under its charms , the music is good and the food is good . However the Temple Bar area is flexible on its pricing after 10am the prices go up so be aware .

Helpful?
Thank Teresa B
PR-Team101, Public Relations Manager at The Merchant's Arch Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi and thank you for your review. We can tell you that our prices stay the same all day and night 7 days! See you again soon! More 

Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was the first place we visited in Temple Bar area and was extremely disappointed. The service was horrible, the food mediocre at best. They do have live music every night, which was nice but compared to other places in the area I wouldn't necessary recommend it. There is a cool spiral stair case in the back of the bar,... More 

Helpful?
Thank cdkeats
PR-Team101, Public Relations Manager at The Merchant's Arch Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi we did send you a message to ask more about this. As we had no response we find this review highly suspicious. More 

Level Contributor
121 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited the merchant arch while in Dublin. Fantastic pub with a great atmosphere. Good bands on all the time and a great selection of drinks. Well worth the visit.

Helpful?
Thank Wayneleedsfan1
PR-Team101, Public Relations Manager at The Merchant's Arch Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi there and thank you for reviewing us today! We will tell our staff and musicians about your nice comments! We would love to see you back with us again soon. More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stopped off at the Merchant Arch on our way from the bus station to temple bar, great atmosphere and good live music even at lunch time on a Fri. The Irish stew was shocking, completely tasteless, watery and greasy with lamb very undercooked. The main selling point to this place, apart from the live music was the barman, an auld... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fishersonhol
PR-Team101, Public Relations Manager at The Merchant's Arch Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi there and thank you for your review. Firstly let me apologise about your meal We had no other complaints about our delicious Irish stew that week and we can tell you we do sell a lot of it! If you had of informed one of our staff we would of welcomed a replacement meal for you. We do hope... More 

Maryport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in Dublin with 6 friends! This bar had by far the best entertainment around, brilliant atmosphere, it's a must on anyone's list! The food is well priced and value for money

Helpful?
Thank Mike E
PR-Team101, Public Relations Manager at The Merchant's Arch Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi there and thank you for your review! We will tell all the staff and musicians! More 

Travelers who viewed The Merchant's Arch Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Merchant's Arch Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Average prices
$6 - $17
Cuisine
Irish, Bar, European, British, Pub, Soups, Gluten Free
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Drinks
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Romantic, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 48/49 Wellington Quay, Temple Bar | Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Leinster  >  County Dublin  >  Dublin
  • Phone Number: +353 1 607 4010
Description
A Traditional Irish Pub situated on the Quays, serving the best of Irish food. Upstairs room has beautiful decor and nice views of the Liffey and Ha Penny bridge.
Description
Bar & Restaurant - Serving Traditional IRISH food.

Bar
Opening Hours - 9am - 12.30Am - Mon /Thursday
Friday/Saturday 9am-230am
Sun 10 /1230am

Restaurant
Opening Hours - 9am-10.30Pm 7 days

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Merchant's Arch Bar & Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?