We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Hugo's

#103 of 1,941 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
$$$
South City Centre
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
6 Merrion Row, Dublin 2, Ireland
Today
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Mon - Wed 12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Thu - Fri 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sat 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

577 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 534: English reviews
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We went to Hugo's last Saturday, my second time and it didn't disappoint. We booked early evening got a table in the window, we both choose from a fixed price menu which was very reasonable, it may have been any early bird, I can't recall. Food, service, wine location all without fault. We will return.

Helpful?
Thank Mary P
kerry
Level Contributor
81 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Having passed this restaurant so many times on the way to some place else we finally walked in on a busy Friday night without a reservation. It was superb. From the friendly waiter to the presentation of the food and the reasonable prices it was a breath of fresh air in Dublin. Will go back.

Helpful?
Thank IfIdonttheywill
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had tried this restaurant a number of years ago on a business lunch but it did not stick in my mind meaning it was unremarkable. However passing it a few days ago I was struck by the change in decor and decided to go there on a Thursday evening and try the Early Bird. The place was very busy... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael M
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had seen this restaurant a few times and decided to go in for dinner one night. We didn't have a booking, but they told us to come back in 45 minutes. We returned 30 minutes later to the best seat in the house - the bay window high seat looking out onto the world! The food was absolutely sensational.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vicki L
managerofhugos, General Manager at Hugo's, responded to this review

Thanks for the wonderful review and recommendation. Delighted you came back to us after your apperitif and enjoyed the best seat in the house! We look forward to your next visit. More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Brought my girlfriend here, thought it looked cosy. And I wasn't wrong, it was indeed cosy or as my gf called it "cute". The atmosphere was lovely with a certain charm. Food was absolutely fantastic, very tasty, and the staff was knowledgeable about their wines and food, also "clubs" as we asked them where to go out that night. Overall,... More 

Helpful?
Thank anarchyst
managerofhugos, General Manager at Hugo's, responded to this review

Thanks for the charming review and recommendation. Glad you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to your return/ More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Located just off St Stephens square in the centre of Dublin, Hugo's serves very good food and has a great atmosphere. Unfortunately no aperitifs or spirits as it does not have its full beverage licence so you are restricted to wine. We had an okay night, but we did not find it welcoming. The maître'd did not even say hello,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nana O O
managerofhugos, General Manager at Hugo's, responded to this review

Thank-you for taking the time to write a review. Glad you enjoyed the food and atmosphere. We are hoping to get a full licence very soon and not just serve wine and beer. More 

Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is not too far away from the Conrad and found while walking rather than on Trip Advisor. The menu is not extensive (although the wine list is) but quality of the food is high. My wife had a chicken dish while I had a fillet steak. Both were excellent and very nice twists to the taste and presentation of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Justin H
managerofhugos, General Manager at Hugo's, responded to this review

Delighted you found us on your travels and enjoyed your first visit to Hugo's. Hope to see you both soon. More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hugo's, a great City centre spot to meet friends. Small, intimate and friendly atomsphere. Nice interesting selections on Menu. Famous House Specials.

Helpful?
Thank petervsheehan
managerofhugos, General Manager at Hugo's, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the great review. We look forward to seeing you soon. More 

Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
451 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a great evening at Hugo's. Great service and wonderful food. We were disappointed that they don't have a full bar so no cocktails but everything else made up for that. My Caesar salad was wonderful as was my wife's soup. Her chicken was devine and my braised beef was superb. Great atmosphere. I highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Bobby44881
managerofhugos, General Manager at Hugo's, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the wonderful recommendation and review. We are hoping to get a full bar in the near future. More 

nj
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had dinner here for a group of 15. We were set up in the basement and had the entire area for ourselves. The food was wonderful, and the waiter was very attentive. The small children were allowed to order off menu, and were served pasta, which made them very happy. A wonderful experience and we would go back again.

Helpful?
Thank sta129
managerofhugos, General Manager at Hugo's, responded to this review

We are delighted yourself and family enjoyed your dining experience in Hugo's. We look forward to your next visit. More 

Travelers who viewed Hugo's also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Hugo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Average prices
$31 - $39
Cuisine
French, European, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Reservations
Good for
Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 6 Merrion Row, Dublin 2, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Leinster  >  County Dublin  >  Dublin>  > South City Centre
  • Neighborhood: South City Centre

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hugo's staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?