We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Riverside Inn - CLOSED

A77 - Glasgow to Stranrear Road, Ayr, Scotland
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent8%
  • Very good20%
  • Average25%
  • Poor35%
  • Terrible12%
Jun 30, 2013
“This place is CLOSED”
Apr 20, 2013
“Expensive”
Restaurant Hours Closed
CUISINES
European, Vegetarian Friendly
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
A77 - Glasgow to Stranrear Road, Ayr, Scotland
All Details
Reviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 24 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

CLOSED for redevopment Purchased by Simkin iNN's Notice says opening in Autumn but no signs of life.

Thank Brian150
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Very unpleasant inside needs a good refurb. Food was ok but overpriced. The service was ok not great. Staff were very pleasant.

Thank Rabmc
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Having been fans of The Riverside Inn for many years before Simpsinns took over and dine at their Hollybush Inn regularly, we were looking forward to a nice relaxing Christmas Day meal, with good food. Unfortunately this was not so. The melon was so hard...More

3  Thank dogsabuse
gill_campbell, General Manager at The Riverside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Further to your recent visit to the Riverside on Christmas Day can I firstly apologise for the disappointing experience you had especially on a special family celebration day. Feedback on the day was generally very good, not only from the Riverside but also from our...More

Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

Stopped for a break from driving. I ordered baked potato & chicken curry, the curry was bought in, not made on the premises, and not just stone cold - but chilled. I don't eat cold curry for anyone, and it certainly wasn't Coronation Chicken which...More

1  Thank DivingFrog
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Poppity ping poor show...microwave is the tools best friend in this establishment .... the only fresh substance is the tainted manure from the adjacent fields..all in all a poor dining experience as with all the ramshackled simpsinns barnsMore

1  Thank honestchaple
gill_campbell, Guest Relations Manager at The Riverside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

As a privately owned company we always welcome feedback relating to our product as we have a passion to deliver good food and service in all of our restaurants in Ayrshire. However I do feel that your derogatory comments regarding our team have no merit...More

Reviewed October 12, 2012

Whilst travelling from Ayr towards Maybole we stopped for lunch on impulse and were pleasantly surprised with the ambience, food and service so we decided to revisit for dinner. There was a comprehensive menu on offer with tow or three specials including Venison Sausage and...More

Thank matkincc
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Have dined at many other of their establishments decor at Riverside not to my taste appears quite tired and dull, service fine. Kids ordered cheesy garlic bread, no sign of any cheese, from lite bite menu mushrooms cold, beef and ale pie interesting presentation, fish...More

Thank KazzasScotland
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Visited this restaurant following its re-opening with new owners after it had closed down. We were booked for 7 pm but had to sit and wait until a table was available. We eventually sat down and ordered a bottle of wine the wrong bottle came...More

2  Thank Zanique
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Went as a foursome - food somewhere between basic pub grub and restaurant standard. Other persons food ok but not special. Mine on menu as sea bass on champ - but tiny bit of fish on plain mash - very disappointed. Surroundings rather tired and...More

1  Thank Peter B
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Visited on 18th September. Food was mediocre and "CREAMY MASH" was definately powdered potato. On asking the waitress about this she assured us this was not the case as the potatoes were "made" every morning. We always enjoyed visiting this restaurant in the past and...More

2  Thank crawfordmcneil
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: A77 - Glasgow to Stranrear Road, Ayr, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Ayrshire  >  South Ayrshire  >  Ayr
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing