We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Crannog Seafood Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
$$$$
Vegetarian, Seafood, British, Scottish
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Town Pier, Fort William PH33 6DB, Scotland
+44 1397 705589
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

1,499 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,287: English reviews
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Superbly cooked seafood in a beautiful location and lovely friendly knowledgeable staff . This restaurant is a must if going to Fort William. If possible get a table overlooking the Loch

Helpful?
Thank Phil R
Scotland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Nice fresh seafood with a good variety of specials on the board. If you are lucky to get a window seat, there are beautiful views of the loch.

Helpful?
Thank buttonfluff
Campbellville, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Spectacular setting on the dock by Loch Linnhe with beautiful views, service was quick, personal and friendly despite high volumes. A definite "do again"

Helpful?
Thank Lespaul2016
Suffolk
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

With a unique location, right on the side of Loch Linnhe, the restaurant offers stunning views of the Loch and surrounding mountains to those patrons lucky enough to get a window seat. This is a very popular place, we tried to get a reservation for the day of our arrival but had to wait until the following day for a... More 

Helpful?
Thank DavenSueSuffolk
Fort William, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Totally enjoyed our visit at lunchtime. Great value for quality food on the lunchtime menu. Service is impeccable. Will be back soon.

Helpful?
Thank Eileen M
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Apart from the dated decor and old fashioned menu, I had a relatively pleasant meal. The problems started after I got back to the bnb. I knew the oysters didn't taste fresh but the affects were more adverse than I expected. 'Projectile' is a word that could be used. I broke my golden rule of never eating fish on a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kit B
CrannogFortWilliam, Manager at Crannog Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you were not well and hope you have now recovered. Here at Crannog we take all feedback very seriously and are extremely disappointed to read your review. The quality and freshness of all our dishes is something we pride ourselves on, and work very hard to ensure each dish meets our very high standards.... More 

Crieff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We booked to go on the back of a recommendation from my son who had been earlier in the year. Our booking was for 8.30pm, we were seated at 9.00pm. Starters arrived at 9.30pm. So not off to a good start!! Our food was good, however portion size small and very expensive I felt for what you got. The overall... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank avril1804
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
82 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Advised by our B & B, we set out on a walk to try and beat the crowd which we did as we noted subsequent arrivals were turned away. Now to the food, all was very good , served in good time and perfectly prepared. I highly recommend the Oysters cold and with a great salty liquor.

Helpful?
1 Thank tombrady127
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After a long day. We were looking forward to a meal at this well known restraunt. A booking had been made for 6pm and we arivved promtly. We were welcomed at the door and were seated at a window with a fantastic views of the loch. The menu is small and biased to the local seafood catch. There is limited... More 

Helpful?
Thank Martin H
Falkirk,Scotland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having finished the Great Glen Way, lunch here was a great tonic. Good value and tasty for the two course deal!

Helpful?
Thank Dawn C

Travelers who viewed Crannog Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 
Fort William, Lochaber
Fort William, Lochaber
 
Fort William, Lochaber
Fort William, Lochaber
 

Been to Crannog Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Average prices
$24 - $66
Cuisine
Vegetarian, Seafood, British, Scottish
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Town Pier, Fort William PH33 6DB, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Scottish Highlands  >  Lochaber  >  Fort William
  • Phone Number: +44 1397 705589
Description
Stunning loch views, freshly caught local seafood and a glass of wine in a warm and cosy atmosphere - it's the perfect recipe for relaxing after you've had an enjoyable day exploring the Highlands. If you enjoy the finer things in life, you'll love Crannog.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Crannog Seafood Restaurant and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Crannog Seafood Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?