We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!

Ben Nevis Bar and Restaurant

$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
103 High Street | PH33, Fort William PH33 6DG, Scotland
+(44)01397 702295
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Sun 11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Mon - Fri 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Sat 11:00 am - 11:30 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

669 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 567: English reviews
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

I thought it was good.Food took about 30mins to arrive.Got sky there food and footy quality. Traditional menu,average prices decent food.

Thank steveoftheshire
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We only had a couple of drinks but nice atmosphere and lovely fire which was a good feature. Homely bad to while away a wet Scottish afternoon

Thank GWHP
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely log fires and adequate food and friendly staff. Central location on high street. Food was mixed and comfortable seats , armchairs though no view of the loch. Torquil

Thank Torquil M
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

They have a Lot of vegetarian food on the menu, But They have not been able to serve any of the vegetarian food that we wanted to Order. At least the feller called the kitchen and asked what They could do for vegetarians. There was one meal They wanted to do for us: Heinz baked beans with cheddar cheese.

1 Thank Marcel F
Level Contributor
189 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We found our way here one night to discover a packed bar with a great eclectic mix of people. The bar has a very authentic feel. There was a band playing and before long everyone was up dancing. The band played a great mix of music that appealed to the diversity in the place. The female lead singer was super... More 

Thank Jaboda
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We popped in here for an evening meal and were made most welcome with our two small dogs. The place has a good atmosphere and well priced food which was good

Thank DeanoDerbyshire
Montpellier, France
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We came in with a Rabbie's tour a little late on a Sunday night into Ft. William and ended up choosing poorly. Most of the other eating establishments were full with 30-45 minute waits. Had we known that the wait for our food would have been so long, we would have just waited elsewhere! The service was terrible. We waited... More 

Thank LHABtrombone
General Manager A, Manager at Ben Nevis Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review

If I'm correct about which group you were with it was a party of 20 people. There is no sign that says wait to be seated as we only have the lounge and bar open for meals not the restaurant. We generally don't do table service and I'm lead to believe your party insisted on even after it being explained... More 

Driffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited on the third of October on our first night of our holiday, great way to celebrate my birthday. Bar staff very friendly, menu very varied with traditional dishes. I chose Cullen skink and husband had haggis croquettes, then he had chicken stuffed with haggis and I had haggis,neaps and tatties. We then had crannachan parfait and chocolate torte. All... More 

Thank Kathryn B
General Manager A, Manager at Ben Nevis Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review

Although this is a fantastic review and we wish could take credit but we can't, you've review the wrong Ben Nevis! We are glad you had a fantastic birthday! We do hope you come visit soon though. More 

Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Dull and lacking atmosphere. Staff rather disinterested. Order food and drinks at the bar. The food was below average re taste and presentation and not very hot. Would not recommend

Thank maggie78-11
General Manager A, Manager at Ben Nevis Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review

I really do hope you can give us a second chance. Our staff are normally very chatty and interested in what our guests have been up to in Fort William, I can only apologise if they weren't. We have a new menu coming soon so I hope that you will come back for a taste! Thank you for your review More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I am writing this, whilst eating lunch, which took nearly 30 mins to arrive. The quality is fine but my main complaint is regards the "gent" who is working at the bar. His attitude to both other staff and customers is downright shocking. He actually shouted at a group of 4 men just because they asked for a table to... More 

Thank Kayeff69
General Manager A, Manager at Ben Nevis Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our business, Although we are please to hear you enjoyed the meal it worries us about the staff members attitude. We will be looking into this and ensuring they understand that we expect the highest customer service at all times. With regards to the wait time the only reason I can offer... More 

Travelers who viewed Ben Nevis Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Fort William, Lochaber
Fort William, Lochaber

Been to Ben Nevis Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 bubbles
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available
Good for
Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Open Hours
11:00 am - 10:30 pm
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
11:00 am - 11:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 103 High Street | PH33, Fort William PH33 6DG, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Scottish Highlands  >  Lochaber  >  Fort William
  • Phone Number: +(44)01397 702295

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Ben Nevis Bar and Restaurant and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Ben Nevis Bar and Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?