We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Waverley Tea Room

$$
British, Pub, Contemporary, Scottish
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
18 Moss Side Road, Glasgow G41 3TN, Scotland
+44 845 659 5903
Website
Today
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 10:00 am - 12:00 am
Mon - Thu 11:00 am - 12:00 am
Fri 11:00 am - 2:00 am
Sat 10:00 am - 2:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

286 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 286: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Took some family for lunch the service was very slow a few times i had to leave the table to ask for things ie more drinks, ice cream for my nephew. Was never asked if we wanted sweets nor coffee just really bad service The steak burger was very very poor and taste very cheap and my brother said the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gayle B
venue_support, Manager at The Waverley Tea Room, responded to this review

Hi there Gayle, Firstly, thank you for taking the time to review your meal, we always appreciate feedback, whatever form it comes in . We are sorry to hear that you did not have an enjoyable experience with us here at the Waverley Tea Room. It sounds as if you had issues with both the service and the food, the... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I had been looking forward to visiting the waverly tea rooms for some time due to a friends recommendation but I was extremely disappointed with my visit. The main bar area was quite busy, the live music was so loud the waiter struggled to hear our booking. We were taken downstairs to a dining are which hadn't even been prepared... More 

Helpful?
Thank Macleankml
venue_support, Manager at The Waverley Tea Room, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent meal here. We are constantly looking at ways to accommodate all our customers here at Waverley Tea Room. Our live music events are popular, but of course, not for everyone, and we always aim to create an enjoyable atmosphere for all involved. It seems you arrived at an unfortunate... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked this for birthday dinner. Menu is very limited. Who actually would want a hot dog for their dinner? Service very slow. After ordering drinks it took quite a while for waitress to take our food order. When food did arrive we did not have enough cutlery and had to wait a bit for basic condiments. Haggis balls extremely dry,... More 

Helpful?
Thank ejcunninghame
venue_support, Manager at The Waverley Tea Room, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for reviewing your recent dinner with us here at Waverley Tea Room, we always appreciate feedback. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your burgers, they are a real favourite on our new menu here, although our chefs are still trialling the best way to prepare the fresh ingredients for the dishes. We are sorry if the... More 

Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

met my daughter for lunch, we were a group or 4 adults, ordered drinks then food, sunday roast was ok and curry and burgers ok as well. the sweet menu came and after 2 attempts to order as the first options were not available we had our deserts. Main concern was there seemed a open mike type afternoon when music... More 

Helpful?
Thank kevdor52
venue_support, Manager at The Waverley Tea Room, responded to this review

Hi kevdor52, Thank you for the review of your recent meal at the Waverley Tea Room. We are glad to know that you found your waiter attentive, as that is something we pride ourselves on. The Sunday Song Club is currently a weekly event here, but we understand your concerns about music volume. Thanks to feedback like yours, we are... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

7 of us came for lunch and the waitress had to ask the boss if we could be seated.. there were 3 other customers in the place! Tables were moved together and we eventually got sat down. Everything about the service was slow, from our drink order being taken, to finally getting a food order taken and eventually getting our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Claire G
venue_support, Manager at The Waverley Tea Room, responded to this review

Hi Claire, Thank you for reviewing your meal at the Waverley Tea Room. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the look of our new menu, the veggie Thai curry is a favourite of mine as well! However, the fact it is a new menu means we are still working on staff training and product knowledge, something that we are... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We decided to give this place another try after disappointing service the first time. Unfortunately the garbage service wasn't a one off. It was a cracking day and we decided to get food outside. Every table had stacks of dirty dishes everywhere so when we sat down we had to go find a waitress to ask her to clean our... More 

Helpful?
Thank stevied1982
venue_support, Manager at The Waverley Tea Room, responded to this review

Hi there Stevie, Firstly, thank you for the review. All feedback is welcome, especially when it helps us pinpoint areas of improvement in our customer service. It sounds as if you experienced several unfortunate instances on the day which add up to a lack of communication between staff. This is something we are working hard on, especially on days like... More 

Glasgow
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2016

We booked the Sunday Roast menu through 5pm for a birthday lunch. One of us needed a gluten free menu and that was made clear in the booking. I actually called to check that it be OK However when we arrived nobody seemed to be aware of any of this. A bad start, but, to be fair the person in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank gerdunn
venue_support, Manager at The Waverley Tea Room, responded to this review

Hi there gerdunn, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at the Waverley Tea Room. We are sorry to hear about the issues you had with your booking. As we switch over to our new menu, our chefs have been working hard to provide for dietary requirements such as gluten free, and thanks to feedback such as... More 

Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2016

Met a friend for a drink on a Tuesday evening and was very impressed. The barmaid was friendly and looked like she was enjoying herself which helped create a nice atmosphere even though the pub was barely half full. We ordered some food which arrived quickly and was very good standard. I had fish and chips which was perfectly cooked.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Adele S
TeaGlasgow, Manager at The Waverley Tea Room, responded to this review

Hi Adele, I'm so glad that you enjoyed your experience with us! We're all passionate about delivering high quality service so it's always gratifying to hear that our customers are having a great time. You were served by Nicole on Tuesday evening so I'll be sure to let her know that she did a good job! We hope to see... More 

inverness
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2016

I popped in for an early evening dinner with my husband and we had a thoroughly enjoyable meal. The charming waiting staff took our order quickly and efficiently and recommended a delicious vegetarian butternut squash curry for me and a very generous burger for my husband. The atmosphere is just what you'd expect in this trendy corner of Glasgow: young... More 

Helpful?
Thank carolineInverness
venue_support, Manager at The Waverley Tea Room, responded to this review

Hi Caroline! Thanks so much for taking the time to leave such a kindly worded review! I'm so glad you enjoyed your experience and I hope we see you in again soon! Kind regards, Neil Dudgeon Deputy General Manager More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2016 via mobile

Food was good. Really nice. Staff were useless understaffed busy not very attentive, walked by myself a few times at the bar and ignored me. Whilst i stood and waited Maybe short staffed also as tables had mess on them whole journey.

Helpful?
Thank Julesyx
venue_support, Manager at The Waverley Tea Room, responded to this review

Hi Jules, I'm really sorry to hear that you didn't have a great time with us, although I'm glad you enjoyed the food! Even if we were understaffed that should never be reflected in our service and I'm sorry that you were made to wait, I'll be speaking to all of our floor staff about your experience as we should... More 

Travelers who viewed The Waverley Tea Room also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to The Waverley Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Average prices
$9 - $29
Cuisine
British, Pub, Contemporary, Scottish
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Families with children, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 12:00 am
Monday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Tuesday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Wednesday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Thursday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Friday
11:00 am - 2:00 am
Saturday
10:00 am - 2:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 18 Moss Side Road, Glasgow G41 3TN, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Glasgow
  • Phone Number: +44 845 659 5903
Description
Situated on the Southside of Glasgow, in the bustling area of Shawlands, join us for a drink, a bite to eat and service that stands out when compared to other pubs and restaurants in the area. If you work, shop or live in the Southside area, then The Waverley Tea Room is here to offer you a great venue for drinking, dining and above all relaxing. We are an excellent venue whether there are just a couple of you, or you are looking for a group booking.

With the largest open air terrace and beer garden this side of the Clyde, we are specialists when it comes to al fresco. If the Glasgow weather is a little too fresh for you, then we have our stylish restaurant situated in our glass conservatory, or the cosy interior of the traditional Tea Room, where you can sit, relax and be overwhelmed by our floor to ceiling wine gantry.

Whatever the time of day you visit, you'll find a welcome with a smile.

From all of us here at The Waverley Tea Room, we look forward to seeing you.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Waverley Tea Room staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?