We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Waverley Tea Room

$$ - $$$
British, Pub, Contemporary
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
18 Moss Side Road, Glasgow G41 3TN, Scotland
+44 845 659 5903
Website
Today
10:00 am - 2:00 am
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 10:00 am - 12:00 am
Mon - Thu 11:00 am - 12:00 am
Fri 11:00 am - 2:00 am
Sat 10:00 am - 2:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

295 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 295: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Been here a few times (submitted a review was 9 Nov 2013) but not been in recently. Went in with my daughter for a bite to eat at tea time & soft drinks. The place was very quiet (only 4 tables occupied). The menu has changed (for the worse I'm afraid). Was on the verge of leaving without ordering but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maryhillcontroller
venue_manager70, Manager at The Waverley Tea Room, responded to this review

Hi Mary, Thanks for taking the time to review us again and we are glad to hear you both enjoyed your fish suppers. We brought in our new menu over the summer and so far it has been very popular with our diners. We understand that moving away from a more traditional menu might not suit everyone, although with classics... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2016 via mobile

Have visited numerous times for drinks and always enjoy the surroundings and atmosphere, wine prices very reasonable. Visited once for food with s group of friends, food rather disappointing, mediocre pub grub and not very warm, will still return for drinks but probably not for food. Jan,Glasgow

Helpful?
Thank janice g
venue_support, Manager at The Waverley Tea Room, responded to this review

Hi Jan, Thanks for reviewing your recent dinner with us here at Waverley Tea Room, we always appreciate feedback. We are glad to hear you found the drinks prices reasonable, we always try to offer good value for money, whether that's on wine or our bespoke cocktails of the week. However, we would like to apologise if you did not... More 

Zhuhai, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2016 via mobile

Went to the tea rooms as a celebratory dinner with a group of 12. They had sat us half on low couches and half on chairs - despite the fact that at the time of booking the table we had been shown the same area but with chairs on both sides. The service was poor with the starters late and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Chuckles575
venue_support, Manager at The Waverley Tea Room, responded to this review

Hello there, Firstly, thank you for taking the time to review your meal, we always appreciate feedback, whatever form it comes in . Chuckles, we are terribly sorry to hear that you did not have an enjoyable experience with us here at the Waverley Tea Room. We aim to offer value for money while still providing quality goods such as... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2016 via mobile

Table booked for 12 friends half of which had to sit at neck height on sofas. The waiter couldn't get basic orders correct. And my best advice is do not order ANY food here. You pay a premium because it's kind of hipster but the food is worse than weather spoons grub. Big thick fried from frozen chips, tiny portions,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Rob T
venue_support, Manager at The Waverley Tea Room, responded to this review

Hello there, Firstly, thank you for taking the time to review your meal, we always appreciate feedback, whatever form it comes in . We are terribly sorry to hear that you did not have an enjoyable experience with us here at the Waverley Tea Room. We aim to offer value for money while still providing quality goods such as the... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2016

Situated in the red sandstone building, once the Tusk cinema, the Waverley Tearoom has a enclosed soft play area, allowing adults to enjoy a coffee, snack or meal while the little ones play safely.

Helpful?
Thank April0304
venue_support, Manager at The Waverley Tea Room, responded to this review

Hi there April, Thanks so much for your lovely review of the Waverley Tea Room. The soft play is very popular locally, giving kids a place to have fun and adults time to unwind! It's open until 5pm every day so please do pop back in soon, we'd love to see you. All the best, Waverley Tea Room Management. More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2016 via mobile

The Southside food scene is thriving and there's nothing we like more than taking our friends and family out to experience it too! Unfortunately, this morning one of our favourite places were full and we thought we would try the Tea Room. I was initially alarmed when we walked in and there were only two other tables in - not... More 

Helpful?
Thank SarahLouMacca
venue_support, Manager at The Waverley Tea Room, responded to this review

Hi Sarah Firstly, thank you for the review. All feedback is welcome, especially when it helps us pinpoint areas of improvement in our customer service. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience with us. We will take on board what you have highlighted and look to fix these issues. If you would like to discuss your... More 

Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2016 via mobile

Made a last minute reservation on Friday night for 6 mates and me for dinner and drinks. It was brilliant, great service from all the staff. One of our mates has various allergies so limited to what she can eat, but the guys pulled together a lactose and gluten free starter and main course for her. Really impressive. Food was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Criss D
venue_support, Manager at The Waverley Tea Room, responded to this review

Hi Criss, Thank you so much for your review of your time here! Friday night is one of our most popular times of the week, we're pleased to hear you experienced great service and enjoyed your cocktail, we're fans of the mojito too. Yummy! Also glad that your friend enjoyed their lactose and gluten free meal. Our chefs always work... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2016

Very friendly and polite welcome. Not a huge menu but enough for everyone in our group to have something they liked and very well priced. Donald, who waited on us, was delightful - attentive so that we never waited too long but discreet so that we were able to enjoy our family outing in private. We all enjoyed our dishes... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank sooz51
venue_support, Manager at The Waverley Tea Room, responded to this review

Hi there! Thanks so much for your lovely review of your time at the Waverley Tea Room. We're very happy to hear that you all enjoyed your meal. We always appreciate feedback on our menu, and are pleased to tell you we are looking at different daily specials we can offer to expand the options available. Donald is popular with... More 

Glasgow
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2016 via mobile

We visited on Thursday 18 Aug for my sister's baby shower. Buffet was great and loads of it. Staff very friendly and enthusiastic. Good function space for 40 people.

Helpful?
Thank J9FMK
venue_support, Manager at The Waverley Tea Room, responded to this review

Hi there! Thank you so much for your review of your time at the Waverley Tea Room. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed the buffet - our chefs are always coming up with new items we can include that our customers might enjoy. We'll also pass on to our team that you enjoyed their service. Customer service... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2016 via mobile

Took some family for lunch the service was very slow a few times i had to leave the table to ask for things ie more drinks, ice cream for my nephew. Was never asked if we wanted sweets nor coffee just really bad service The steak burger was very very poor and taste very cheap and my brother said the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gayle B
venue_support, Manager at The Waverley Tea Room, responded to this review

Hi there Gayle, Firstly, thank you for taking the time to review your meal, we always appreciate feedback, whatever form it comes in . We are sorry to hear that you did not have an enjoyable experience with us here at the Waverley Tea Room. It sounds as if you had issues with both the service and the food, the... More 

Travelers who viewed The Waverley Tea Room also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to The Waverley Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$9 - $27
Cuisine
British, Pub, Contemporary
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Large groups, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 12:00 am
Monday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Tuesday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Wednesday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Thursday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Friday
11:00 am - 2:00 am
Saturday
10:00 am - 2:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 18 Moss Side Road, Glasgow G41 3TN, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Glasgow
  • Phone Number: +44 845 659 5903
Description
Situated on the Southside of Glasgow, in the bustling area of Shawlands, join us for a drink, a bite to eat and service that stands out when compared to other pubs and restaurants in the area. If you work, shop or live in the Southside area, then The Waverley Tea Room is here to offer you a great venue for drinking, dining and above all relaxing. We are an excellent venue whether there are just a couple of you, or you are looking for a group booking.

With the largest open air terrace and beer garden this side of the Clyde, we are specialists when it comes to al fresco. If the Glasgow weather is a little too fresh for you, then we have our stylish restaurant situated in our glass conservatory, or the cosy interior of the traditional Tea Room, where you can sit, relax and be overwhelmed by our floor to ceiling wine gantry.

Whatever the time of day you visit, you'll find a welcome with a smile.

From all of us here at The Waverley Tea Room, we look forward to seeing you.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Waverley Tea Room staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?