We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

La Bonne Auberge

#99 of 1,846 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Theatreland 161 West Nile Street, Glasgow G1 2RL, Scotland
+44 141 352 8310
Website
Today
7:30 am - 9:00 pm
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 7:30 am - 9:00 pm
Mon - Fri 6:30 am - 9:30 pm
Sat 7:30 am - 10:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

664 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 652: English reviews
Nairn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great choice on menu, very happy with quality and taste of food. Good choice of gluten free food. Staff very professional and attentive.

Helpful?
Thank JoanMcDonough
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Had a booking for lunch at 2pm, towards the end of the lunch time service. Given a warm welcome and immediately taken to the reserved table. Food was nicely presented and was hot.

Helpful?
Thank Richard G
LBA M, Manager at La Bonne Auberge, responded to this review

Dear Richard, thank you very much for your lovely feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your lunch with us. Maybe next time you could give our dinner menu a try as well. We will be looking forward to welcoming you again. More 

Scotland
Level Contributor
206 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Going through my vouchers I came across one offering free wine with the fixed price menu - realising it was almost out of date and that I was in Glasgow a few days later I booked a table. We arrived early on a wet miserable Friday evening. Given a warm Welcome we were shown to our table and wine arrived... More 

Helpful?
Thank Renfrewshire
LBA M, Manager at La Bonne Auberge, responded to this review

Dear Renfrewshire, thank you very much for the great feedback. I am very glad to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us and I will share your lovely comments with the rest of our team. We will be looking forward to welcoming you back. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Meeting four friends for lunch.Booked La Bonne Auberge because of its proximity to bus and train stations. Excellent food ,excellent service and excellent staff. Would highly recommend..We will be back.

Helpful?
Thank Eleanor H
LBA M, Manager at La Bonne Auberge, responded to this review

Dear Eleanor, thank you very much for the fantastic feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us so much that it encourages your recommendations. We will be looking forward to welcoming you back. More 

Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great choices. Lovely atmosphere and surroundings. Food is always well cooked and so nicely presented.

Helpful?
Thank Marploug
LBA M, Manager at La Bonne Auberge, responded to this review

Dear Marploug, thank you very much for the 5 star review. Nothing makes us more proud than hearing from satisfied customers. We will be looking forward to welcoming you back. More 

Kilmaurs
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had the special lunch menu. Set menu. No choice. All right for the price. When the bill came a service charge was added on although it said it was optional. It should be up to the customer to leave one. Felt ripped off.

Helpful?
2 Thank Eileen M
LBA M, Manager at La Bonne Auberge, responded to this review

Dear Eileen, thank you for taking the time to provide some feedback for us. We agree that the decision to leave a tip should be up to the customer and that is why our service charge is completely optional and we are more than happy to take it off the bill. Next time do not hesitate to ask. We hope... More 

Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had only been once before to this lovely restaurant and decided to go back again for lunch. My wife and I were not disappointed in any way. The service was friendly and competent. The food was quite delicious and the experience was just great. Whilst it is not the cheapest in town, I thought it prices were pretty reasonable... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alasdair G
LBA M, Manager at La Bonne Auberge, responded to this review

Dear Alasdair, thank you very much for the great review, nothing makes us more proud that hearing from a happy returning customer as consistently high standards are what we strive for. We are glad to hear that you found the prices to be reasonable, they really do reflect the fact that we only use the most quality local produce. We... More 

Kent
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a beautiful Restaurant and well worth a visit. The food was great and reasonably priced. We had a Theatre and cab inclusive with meal, so don't know about the average prices, but I would still say it is about mid range price wise. It is very clean, bright, and enough room between tables to have that "don't have... More 

Helpful?
Thank mistyheather
LBA M, Manager at La Bonne Auberge, responded to this review

Dear Misty, thank you very much for your fantastic feedback. I am glad that you found the deal we had on with the theatre a good experience. Hopefully it will not be long before we can welcome you back. More 

Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We ate breakfast here daily, and had two evening meals and afternoon tea. All our meals were outstanding!

Helpful?
Thank Wag157
LBA M, Manager at La Bonne Auberge, responded to this review

Dear Wag, thank you very much for your great review. We are happy to hear that you truly had a great experience throughout your stay. A consistently satisfying service is definitely the standard that we strive for. Hopefully we can look forward to welcoming you back. More 

glasgow
Level Contributor
119 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had the most delicious lunch at the lovely restaurant. Hadn't been here for a very long time. Came for lunch with friends and it was a superb experience. All the dishes ordered from the 2 course fixed menu (£18.00) were delicious. I had Chicken liver pate and the cod loin for main both dishes were a pleasure to eat. My... More 

Helpful?
Thank drebir
LBA M, Manager at La Bonne Auberge, responded to this review

Dear Drebir, thank you very much for the fantastic feedback. We are delighted to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your time with us. I will pass your lovely comments on to the kitchen team as well. Maybe next time you could give our dinner menu a try. We will be looking forward to welcoming you back. More 

Travelers who viewed La Bonne Auberge also viewed

 

Been to La Bonne Auberge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Average prices
$11 - $32
Cuisine
French, European, British, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Private Dining, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Television
Good for
Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
7:30 am - 9:00 pm
Monday
6:30 am - 9:30 pm
Tuesday
6:30 am - 9:30 pm
Wednesday
6:30 am - 9:30 pm
Thursday
6:30 am - 9:30 pm
Friday
6:30 am - 9:30 pm
Saturday
7:30 am - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Theatreland 161 West Nile Street, Glasgow G1 2RL, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Glasgow>  > City Centre
  • Neighborhood: City Centre
  • Phone Number: +44 141 352 8310
Description
The original La Bonne Auberge first opened its doors on Bastille Day in 1975, and it's had something to celebrate ever since. Glasgow's first French-Mediterranean brasserie and Bar, this smart restaurant with its aproned waiters and blackboard menus now has an AA Rosette to confirm what the locals have known all along. Set in the fashionable Theatreland district, this is a feast of Riviera cuisine.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of La Bonne Auberge and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Glasgow, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Sydney, Australia
over a year ago
onchan,iom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from La Bonne Auberge staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?