We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Tue, 9/27
8:00 PM

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Bar, Pub, Australian
Meals
Drinks
FEATURES
Reservations, Seating, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi

Location and contact

City Centre
0.3 miles from George Square
Improve this listing
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
280 results
Traveler rating
44
59
69
49
59
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
44
59
69
49
59
See what travelers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Allright. First of all, you can't place high taband chairs right in front of the main screen. Makes no sense. That screen was useless. Second, the sound from the TV was crap. The atmosphere was filled by people not interested in the PL match. So,...NO, this is not the place to watch football.More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 5, 2022 via mobile

Spent the last week in Glasgow, I feel like the walkabout is my new local. Staff are so friendly and helpful food was also amazing. Can’t recommend this place enough, great positioning from the bus and train. I would encourage any and all to visit....As I will surely do when ever I’m in GlasgowMore

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Stonegate G, Owner at Walkabout, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2022

Rosswu5266mv, thank you so much for the positive review! We hope to see you soon!

Reviewed July 4, 2022

Taken here on a pub crawl and I loved the music, wasn't that busy but I think Calvin Harris was playing at Hampden stadium but who cares. We were dancing to his music in walkabout. Staff were very friendly and prices were good.

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Stonegate G, Owner at Walkabout, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2022

Thanks so much for the review! We look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed June 27, 2022 via mobile

One of the best nights out in Glasgow. Food and drinks were exceptional and good value. Will definitely pop by on my next trip to Glasgow!

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Stonegate G, Owner at Walkabout, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2022

Hey! Thanks so much for your kind words. We look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed June 24, 2022

Travelled here for my birthday night out and was not disappointed. From the greeting when I walked in to the see you again soon when I left, every moment was exceptional. Tasty food, tasty cocktails and they even threw in a free bottle of fizz....Thank you so much,More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Stonegate G, Owner at Walkabout, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2022

Thanks for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your Birthday with us and hope you enjoyed your trip!

Reviewed June 12, 2022

Friendly staff and good atmosphere. Good collection of drinks and food available. Clean and tidy place.

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Stonegate G, Owner at Walkabout, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2022

Hi! Thank you for the review and kind words. We look forward to seeing you again!

Reviewed June 11, 2022 via mobile

Hands down the worst food I have ever been served! It's disgusting! I ordered a club sandwich which came with not even half of the listed ingredients and brown lettuce. After sending it back the same sandwich came back to me with some bacon and...tomatoes added. The bread was soggy and the chicken had a very strange texture! Avoid this like the plage! Really bad! Really disappointing!More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Stonegate G, Owner at Walkabout, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2022

Hi Cass, We are obviously extremely disappointed to hear about your experience with us. We certainly do not adhere to those standards and would like to extend our apologies for the service on this occasion.

Reviewed June 3, 2022

Been coming here before gigs for years. Usually decent enough. Today’s experience was anything but. Poor service. Poor quality food. Missing food from the order. Snide comment from barmaid about not ordering the Guineas first. Toilets a filthy disgrace. After 7 or 8 previous visits...this will be our last.More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Stonegate G, Owner at Walkabout, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2022

Kevyando, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We regret that you had a negative experience, and will use this as an opportunity to improve.

Reviewed May 15, 2022

Not been to Walkabout in years, but felt like a quick bar lunch as I was short on time. Ordering by app, first problem was no pints with meal, just bottles. 10 mins after ordering, boy appears to say there was no chicken tikka, so...I replaced with fish and chips. Onion rings and tepid reheated chips arrive. 20 mins later, with sides now cold, fish and more tepid reheated chips arrive. No peas, didn't say anything as I thought it was my fault for not ordering as a side. Nope, their mistake. £17 for a tepid, reheated joke. The Corona was nice. If hungry, avoid at all costs as they are truly clueless about food.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Stonegate G, Owner at Walkabout, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2022

Hi Jrm731, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one.

Reviewed May 5, 2022

As the title says the experience was pretty poor. The staff weren't particularly friendly or helpful (not sure I spotted a smile among them all night). When I arrived around 1930 I asked what time they served food till and was told the kitchen closed...at 9pm. Then when I went to order food half an hour later for some reason (the excuse was there was a problem with an oven which reading through the reviews seems to be a recurring theme) most of the menu was off apart from the small plates and sharing plates although after asking if the wraps were on I was told no (not sure why an issue with an oven could prevent wraps being put together) but they could do Parmis so I ordered the Hunters Parmi. The chicken escalope was over cooked (almost burnt) and dried out, the chips were cold and the rather sad looking dressed salad consisted of some lettuce, a sliced tomato, red onion and wasn't dressed with anything at all. I think it is fair to say I wouldn't recommend the Walkabout to anyone and I won't be returning. https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowUserReviews-g186534-d1010338-r837386072-Walkabout-Glasgow_Scotland.html#More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?32  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Stonegate G, Owner at Walkabout, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2022

Hi Goanjock, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. Here at Walkabout Glasgow, we are always looking for ways to improve; we appreciate your...More

Reviewed April 2, 2022 via mobile

Paid £11 a ticket to come see qrestlemania. The seating area was cordened off and it was very cold the whe night. The bar closed early and poor reception on the tv. Drinks were served in plastic cups and the waiters were rudeMore

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Stonegate G, Digital at Walkabout, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2022

Hi, we're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your experience with us and would like to discuss this further with you as some of the issues you have mentioned do not seem to match our venue. All seating areas were open and available for customers...More

Reviewed March 20, 2022

Been in the walkabout quite alot since the revamp and have had a fantastic service each and every time. Bar/waiting staff are second to none and are always extremely accommodating. Cant wait for my next visit!

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Stonegate G, Digital at Walkabout, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2022

HI Zander, Thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed March 4, 2022

After been told at 7.50pm the kitchen is closing at 8pm, the grill is broken and they have run out of certain things we decided to order Chicken tikka massalla as we were hungry and wanted something quick to eat. When the food came out...it had no mango chunky or nan breads which we were not told about when ordering and no explanation when the food arrived, the waiter offered us chips instead so we accepted. When we started eating the food it was only warm, we decided to carry on eating as we were hungry, my wife left the chicken as she was not sure how well cooked it was. We were very disappointed with the food we had and the service we received and will never go back to that or even any other Walkabout pub again.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Stonegate G, Digital at Walkabout, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2022

Hi Tonyrn4223ec, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. If you would like to discuss this with us further please call us on 0141...More

Reviewed February 26, 2022

We waited for 30 minutes to get a drink on our pre prepaid tab. There was clearly a lack of staff with 4 bar members on a busy night. Asked to speak to a manager but no one came to speak to us. Then got...kicked off our table with 10 minutes to drink our drinks. Really not happy with this service as we came to watch a game but only got to watch half of itMore

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Stonegate G, Digital at Walkabout, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2022

Hi Holly, We're sorry you didn't enjoy your visit with us unfortunately we are still struggling with staff shortages occasionally due to the pandemic. If you'd like to discuss this further please contact us on 0141 332 8209.

Reviewed January 16, 2022

Came here with friends for a birthday dinner with drinks. I cannot fault the young man who served us, he was friendly, helpful and a credit to the pub. However it was freezing inside, even after we asked for the heating to be put on...The ladies toilets were disgusting. We were there just after lunchtime and they were filthy. You need to order and pay via an app which is ok for some people but if your not very computer savvy this could be a nightmareMore

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Charlotte S, Owner at Walkabout, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2022

Hi, We're sorry to hear your visit was not one of our best. If you'd like to discuss this with us please call us on 0141 332 8209.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
1,347 reviews
.06 miles away
CitizenM Glasgow
6,821 reviews
.06 miles away
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow - City Ctr Theatreland, an IHG Hotel
1,318 reviews
.08 miles away
Point A Hotel Glasgow
2,359 reviews
.10 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Amalfi
863 reviews
.08 miles away
Masala Twist
573 reviews
.07 miles away
Bella Italia
805 reviews
.04 miles away
La Bonne Auberge
969 reviews
.05 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Hannon Coach
141 reviews
.10 miles away
The Glasgow Royal Concert Hall
816 reviews
.08 miles away
Buchanan Galleries
232 reviews
.14 miles away
Theatre Royal
345 reviews
.10 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Walkabout staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

WALKABOUT, Glasgow - Cowcaddens - Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Reservations - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Walkabout

Walkabout is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3
  • Atmosphere: 3