We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Bar Milano

#237 of 1,850 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
2 Mains Avenue | Giffnock, Glasgow G46 6QY, Scotland
0141 621 2288
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

433 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 433: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Popped in with my wife for a meal. Really ompressed with service and friendly staff.would recommend bar milano to everyone.

Helpful?
Thank Samuel C
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2016

We visited this restaurant for dinner and loved every minute of it. The food was amazing, the atmosphere very pleasant, staff attentive and drinks fantastic. A hidden gem!

Helpful?
Thank karen060862
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2016

Bar Milano has been my most favoured local restaurant. My wife and I have enjoyed many a great night out there, but our visit Saturday evening (day before Valentines day) was unfortunately not the best. I left it until Friday night to make the booking for Saturday. Normally this would have been far too late, and I was very surprised... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank ziggybray
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2016 via mobile

Had reservations and turned up and the place was fairly empty. We were escorted to the worst table in the place it was freezing due to a draught. It was a set menu for valentines day with very limited options of mostly pasta and only 1 desert option which was the desert of the day. We ordered mushrooms for starters... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank ajkkkkk
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2016 via mobile

Had a meal here this weekend and as always was fantastic. This restaurant is special to us and we r never disappointed with it. Great food n great staff. Top class restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Terri_D_x
Neilston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2016

I was expecting good things from Milano when I looked into it pre xmas time. I had tickets to Electric Glen and wanted somewhere local my boyfriend and I could go as a kind of valentines celebration while in the Mearns/Giffnock neck of the woods. I was expecting a vast, diverse menu with lots of choice and speciality. Unfortunately that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kaylsey
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2016 via mobile

The food in Bar Milano was mixed. Prawn cocktail not good. Garlic pizza uninspired. Chicken risotto wonderful, bruschetta very nice. That's just some of the meals we had. However if you go here make sure you book a table just inside the area you arrive into. If you are seated through the curtain to the back of this former bank... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dorothy S
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2016 via mobile

Nice building and meet and greet but down-hill thereafter. In fairness, apologies were made by management and reductions made to the final bill.

Helpful?
Thank RetiredExpat2015
Bar_Milano, Manager at Bar Milano, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your experience of Milano. Unfortunately due to the vagueness of your post I can't provide you with a detailed response. If it is possible to contact us via email and explain to us in full the situation of how things went "down-hill" i would much... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2016 via mobile

Being new to the area we decided to try a new restaurant out with family and friends who were visiting for the weekend! But unfortunately it was not as great. Firstly we waited over 35 minutes for cocktails (which we ended up not get charged for as my sister complained). They also did not have the wine we wanted! Then... More 

Helpful?
Thank eils66
Bar_Milano, Manager at Bar Milano, responded to this review

First of all thank you for taking the time to review your experience of Milano. As we did on the night, I would like to take this opportunity again to apologise that you felt you didn't enjoy yourself. As you have mentioned amendments were made to your bill and over £60 was removed. After speaking to your server on the... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2016

Very very disappointing!! Food was Awful ,Really awful. We were 8 people,pre-booked for Hogmany, Dinner & music @£75.00PP Quite pricey even by city centre standards**** but the price was not the issue here, we had been before without complaint !! The usual high quality was not available.. Cold food, Cold pasta ,cold soup Sloppy desserts WHAT HAPPENED WAS THAT WE... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank lindyloo21827
Bar_Milano, Manager at Bar Milano, responded to this review

Hello Mrs. Silver, We've tried, but we can't recall a time when you haven't complained, although you stated otherwise. Every time you visit you're looking for something for free. To be quite honest with you nobody wants to serve you anymore, and as you were told on the phone you will be refused service should you try return. Happy New... More 

Travelers who viewed Bar Milano also viewed

Hamilton, South Lanarkshire
Giffnock, East Renfrewshire
 
Giffnock, East Renfrewshire
 

Been to Bar Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Cuisine
Italian, Mediterranean
Meals
Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Delivery, Private Dining
Good for
Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 Mains Avenue | Giffnock, Glasgow G46 6QY, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Glasgow
  • Phone Number: 0141 621 2288

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bar Milano staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?