We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Forgan's St Andrews

$$ - $$$British, ,
110 Market Street, St. Andrews KY16 9PB, Scotland
+44 1334 466973
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good27%
  • Average8%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“haggis balls” (67 reviews)
“salmon” (80 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM Hours
CUISINES
British, Scottish, Grill, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
110 Market Street, St. Andrews KY16 9PB, Scotland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (2,820)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 2,705 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

From the street the entrance seems quite narrow and you walk through an "alleyway" with food produce before entering the restaurant. We loved the look and feel of the place before even sitting down to eat. The food did not disappoint. Between us we had...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Ali921
ForgansGM, General Manager at Forgan's St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear Ali921, Thank you for taking the time to review Forgan's. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food and we hope to welcome you again soon. All the best Michelle Nabal General Manager

Reviewed 3 days ago

I have been to St Andrews on a number of occasions however this is the first time I have eaten here but will certainly not be the last. It is a lovely restaurant with a great atmosphere and friendly staff. It has an excellent menu...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank braveheartscot
ForgansGM, General Manager at Forgan's St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear braveheartscot, Thank you for taking the time to review Forgan's. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the atmosphere and found the staff to be friendly. Hope to see you back again soon. Kind regards, Michelle Nabal General Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked a booth with champagne for after graduation in the evening. The food, service and quality was excellent. Been here before and cannot fault it. Scottish dancing later on

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank N8699PYpeterw
ForgansGM, General Manager at Forgan's St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear N8699PYpeterw, Thank you for taking the time to review Forgan's. I am pleased to hear the food and service was excellent and we would love to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Michelle Nabal General Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great farm to table place in downtown St. Andrew's. Vegetarian friendly and good drinks! Make a reservation as it is frequently quite busy.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank sjkyo
ForgansGM, General Manager at Forgan's St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear sjkyo, Thank you for the kind review. We are proud to use fresh, local produce. Hope to see you back again soon. Kind Regards, Michelle Nabal, General Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We came in for dinner and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The staff, particularly our waitress, Amber, was fabulous. We had good chats and timely service. We definitely will come again. The camembert starter was amazing. Thank you, Forgan's!

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Sabbatamma
ForgansGM, General Manager at Forgan's St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Sabbatamma, Thank you for your great review. I'll pass the message onto Amber. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the camembert. Hope to see you again. Kind Regards, Michelle Nabal, General Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We enjoyed our Friday evening dinner at Forgan’s. The restaurant was busy but the staff were friendly and efficient. The food was really good I plumped for the Scallops and Venison for main. Cocktails and wine wine list are fairly varied and would definitely be...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank KiwiL0uL0u
ForgansGM, General Manager at Forgan's St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear KiwiL0uL0u, Thank you for taking the time to review us. Glad to hear you enjoyed your choices. Hope to see you again and you can try some more. Kind Regards, Michelle Nabal, General Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Down a cute cobbled alley, Forgans is an atmospheric restaurant. They even have their own spring water even to bottle. Absolutely full on a friday lunchtime and I can see why. We tried the vegetarian wellington which was lovely and not soft or soggy. Delighted...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank AsianGM
ForgansGM, General Manager at Forgan's St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear AsianGM, Thanks for a lovely review. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed our mushroom wellington and mussels. Look forward to having you back when you are not the driver. Kind Regards, Michelle Nabal, General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Really lovely venue/space, attentive but not over bearing staff, many nice choices available on the menu, well priced, quick service of food. Really turned out perfect for us. Loved the warehouse type setting, quirky toilets with their old rail carriage mirrors /luggage racks, and leather...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank 358katm
ForgansGM, General Manager at Forgan's St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello 358katm, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a lovely review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed our venue and staff. I will let the team know their hard work is noticed and we hope to welcome you again soon....More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

While visiting St. Andrews, my husband and I happened upon Forgan's. Excellent decor and food was good. So good that we decided to have a second go .... very enjoyable evening!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank teacher018
ForgansGM, General Manager at Forgan's St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear teacher018, Thank you for your great review. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed our decor and food. Hope you come back for a third visit! Kind Regards, Michelle Nabal, General Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having visited Forgans several times previously, on this occasion, we were extremely disappointed with the service and the meals when served. We ordered artisan breads then a ribeye steak and pan fried chicken supreme. The artisan bread arrived <45 minutes later. The waitress returned some...More

Date of visit: November 2018
8  Thank alanwlsn
ForgansGM, General Manager at Forgan's St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dearalanwlsn, Thank you for you feedback from your recent visit to Forgan's. I’m pleased to hear you returned to our restaurant after several visits. I’m disappointed to hear the food quality was not what you expected and the service was slow. I have investigated your...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 17 hotels in St. Andrews
Kinnettles Hotel
104 reviews
.12 miles away
Greyfriars Inn
377 reviews
.14 miles away
Albany Hotel
606 reviews
.17 miles away
Vardon House
8 reviews
.17 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Keys Bar
242 reviews
.05 miles away
Vine Leaf Restaurant
640 reviews
.04 miles away
Little Italy
1,708 reviews
.04 miles away
The Tailend Restaurant and Fish Bar
1,670 reviews
.03 miles away
Nearby Attractions
St Andrews VisitScotland iCentre
56 reviews
.09 miles away
Holy Trinity Church (Town Kirk)
59 reviews
.12 miles away
Martyrs' Monument
46 reviews
.08 miles away
Hamish McHamish Statue
6 reviews
.06 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
kerryc117
July 25, 2018|
Answer
Response from Dean S | Reviewed this property |
The bothers seat 8-12 people comfortably.re menu I have always found them very accommodating just email or call them in advance and let them know your requirements and I’m sure they will oblige.
0
Votes
MJLJones
April 16, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from ForgansGM | Property representative |
Hi MJLJones, Thank you for taking interest in dining with us! Unfortunately we only allow guide dogs on the premises, however if your pooch is happy to wait, we have a lovely walkway where you can let him... More
2
Votes
Samanth Y
July 7, 2015|
Answer
Response from ForgansGM | Property representative |
Hi Samanth Y, Hampers can be ordered on the day ready for collection. Thanks, Ailsa
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$4 - $57
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Monday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 1:00 AM
Friday
11:00 AM - 2:00 AM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 2:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 110 Market Street, St. Andrews KY16 9PB, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Fife  >  St. Andrews
  • Phone Number: +44 1334 466973
  • E-mail
Description
The idea for our restaurant has been a wee while in the making but when it comes to age it's got nothing on the building we will soon be calling home.After conducting a little research turns out our building once housed a 'Cleek Factory' owned by Robert Forgan, a name known to many for making the best golf clubs money can buy/We are proud of our building's history and here's hoping a little bit of their success rubs off on us.So with Mitchell's deli next door, in homage to local butcher and proprietor Murray Mitchell we thought it only right...Forgan's opening spring 2013Opening Spring 2013Craft Beers & Ales, Restaurant, Public Bar, Private Bothy's, Ceilidh Club, Cookery classes, Wine Club, Live Music, Monthly Dining Society, Host Your Own Roast, Local Suppliers & Producers.Free wifi access is available every day of the week, ideal if you've got a working lunch or just feel like a nosey on Facebook.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing