We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Forgan's St Andrews

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2015 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings

Location and contact

About
The idea for our restaurant has been a wee while in the making but when it comes to age it's got nothing on the building we will soon be calling home.After conducting a little research turns out our building once housed a 'Cleek Factory' owned by Robert Forgan, a name known to many for making the best golf clubs money can buy/We are proud of our building's history and here's hoping a little bit of their success rubs off on us.So with Mitchell's deli next door, in homage to local butcher and proprietor Murray Mitchell we thought it only right...Forgan's opening spring 2013Opening Spring 2013Craft Beers & Ales, Restaurant, Public Bar, Private Bothy's, Ceilidh Club, Cookery classes, Wine Club,
PRICE RANGE
$4 - $58
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
CUISINES
British, Scottish, Grill
FEATURES
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Reviews (2,857)
Filter reviews
2,741 results
Traveler rating
1,576
744
240
125
56
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
1,576
744
240
125
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beef bourguignon haggis balls salmon pie burger potatoes pudding soup bread fish and chips visited forgans great atmosphere booked a table set menu lovely meal ceilidh bothy
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 2,741 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Went to Forgans in St Andrews with a friend on Monday past. The food was very nice indeed and the waiting staff were very efficient and very helpful. Special thanks to the manager tooMore

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank lindamathers2018
ForgansGM, General Manager at Forgan's St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear lindamathers2018, Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food from your visit. I will be sure to pass on your compliments to the team, thank you kindly. Hope to see you...More

Reviewed 4 days ago

Took my son her and had a lovely meal. Would not hesitate to come back. Designer interior and good food.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank krhos123
ForgansGM, General Manager at Forgan's St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear krhos123, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and had a lovely meal. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Michelle Nabal General Manager

Reviewed 5 days ago

We were visitng St Andrews for my boyfriends birthday and I had booked a table here for dinner on the recommendation of a work colleague. The decor is quite quirky which I liked, just something a bit different. We had a arrived slightly early (table...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank sweetcheeks72
ForgansGM, General Manager at Forgan's St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear sweetcheeks72, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our restaurant. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit to Forgan's and the team were able to seat you straight away for your table. I will be sure to pass...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

I've eaten here twice and have to say that that the quality of the food is poor and over-priced. You will get better value food of the same quality, or indeed better, at pretty much any pub. Save your moneyMore

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Tweedsider09
ForgansGM, General Manager at Forgan's St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Tweedsider, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience at Forgan's. I am disappointed to hear you have not found us to be value for money on your visits to our restaurant. We would like to hear further feedback...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Interesting interior,quirky and well designed. The menu is okay but so similar to just about every pub in St Andrews.Food was okay - not brilliant very gastro pub like, certainly not for foodies. Pricing okay , you can get ver similar food for less in...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank CamyTaylor72
ForgansGM, General Manager at Forgan's St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear CamyTaylor72, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Forgan's. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the quirky and well designed interior. I am disappointed to hear that you found the food to be similar to other venues in St...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited in party of 4 , ordered 4 starters came one at a time , ordered drinks wasn’t much better . Main meal was fine . Had to send drinks back couple of times, wrong mixer , too much mixer just couldn’t get it right,...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank gmac1962
ForgansGM, General Manager at Forgan's St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear gmac1962, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the food from your visit, I am disappointed to hear that the service was not what you had expected and your drinks were not made correctly....More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived and were seated in a timely manner and within 10 minutes we had ordered drinks and food. 45 minutes later our starter still had not arrived - a waitress then shortly came to inform us she had not put our food through and...More

Date of visit: February 2019
1  Thank Harriet_Burns95
ForgansGM, General Manager at Forgan's St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Harriet_Burns95, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your visit to Forgan's. We appreciate the feedback from our guests as it is essential to improve our service and their overall satisfaction. I’m pleased to hear you were sat quickly enjoyed...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Thank you so much for sending back the scarf that we left:) Very kind of you. Excellent customer service!!! We enjoyed the meal but we were in a hurry to catch the last bus so not able to taste the dessert. We will definetly return...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Leesss
ForgansGM, General Manager at Forgan's St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Leesss, Thank you for taking the time to review Forgan's. I am happy to hear that your lost scarf was returned to you and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Michelle Nabal General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a couple cocktails here last night and really liked the rustic decor. Nice staff. Good cocktails. The cherry and sage sour was magic.More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Colw1
ForgansGM, General Manager at Forgan's St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Colw1, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the nice staff and good cocktails especially the Cherry and Sage Sour. We hope to welcome you back for more cocktails soon. Kind regards, Michelle Nabal...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Found this place online. So MUCH CHARACTER! If you choose one of their rooms to dine in, you won't regret it. Our family chose the Baked Camembert, Beef Bourguignon, & Warm Sticky Toffee Pudding...Mmmmm, delish! Also, they offer some discounts this time of year as...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank LuckyTarHeel
ForgansGM, General Manager at Forgan's St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear LuckyTarHell, Thank you so much for writing a lovely review of our restaurant. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our bothy spaces and the food you tired was delicious. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Michelle Nabal General Manager

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 17 nearby hotels
Kinnettles Hotel
109 reviews
.12 miles away
Greyfriars Inn
384 reviews
.14 miles away
Albany Hotel
619 reviews
.17 miles away
Vardon House
8 reviews
.18 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 159 nearby restaurants
Vine Leaf Restaurant
644 reviews
.04 miles away
The Keys Bar
244 reviews
.05 miles away
Little Italy
1,729 reviews
.04 miles away
The Tailend Restaurant and Fish Bar
1,691 reviews
.03 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 119 nearby attractions
St Andrews VisitScotland iCentre
56 reviews
.09 miles away
Martyrs' Monument
46 reviews
.08 miles away
Hamish McHamish Statue
8 reviews
.06 miles away
Bishop Wardlaw Statue
5 reviews
.12 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
kerryc117
July 25, 2018|
Answer
Response from Dean S | Reviewed this property |
The bothers seat 8-12 people comfortably.re menu I have always found them very accommodating just email or call them in advance and let them know your requirements and I’m sure they will oblige.
0
Votes
MJLJones
April 16, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from ForgansGM | Property representative |
Hi MJLJones, Thank you for taking interest in dining with us! Unfortunately we only allow guide dogs on the premises, however if your pooch is happy to wait, we have a lovely walkway where you can let him... More
2
Votes
Samanth Y
July 7, 2015|
Answer
Response from ForgansGM | Property representative |
Hi Samanth Y, Hampers can be ordered on the day ready for collection. Thanks, Ailsa
0
Votes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing