We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Forgan's St Andrews

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more

Ratings and reviews

Travelers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$3 - $51
CUISINES
Bar, European, British, Scottish, Grill
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Reviews (3,718)
Filter reviews
3,578 results
Traveler rating
2,068
893
324
185
108
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
2,068
893
324
185
108
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beef bourguignon haggis salmon burger pie cullen skink potatoes pudding soup bread fish and chips visited forgans great atmosphere booked a table set menu lovely meal ceilidh
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed today

Visited on Sunday having only booked an hour before. Waited almost an hour for the Sunday Roast, which was served with an apology for the delay. Delay caused as there was a table with circa 38 guests being served at the same time. Not sure...why they took our booking knowing they would be stretched. Lots of staff but they were disorganised. Plates taken away when we had finished, no offer of menus for dessert or asked if we wanted coffee etc. We gave up waiting and left having just had a main course. Really wanted to ask for the 12.5% service charge to be remove but didn’t.More

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed yesterday

We recently had a couple of large groups at Forgan's for dinner and both the food and the service was exceptional. The food was out promptly and they worked with us to make sure that all our guests were happy - they all left delighted...and also enjoyed the ceilidh after dinner! Lauren, Nic and Elenor served us both evenings and they were fantastic! Thank you for helping us to create such wonderful final evenings for our German guests!More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 2 days ago

We stopped in for lunch, surprised by how busy it was for a Monday afternoon. Long wait times for food and drink unfortunately, though met with apologetic servers (but not enough staff - ignored by one young girl!) Delicious burgers (odd that a local Scottish...restaurant wouldn’t have fish and chips though?) and local beers when they arrived. We had a knowledgable and friendly waitress (coloured hair) who was always on the go but resolved our issues fast when we asked her and did everything with a smile. Charming hospitality but perhaps down more to our server. Very good food, but wait times very long for a Monday afternoon so be aware, perhaps busy due to local area?More

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 2 days ago

Our previous visit to Forgans was about 4 years ago and I concluded it by saying that we would probably not return! I should have read it before booking this time. Right at the start, a significant number of items were not available from the...menu including even fish and chips. I mean - this is a fishing port even if it is a small one. We then waited a full hour for our starters - £ 10.00 for prawn tempura which was 4 luke warm prawns in a batter which was flaky and hard. A further 35 minute wait for our main courses one of which was a ham and cheddar cheese sandwich but there was no cheese and the ham was out of a packet and the bread was soggy white sliced. We had already outstayed our 2 hour booking by this stage and although there was an attempt to make amends with free coffee and a reduced bill, What had been intended as a treat for our granddaughter and boyfriend turned out to be an embarrassing disappointment. This will definitely be our last visit.More

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

First and foremost, the staff in this establishment are excellent. Extremely friendly, hospitable, apologies, with sincere sincerity. Why my clients return. Local guest house. We can’t blame the chef, he can only produce the goods on the budget that he/she is given. Once again it...is the owners! G1 They have Monopolised St. Andrews. they own far too many restaurants. Including all the links club restaurants. Where, as a local. I frequent most. All restaurants fall way below par. Come on G1 (Glasgow company) we need you to give your restaurants more money. Whatever you pay the staff it’s not enough! They are front of house. They can’t help the fact you are not spending money on chefs that are frustrated. This is the complaint at the links restaurants also. Its time for G1 to answer ?More

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Recently had dinner in forgans. What’s a beautiful restaurant, from the walk in and all the way to the table. it’s beautiful. We were served by Jen. Amazing service, nothing was a hassle, very attentive and knowledgeable about the menu and good cocktail recommendations. Great...atmosphere with all the staff smiling really adds to the vibe. We will be returning!More

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had an awful meal here recently. Cullen skink that was watery, big chunks of potato and little evidence of fish. Vegetables with the main course were served in a cast-iron skillet that clearly had not been heated so were cold by the time they...reached the table. On complaining they were replaced with exactly the same result. So disappointing.More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Events C, General Manager at Forgan's St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello iainmQ2537PT, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we use these to show us which areas we need to work on to reach our usual Forgans standard. I am disappointed to hear that your visit with us was less than our...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Went as a group of six last Friday. Table was available immediately We were served by Daisy who is an absolute asset to Forgan's. Despite her very young age she is a confident and competent person. We had both dietary and choice issues, Daisy steered...us through options to meet these with patience and good humour, the subsequent service was excellent. I also have to mention the young South African man who also served us in such a pleasant way. The food was excellent and the wine list very reasonable for a restaurant in a tourist town. A great dining experience, particularly for our US guests who enjoyed (briefly) the ceilidh dancing.More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Events C, General Manager at Forgan's St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello balgrochan, Thank you for taking the time to leave a lovely review! I am so pleased that Daisy and Matt looked after your party so well and you enjoyed your meal and were able to partake in a bit of dancing! I hope we...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very complacent restaurant relying on its reputation. When we arrived we waited 10 minutes before even being acknowledged. Wine order never turned up and food was cold and overcooked. The waiter was really nice and the manager compensated us with complementary wine so that was...a plus. I would rather have a good restaurant experience though. As the say - must do better! I wouldn’t return and couldn’t recommend it.More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Events C, General Manager at Forgan's St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello CarnegieHoward, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we use these to show us which areas we need to work on to reach our usual Forgans standard. I am disappointed that this wasn't the case when you visited us. I am...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Tucked away off the high street this is a great little bistro restaurant catering for all types of eaters. There is a wide choice of items on the menu, good wine list, nice local produce, and a very buzzy atmosphere. One mark off for the...lack of a steak knife.More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Events C, General Manager at Forgan's St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Passport03968641060, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I am pleased that you seemed to enjoy your visit with us. I agree that we should lose a mark for the lack of steak knife, not our usual standard! I hope we...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went to Forgans on Saturday night a few weeks ago (10th) with my partner John and had a lovely time. The food was very nice, we both had 3 courses. Our starters were the salmon and the prawn tempura, both of which were delicious and...both very generous portions. Our mains came out very quickly after our starters, I had the hake and my partner opted for the gammon steak. Finally for dessert we had the chocolate tart and cheese cake, the perfect way to end the meal! Our server, Kady, was attentive without hovering and very friendly throughout our visit. Would recommend Forgans to anyone and will be backMore

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Events C, General Manager at Forgan's St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Niaamh0509, Thank you for taking the time to write a great review. I am so pleased to hear you had a lovely time and enjoyed your meal. I am also pleased to see that Kady offered great service. we look forward to welcoming you...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited with friends on last night and really enjoyed the experience. The vibe was very relaxed, food was excellent and the one issue we had was resolved quickly and without fuss. Our waiter Sam was very pleasant and extremely efficient. Nothing was too much...trouble and he was a credit to the staff.More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Events C, General Manager at Forgan's St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi alistairr741, thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your meal and the ambience. I am so pleased to hear that Sam looked after you so well and helped resolve the...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Fab meal. JJ was very attentive as I was on my own. Steak cooked to perfection. Will definitely be back and also recommend.More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Events C, General Manager at Forgan's St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi 918isabellg, thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your steak and its lovely to hear that you found JJ to be very attentive! We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards,...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We attended Forgans on a busy evening and to be fair they made a table available for our party of 3. As I said a busy evening but Daisy stole the show. A good-humored young waitress from the local area who was very attentive and...ensured that we had an enjoyable evening overall.More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Events C, Guest Relations Manager at Forgan's St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear DoonbegGC, Thank you for taking the time to review Forgan's. I'm so glad we were able to accommodate your table and that Daisy was so attentive. I have passed on your feedback to her and she is delighted you had such an enjoyable evening....More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went here for Lunch with some friends on the first week of freshers. The interior of the restaurant had a retro feel to it. The restaurant was very busy and we hadn't book a table however the staff where very helpful and we where seated...straight away. Our server was called Kelly she was very nice and super helpful. There was plenty of options on the menu even something for my fussy eater friend. our meal came very out quick and it was fantastic. all the staff we spoke to where very nice and helpful. I'd recommend this place, I will be coming back maybe for a dinner next time I'm in ST Andrews. Thank you for a great service.More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Events C, General Manager at Forgan's St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello MichaelM7035, Thank you for your recent review, I am so pleased to hear you had a lovely visit and that Kelly was nice and super helpful. We look forwarded to welcoming you back for yet another lovely visit! Kind Regards, Alanah, Restaurant and Events...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Kinnettles Hotel
219 reviews
.12 miles away
Albany Hotel
1,029 reviews
.17 miles away
Vardon House
8 reviews
.17 miles away
Hazelbank Hotel
126 reviews
.18 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Keys Bar
290 reviews
.05 miles away
The Doll’s House
2,148 reviews
.06 miles away
BlackHorn
553 reviews
.07 miles away
The Cottage Kitchen
399 reviews
.05 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
St Andrews VisitScotland iCentre
65 reviews
.09 miles away
Martyrs' Monument
60 reviews
.08 miles away
Hamish McHamish Statue
21 reviews
.06 miles away
Whyte-Melville Memorial Fountain
18 reviews
.05 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
cattm2016
August 10, 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from cattm2016 |
Sorry, I meant that it was possible without the full 3 course meal. We will definitely be buying drinks etc when we are there.
0
Votes
kerryc117
July 25, 2018|
Answer
Response from deansV4452CH | Reviewed this property |
The bothers seat 8-12 people comfortably.re menu I have always found them very accommodating just email or call them in advance and let them know your requirements and I’m sure they will oblige.
0
Votes
MJLJones
April 16, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Events C | Property representative |
Hi MJLJones, Thank you for taking interest in dining with us! Unfortunately we only allow guide dogs on the premises, however if your pooch is happy to wait, we have a lovely walkway where you can let him... More
2
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

FORGAN'S ST ANDREWS, St. Andrews - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Forgan's St Andrews

Yes, Forgan's St Andrews is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Forgan's St Andrews is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5