We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Swilcan Lounge

West Sands, St. Andrews KY16 9XL, Scotland
+44 1334 466642
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good39%
  • Average9%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible5%
Travelers talk about
Open Now
6:00 AM - 9:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
British, Scottish, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
West Sands, St. Andrews KY16 9XL, Scotland
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

As organiser of my golf society I have to say I was a little disappointed with our recent visit to St Andrews and the Swilcan lounge. A week prior to our visit I informed them that two of our parties best friends mother had died...More

Thank BuchananTravellers
StAndrewsLinks, Marketing at The Swilcan Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We're sorry to hear your experience didn't quite live up to your expectations. We do, however, appreciate your feedback which we will share with our team. Kind regards.

Reviewed September 2, 2017

We were somewhat hesitant to eat in the lounge, even with reservations, as we had just returned from the tour and were a little windblown. However, we were glad we did as we were greeted cordially and brought to our table right next to the...More

Thank ShamrockNC
Reviewed August 28, 2017 via mobile

We have eaten here more than 30 times over the past 17 years. It's always high quality consistent supper food. Great service. Fast and efficient Food is not fancy but simple bar supper food. Warm welcome for many thousands who visit each year.

1  Thank GolfDuck
Reviewed August 17, 2017 via mobile

No children's menu. Food was bland and overpriced apart for one of six meals - the fish and chips was very good. Service was a bit all over the place. Two apple juices for our toddlers were £9 (£4.50 each)! Response of rather cheeky young...More

Thank Scruncher2012
StAndrewsLinks, Manager at The Swilcan Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2017

We're sorry to hear you were left disappointed with your experience at the Swilcan Lounge. We appreciate your feedback nonetheless. Regards.

Reviewed August 14, 2017

I'm a non golfer. Golfing is in my family and I have never been refused entry. Previously we have a meal every year when we visit St Andrews, on this occasion it was for a coffee and some delicious chips. The comfortable leather couches with...More

1  Thank Elizabeth M
Reviewed August 2, 2017 via mobile

My wife and I dropped in for a snack lunch today. The restaurant was very busy , but after a short wait we were seated and got the menus. Very efficient friendly staff who took our order quickly and we did not have long to...More

1  Thank ian f
Reviewed July 27, 2017 via mobile

Service was quick and friendly. The view down the 18th of the new course is stunning late afternoon watching the golfers come in. Beer was cold. Food was excellent and not too expensive.

Thank Marto65
Reviewed April 23, 2017

I have been here twice; once OK, but more recently poor. Two of us arrived for Friday lunch and were told that the restaurant was for golfers only. There were plenty of seats, but the restaurant staff were very inflexible and stand offish. Several other...More

5  Thank KingKongScotland
Reviewed April 23, 2017

The food was fantastic and they had wonderful vegetarian options and a great kids menu. The risotto was the best risotto I've ever had! Excellent service and very family friendly. Wonderful views.

1  Thank calliam
Reviewed March 4, 2017

We decided, on a trip to St Andrews, to go to the Links Clubhouse at the 1st tees of the Jubilee & New Courses. We were seated at a table in the window, overlooking the 17th hole of the Old Course. The waiter served us...More

2  Thank Robert S
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Balgove Larder
1,107 reviews
.87 miles away
The Seafood Ristorante
1,095 reviews
.92 miles away
The Jigger Inn
324 reviews
.83 miles away
Road Hole Restaurant
143 reviews
.79 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The Swilcan Bridge
583 reviews
.89 miles away
St Andrews West Sands Beach
533 reviews
.79 miles away
British Golf Museum
279 reviews
.89 miles away
St Andrews Aquarium
424 reviews
.95 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
james h
February 16, 2017|
Answer
Response from StAndrewsLinks | Property representative |
Hi James. Alcohol is served from 10am everyday in the clubhouse.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Kids, Large groups, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
6:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Monday
6:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
6:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
6:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
6:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Friday
6:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
6:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: West Sands, St. Andrews KY16 9XL, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Fife  >  St. Andrews
  • Phone Number: +44 1334 466642
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing