We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club

$
Grill, Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options, American, Contemporary, Scottish
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1 St. Marys Place, St. Andrews KY16 9UY, Scotland
+44 1334 476964
Website
Today
10:00 am - 12:00 am
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Mon 10:00 am - 12:00 am
Tue - Sat 10:00 am - 2:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

278 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 275: English reviews
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

St Andrews is usually crowded out at lunchtime during the summer and it was a pleasant surprise to find this establishment not full. The menu was interesting and slightly different from the usual and the service was cheerful. The food was tasty.

Helpful?
Thank jon0269
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Popped in today for a late lunch after struggling to find a table in other venues. Place was practically empty so I wasn't expecting much but I was wrong! Vics has a lovely laid back feel, I don't get the criticism of the decor, I liked it and could have quite happily sat there all afternoon. The staff were friendly,... More 

Helpful?
Thank TheBlueSmartie
VicCafe, Manager at Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club, responded to this review

Hi TheBlueSmartie! Thanks for giving us such a great review! I'm glad you enjoyed our quirky decor, good food and relaxed vibes, as that's what we're all about during the day! We hope to see you again soon. Thanks, V x More 

Falkirk District, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Popped in to escape the rain found a nice pleasant bar Had a few drinks and decided to grab a bite to eat Went to bar to order bar told me someone would come over and take our order took them twenty minutes Took our order but had to wait nearly an hour when it arrived it was burnt and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank George B
VicCafe, Manager at Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club, responded to this review

Hi George Thank you for your review. I am sorry you did not enjoy your visit to the Vic and that you had to wait so long to get your food, this certainly does not depict our usual high standards of service. If you would like to discuss this further please do not hesitate to contact us at hello@vicstandrews.co.uk Thanks,... More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Hi, booked a table here for my husband and I and our 4 children on Sat evening with the understanding that they could cater for me being coeliac but when we got menus I double checked with waitress that I could get something and she replied with they don't do gluten free but could have something like burger without bun... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mdeduncan
VicCafe, Manager at Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club, responded to this review

Good afternoon mdeducan, I apologise for any misunderstanding on your recent visit. We very much do cater for those who are coleiac. While we do not have a gluten free menu, our kitchen team are very used to altering dishes (and sometimes creating new ones) to cater for the needs of our many customers. I'm sorry if you were disappointed... More 

Fife, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Surroundings could be better, it's been taken back to the bare stone walls but not nicely, foods good service can be a hit or a miss, but great for people with young children.

Helpful?
Thank Frances G
VicCafe, Manager at Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club, responded to this review

Good afternoon Frances, I'm sorry you're not a fan of the decor. Our exposed stone work can be a personal choice. I'm glad you found our food to be tasty and our friendly staff were great with the wee ones. We hope to welcome you back soon! More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2016

Lovely lunch, the burgers were fantastic and staff absolutely lovely. Excellent value, a lovely wee place.

Helpful?
Thank P A
VicCafe, Manager at Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club, responded to this review

Hello P A. Thanks for the review on our Tripadvisor page and spreading the word. Great to hear you enjoyed our food and found the staff to be friendly. We hope you pop in again soon! Thanks More 

Edinburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2016 via mobile

We arrived for a meal on their new menu. The food took quite a while and the starter came at the same time as the mains but the food was great, very tasty. The supervisor (maybe manager) dealt with our complaint really well. He discounted our food and apologised, they clearly care about their customers. I would recommend it and... More 

Helpful?
Thank chickydoo
VicCafe, Manager at Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club, responded to this review

Good afternoon chickydoo, Thanks for leaving your feedback on our Tripadvisor page. I'm glad you enjoyed our food. I'm sorry for the delay in your food. Sometimes mistakes do happen but I'm delighted you thought it was handled so well by the manager on duty. We do really care about our customers and it's great to hear you'd recommend us!... More 

Cupar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2016 via mobile

Good food at a reasonable price. The children's menu is incredible! Really enjoyed the meal and the place itself feels very cool.

Helpful?
Thank Heston_Blumenthal
VicCafe, Manager at Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed the food from our newly launched menu and that the little ones were happy with their options too. Hope to see you again soon! V x More 

Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2016

The Vic has an industrial feel and the food is fresh and fantastic. They were eager to assist with Gluten Free options. The food was generous and full of flavor. We also ordered off the signature cocktail menu. These drinks were as equally as good as their food!

Helpful?
Thank meldavall
VicCafe, Manager at Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club, responded to this review

Thank for the great review meldavell - I'm glad you enjoyed your choices from our new menu and our classic cocktails - especially the French Martinis! We're more than happy to tweak our dishes to fit a wide range of dietary requirements so that nobody misses out. Hope to see you again soon! V x More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2016 via mobile

We arrived before the fish man (11:50 thanks to hungry hungover son) but nice to see the fish is fresh. So, it was a plain burger, a chilli burger and a chicken burger. All were excellent with a good proportion of salad to meat and a well cooked, not too tight burger. Service was top notch too. I recommend sitting... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank srmh1969
VicCafe, Manager at Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club, responded to this review

Mega thanks for that top notch review! Yup, we're all about fresher than fresh ingredients and our haddock is nabbed from the sea and put straight into the delivery van to begin it's journey to the Vic! We're glad that you enjoyed our equally delicious burgers! You'll have to come back and try out our exclusive Burger of the Week!... More 

Travelers who viewed Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club also viewed

 

Been to Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Average prices
$3 - $15
Cuisine
Grill, Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options, American, Contemporary, Scottish
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 12:00 am
Monday
10:00 am - 12:00 am
Tuesday
10:00 am - 2:00 am
Wednesday
10:00 am - 2:00 am
Thursday
10:00 am - 2:00 am
Friday
10:00 am - 2:00 am
Saturday
10:00 am - 2:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 St. Marys Place, St. Andrews KY16 9UY, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Fife  >  St. Andrews
  • Phone Number: +44 1334 476964
Description
The VIC is a twin venue of sorts, like the Olsens, except everyone here is a healthy eater and we don't see ourselves being billionaires anytime soon. There’s the pub/kitchen, which pretty much does exactly what it says on the tin, clinkity clink drinks from crafty craft beer to posher than posh teacup gin serves. Food glorious food, there may or may not be hot sausage and mustard (depending on the day and the chef's mood and whether or not we were able to catch fresh sausages that morning). The social club, although on the same floor as the pub/kitchen, is on an altogether lower level morally. The DJs are fresher than the air up on the 11th hole, totally non generic and they show up and play records really good. Then there's the one off club nights, the ceilidh and a whole bunch of other great stuff.We’re all about cheap as chips food, shin digs befitting of this ancient old town, cocktails, fairy tales, and pretty much anything else we can get away with doing in a licensed premises that won't result in our long suffering manager and his associates spending a casual weekend in the jailhouse.Free wifi access is available every day of the week, ideal if you’ve got a working lunch or just feel like a nosey on Facebook.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
10 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?