We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

West Port Bar & Kitchen

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
170 South Street, St. Andrews KY16 9EG, Scotland
+44 1334 473186
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

358 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 355: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband, myself and two other couples dined here on 12 November. We had a lovely meal and I was pleasantly surprised by the food standards. Cannot praise enough and staff were very helpful too

Helpful?
1 Thank LFrankie
Townsend, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

West Port was a mid-range establishment with a varied menu. All the food and drinks were delicious. The atmosphere was lovely. One of our daughters favorite places to eat while she attended the University of St Andrews.

Helpful?
2 Thank dmcauliffe1226
Newport-on-Tay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2016

A friend and I had a lovely lunch at the West Port. Piping hot and delicious chips. Very cosy with great table service

Helpful?
1 Thank Brian W
West K, General Manager at West Port Bar & Kitchen, responded to this review

Thanks Brian, glad to read you enjoyed lunch with us. Jim More 

Fife, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2016

Arranged to meet a friend, whom we had never actually met. Seated in the car we reflected upon his choice in dingy looking pubs! Beware snap judgement - this is a swish and tastefully designed modern Restaurant hiding behind its forbidding facade. The mussels? Great. The Fish & Chips? Equally. The Staff? A credit to the establishment. Sorry for having... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank fisheater2016
West K, General Manager at West Port Bar & Kitchen, responded to this review

Great review Fisheaster - so glad to see you gave us a go & enjoyed it. Thanks again Jim More 

Chester Springs, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2016

We just concluded our seventh annual visit with family living in St. Andrews. We didn't have an opportunity to dine at the West Port in 2015. In each of the other years, we have had a very enjoyable dinner or lunch at the West Port at least once during the trip. We have never stayed in the hotel. Our party... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank E24fan
West K, General Manager at West Port Bar & Kitchen, responded to this review

Thank you - good to hear it all went so well. See you next time hopefully Jim More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2016

Ten of us visited this place on Friday 21st October 2016 at 17:45. One of our party is in a wheelchair. Easy access into the bar from the street but no disabled access to upper or lower parts of the bar. It was quiet but there were people sitting at every table on the ground level. We asked the barman... More 

Helpful?
Thank jinty369
West K, General Manager at West Port Bar & Kitchen, responded to this review

I am sorry that you felt I was rude to your party but for clarity the area that you were trying to get into only had 1 table for 2 people free and that was the issue here. Friday evenings do get busy and this can happen when a group of 10 tries to walk in off the street. I... More 

Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2016

We love this place. The staff are always friendly and attentive even when the place is busy. I really can't fault the place.

Helpful?
1 Thank LouMorNeele
West K, General Manager at West Port Bar & Kitchen, responded to this review

Hello Thank you so much for letting tripadvisor know how much you enjoy us Jim More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
230 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2016

We went there with a load of people in a big wedding party, no problem to a very well bar, great drinks and well organised with very friendly staff. The Gins they gave us were excellent") Liked it a lot")

Helpful?
1 Thank Scottie S
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2016 via mobile

Shocking service, never again!! Three serving behind the bar (including the manager) with four people waiting to be served - waited 25minutes,with zero acknowledgment?!!!!!?! The guy standing next to us commented that had he not be staying at the hotel he would have left. Eventually got served by the manager with no acknowledgement. No thanks!!

Helpful?
Thank Suzybsteel
West K, Manager at West Port Bar & Kitchen, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear of your experience during your visit this weekend. I can only apologise that on this occasion we did not perform to the very high standards that we set ourselves More 

Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2016

Excellent menu - healthy choices and indulgence - something for everyone. Welcoming staff who were keen to ensure we had everything we required. Wonderful healthy choices, fantastic sides and salads. Drinks menu was terrific, cocktails and mocktails and some excellent wine by the glass.

Helpful?
Thank gmm2016423
West K, General Manager at West Port Bar & Kitchen, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for such a lovely review on tripadvisor - I am so glad that you enjoyed your stop at us. Thanks again Jim More 

Travelers who viewed West Port Bar & Kitchen also viewed

St. Andrews, Fife
St. Andrews, Fife
 

Been to West Port Bar & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Scottish, International, European, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 170 South Street, St. Andrews KY16 9EG, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Fife  >  St. Andrews
  • Phone Number: +44 1334 473186

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from West Port Bar & Kitchen staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?