We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Indigo Yard

7 Charlotte Lane, Edinburgh EH2 4QZ, Scotland
+44 131 220 5603
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighborhoods
Neighborhoods
Overview
  • Excellent26%
  • Very good36%
  • Average19%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible7%
Travelers talk about
“gnocchi” (9 reviews)
“fries” (14 reviews)
“salmon” (9 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
7 Charlotte Lane, Edinburgh EH2 4QZ, Scotland
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (653)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 635 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

Nice and relaxed seating areas, food was tasty but all dishes were only 'luke warm', when mentioned to waiter was just told they would see about getting a discount on bill, when in reality we just wanted a nice meal. Waiter changed over half way...More

Thank Craig B
Tamboedinburgh, Manager at Indigo Yard, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Craig B Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am so sorry to hear this about the temperature of the food and how your meal ended. This is not acceptable at all, and from our side absolutely not what...More

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Positives: Quirky decor Great £12.50 2 course dine out menu Chicken terrine tasty Friendly staff Lovely wall of flowers on entrance Negatives: 2 seater tables a bit too close to each otherMore

Thank bettyboop20
Tamboedinburgh, Manager at Indigo Yard, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Bettyboop 20 Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this review So happy to hear you enjoyed your recent visit to us, the chicken terrine is one of my favourites too. Please do get in touch to book next time...More

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Went for lunch with family, despite being quiet we were seated and abandoned without menus after asking for food. Eventually passed a menu, drinks ordered taken so far so good. We ordered the seabass and chicken which took a reasonable time to come, tasted great...More

Thank kirsty8565
Tamboedinburgh, Manager at Indigo Yard, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Kirsty 8565 Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback I am very sad to hear about your experience on your recent visit, this is absolutely not what we strive for within Indigo Yard, and looks like our customer...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We ate here one Friday night and the waiting staff were friendly, helpful and attentive without being overbearing. The menu was good and varied and the quality if food was good although the treacle tart crust was a little in the crunchy side! All in...More

Thank Kay W
Tamboedinburgh, Manager at Indigo Yard, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Kay W Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this review So happy to hear you enjoyed your recent visit to us, will pass on your lovely comments to our staff for sure! Thanks again and look forward to seeing...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited with my partner on Saturday evening, place was very busy and noisy, difficult to have conversation without shouting but that's not the restaurants' fault. Long wait for food and when it did arrive was luke warm. Waitress was very apologetic and took both meals...More

Thank hamish1993
Tamboedinburgh, Manager at Indigo Yard, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Hamish1993 Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this review So happy to hear you enjoyed your recent visit to us, however saddened to hear about your meal not being perfect the first time. This should not be happening at...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Located at west end just minutes from princes street, should be handy for a quick lunch time drink of food. Unfortunately this experience wouldn't have me going back. Waiting staff slow and inattentive. Neither girl paying any attention to customers. Food came quickly. The risotto...More

Thank Ross G
Tamboedinburgh, Manager at Indigo Yard, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Ross G Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback I am very sad to hear about your experience on your recent visit, this is absolutely not what we strive for within Indigo Yard, and looks like our customer...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I used to always love coming to Indigo Yard over the years for a cocktail and lovely food, however I recently dined on the 3rd July and had a really poor experience with shocking customer experience. My partner and I work in the hospitality industry...More

Thank Lauren C
Tamboedinburgh, Manager at Indigo Yard, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Lauren C We really appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback, however extremely disappointed to hear about your service on your recent visit to is. This is not acceptable at all, and certainly not what we strive to do. We would...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We came here by chance and will be happy to come back one day! Great beers and service (real beer freaks). We had an unexpected beer-tasting session ;)

Thank Anna M
Tamboedinburgh, Manager at Indigo Yard, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Anna M Thank you so much for your lovely review, So glad you enjoyed your recent visit, and the beers :-) We very much look forward to seeing you again soon Kind regards Indigo team x

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had dinner here on a warm saturday evening and it was the perfect place. We had the whole roast chicken with 2 sides and several cocktails and everything was delicous! Really good customer service and great live music - definitely gave the place a brilliant...More

Thank Jessica A
Tamboedinburgh, Manager at Indigo Yard, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Jessica A Thank you so much for your lovely review, So glad you enjoyed your recent visit to us We very much look forward to seeing you again soon Kind regards Indigo team x

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Really nice outdoor space which is sheltered from the wind. Very tasty wine and good service - nice that they do table service even for drinks. Could be improved with drinks menus on the tables and some outdoor heatersMore

Thank bifflet
Tamboedinburgh, Manager at Indigo Yard, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Bifflet Thank you so much for your review So glad you enjoyed your recent visit to us, I love the outside area too it is fab when the sun pays us a visit! Great idea about the heaters will definitely pass this onto the...More

Nearby
West End
Prevailing winds meant that most cities that grew in
industrial Britain had their most desirable
neighborhoods to the west – upwind of factory fumes.
Edinburgh was no exception, with its wealthiest
citizens settling in its West End and leaving behind
grand Georgian townhouses, private gardens and genteel
crescents. These backstreets remain as dignified and
sleepy as ever, and most of the action here lies along
...More
Nearby Restaurants
Forage & Chatter
516 reviews
.03 miles away
La P'tite Folie
406 reviews
.02 miles away
L'Escargot Blanc
413 reviews
.03 miles away
Le Di-Vin Winebar
176 reviews
.02 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Edinburgh Gin Distillery
963 reviews
.10 miles away
Georgian House
673 reviews
.11 miles away
Charlotte Square
86 reviews
.09 miles away
Church of St John the Evangelist
52 reviews
.13 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Indigo Yard staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 am - 1:00 am
Monday
8:00 am - 1:00 am
Tuesday
8:00 am - 1:00 am
Wednesday
8:00 am - 1:00 am
Thursday
8:00 am - 1:00 am
Friday
8:00 am - 1:00 am
Saturday
8:00 am - 1:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 7 Charlotte Lane, Edinburgh EH2 4QZ, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Edinburgh>  > West End
  • Neighborhood: West End
  • Phone Number: +44 131 220 5603
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing