We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Museum Brasserie

British, Scottish, European
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighborhoods
Neighborhoods
Get directions
National Museum of Scotland | Chambers Street, Edinburgh EH1 1JF, Scotland
0131 247 4084
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

63 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 61: English reviews
Clackmannan
Level Contributor
215 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Avoid this brasserie and go out to George IV bridge for a choice of eateries, we made the mistake of visiting for lunch, not busy but we were told it would be 20 minutes for food. We waited over 45 minutes, then were told we were next order out, it was because we had ordered a burger that had delayed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Albanach
CMcH29, General Manager at The Museum Brasserie, responded to this review

Hi Albanach, I'm sorry that you had a wait for your lunch yesterday. We were very busy when you arrived and the team did inform all of the customers of the delay from the kitchen due to the volume of customers. The other issues with cutlery and your order I can only apologise for. I am pleased to hear the... More 

Level Contributor
73 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived to be greeted by the statement 'it will be 10 minutes for coffee' although it didn't look that busy. We waited longer than that for our order to be taken as staff didn't seen to have any rationale for the way they were working. Once our coffee and scones arrived they were pleasant enough but I probably won't be... More 

Helpful?
Thank sh4lag
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After our excellent lunch in the Portrait Museum yesterday we were looking forward to lunch in National Museum today but couldn't have been more disappointed. Service was slow for what was a short order menu but I don't blame the wait staff who were friendly and helpful but the pass from kitchen was very slow (and the restaurant appeared only... More 

Helpful?
Thank eddie51
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
59 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2016 via mobile

We arrived to the restaurant after visiting the museum and after a long wait to order we managed to order: Sunday roast, sausages and fish and chips. You would assume that everything looks quite basic so little room to do it wrong, however they actually managed to overcook the sunday roast (was actually quite dry and hard to even cut!).... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alvaro I
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
282 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2016

Four of us eat here during the Celtic evening this month so it opened late (it usually closes at 5pm. I was a bit dubious as the space looks a bit cafe-ish in the basement level, but it was an excellent meal. Two of us had the lamb stew and the other two had venison sausages. All very tasty. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank hilarymunro
CMcH29, General Manager at The Museum Brasserie, responded to this review

Hi Hilary, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are open late when we have museum lates on, we try to vary the menu for the evening and I am glad that you enjoyed it. We hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Claire More 

Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2016

The traditional Sunday lunch enjoyed by 2 of our party received high praise. The bun my burger came in was dry and rock hard, but it was the service that let this place down, very slow and remote.

Helpful?
Thank Sheron B
CMcH29, General Manager at The Museum Brasserie, responded to this review

Hi Sheon B, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm glad that your party enjoyed the Sunday lunch but I'm sorry that the burger was disappointing. Your feedback has been passed onto the team. Kind regards, Claire More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2016

Lovely place after an extensive visit to the museum. It is so cozy and best thing is, there is a kids'menu!

Helpful?
Thank scrapmum
CMcH29, General Manager at The Museum Brasserie, responded to this review

Hi scrapmum, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad you and your family had a good time within the Museum Brasserie. We hope to see you again soon! Kind regard, Claire More 

Scotland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2016

The food is nothing special but that one sort of expects. The wait is something special though. Ten minutes to get the menu, another 10 to get water, forever to get the salad, and after waiting 10+ minutes for coffee I could not wait any more and left - as I was paying on the way out, the waitress asked... More 

Helpful?
Thank SKTT09
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2016 via mobile

The idea was to go for a quick bite during a trip to the museum but it didn't quite work that way. With two young starving children we didn't have a great lot of options nearby so we joined the queue to be taken to a table. There were plenty of staff buzzing about as well as plenty of tables... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
Angus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2016

Not the best place to go. Service very slow, coffee average and could'nt eat the cake we bought. Would not recommend

Helpful?
1 Thank Thimble-21

Travelers who viewed The Museum Brasserie also viewed

West Calder, West Lothian
 

Been to The Museum Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Cuisine
British, Scottish, European
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Families with children
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: National Museum of Scotland | Chambers Street, Edinburgh EH1 1JF, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Edinburgh
  • Phone Number: 0131 247 4084

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Museum Brasserie staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?