We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Italian Kitchen - CLOSED

24 Deanhaugh Street, Edinburgh EH4 1LY, Scotland
+44 131 315 2860
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighborhoods
Neighborhoods
Overview
  • Excellent69%
  • Very good21%
  • Average8%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible2%
Jul 25, 2014
“dreadfull food.....over-priced wine”
May 16, 2014
“Very Good Food”
Restaurant Hours Closed
CUISINES
Italian
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
24 Deanhaugh Street, Edinburgh EH4 1LY, Scotland
All Details
Reviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 45 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2014

I feel really sorry for the waitress who was really pleasant and engaging, sadly the owners have decided that a "tapas" option is a neat idea...normally yes and we had a great night recently at a Tapas place where the average price was £4-5 per...More

2  Thank Edinburgbarman1990
VeritasEH4, Manager at Italian Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal. Looking at the date you wrote this review, our head chef was not in that night and we have spoken to those that were in the kitchen that night to ensure they meet...More

Reviewed May 16, 2014

Very nice food. Went with wife tonite. The restaurant is really nice. Good wine and food selection. We will back soon.

Thank YUE B
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I heard about this restaurant from an Italian friend of mine. We have been many times and love the authentic, simply and beautifully cooked Italian dishes. Try the ravioli of the day!

Thank Simon B
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Wonderful stuffed calamari starter, filled with anchovies and caperberries etc, followed by seafood pasta with octopi and mussels. Staff are always friendly and the wine was good value. Nice cosy atmosphere too. The menu seems to be smaller now but there are always specials on...More

Thank CF1000
Riccardo V, Head Chef at Italian Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Thanks for the kind words. The menu is still the same size just split between seasonal and old favourites. We try our best and try to keep to the traditional Italian cuisine innovative here.

Reviewed February 22, 2014

Wee stumbled on the restaurant accidentally. Its hidden away beneath street levels but this only adds to its charm. Nice atmosphere inside and the staff a very friendly and welcoming. Food was great! Will keep going back

Thank Louise R
Reviewed January 18, 2014

There's a very good sign in The Italian Kitchen: you have to wait for your food a little. That means it's very freshly cooked by an excellent chef (Ricardo, 3/4 Glaswegian, 1/4 Italian) and served by passionate waiters – this time by Tommaso and Ilaria...More

Thank Stormpetrel2011
Riccardo V, Manager at Italian Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you, It s always a pleasure to cook for people who appreciate . Riccardo (100% Italian, with a Glasgow accent)

Reviewed January 18, 2014

I have been here a few times with different groups and there is a really good choice of food on the menu (more than normal pizza and pasta) with lovely food and friendly service. The focaccia is the nicest I have ever had and I...More

Thank Aileen L
Reviewed October 21, 2013

After taking my wife and daughter shopping in Edinburgh last Thursday I needed help to recover. A lovely Italian and a glass of red wine - that's just the ticket! And so we paid a return visit to Italian Kitchen. Intimate with friendly waitress service,...More

Thank whenslunch
Reviewed September 6, 2013

How small, intimate, restaurants should all be! The food was first class and the service excellent. A lovely relaxed atmosphere where you could savour the food in comfort. We stayed chatting to the staff at the end of our meal and there was no intimation...More

Thank santapopa
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Italian Kitchen was recomended by my daughter who was an expert in food & drink industry when I consulted her where I should have taken my clients from overseas. The recomendation was a great hit! The pasta, pizza, rice, salad and even coffee were all...More

Thank 6chan
Nearby
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Just downhill of New Town and attractively straddling
a river near the elegant Royal Botanic Garden, it’s
small wonder that Stockbridge became one of the city’s
first hip neighborhoods. It’s now one of Edinburgh’s
most desirable, though many bohemian touches have
fallen away as its residents have matured and the area
has gentrified. Some second-hand shops cling on, but
mostly residents display refined tastes in basement
...More
Nearby HotelsSee all 150 hotels in Edinburgh
Nira Caledonia
1,239 reviews
.14 miles away
The Raeburn
753 reviews
.23 miles away
The Royal Circus Hotel
1 review
.26 miles away
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
491 reviews
.40 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
RadiCibus Italian Restaurant
74 reviews
.01 miles away
Rafael's
154 reviews
.01 miles away
Taisteal
185 reviews
.05 miles away
Stockbridge Kitchen
163 reviews
.08 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Stockbridge Market
187 reviews
.07 miles away
Inverleith Park
67 reviews
.35 miles away
Visites Guidees Edimbourg
411 reviews
.13 miles away
Escocia Turismo
280 reviews
.23 miles away
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Cuisine
Good for
Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 24 Deanhaugh Street, Edinburgh EH4 1LY, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Edinburgh>  > Stockbridge & Dean Village
  • Neighborhood: Stockbridge & Dean Village
  • Phone Number: +44 131 315 2860
  • E-mail
Description
One of the only restaurants in UK to receive the award Marchio Ospitalita Italiana from the Italian Government as accepted as an original Italian restaurant with Italian chef , staff and products. Sorry due to an integrity problem which has been sorted for a single review from a client our ranking is skewed.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;