We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Tron

$
Neighborhood:
Old Town
Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighborhoods
Neighborhoods
Get directions
9 Hunter Square, Edinburgh EH1 1QW, Scotland
+44 131 225 3784
Website
Today
10:00 am - 1:00 am
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 am - 1:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

307 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 215: English reviews
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
333 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a great food experience here. My best Steak and Guinness Pie all through Scotland. the pub seemed to have a student profile and we felt old inside here, even though we're young at heart. The interior a bit simple. Still the staff was great and prices reasonable.

Helpful?
Thank high_low73
General Manager A, Manager at The Tron, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for your review! We strive to provide excellent quality food and brilliant service at all times, so we are very happy to hear that this is the case. I will make sure to pass your feedback onto the team. We hope to see you again soon! Thank you, Kirsty Duty Manager More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The decline of the barstaff: Asked to leave a table we'd been at for 3hrs without prior notice for a group of guys that left after 40mins Ordered food which was brought without them clearing previous dishes. Asked for a jammy donut (baileys + chambord) Apparently they don't make cocktails Got knocked of stool by guy who stole my drink... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shambles8984
Liverpool
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went to the Tron to see some Edinburgh Horror Festival shows. I bought a couple of glasses of wine which were cheap to buy and I soon found out why. They show sky sports so if you want to watch foundo of ball and have a cheap drink then it's fine.

Helpful?
Thank pauldLiverpool
Kirsty B, Manager at The Tron, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for your review. We hope you enjoyed the shows! We do have a large selection of wine to suit all tastes and budgets. We hope to see you again! Thank you, Kirsty More 

Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2016

Visited this venue on the 21st/22nd October when staying in Edinburgh for my 21st Birthday. Food was great and was fairly priced, standard pub grub. But, what really set this place apart from the rest of the pubs/clubs we visited was the staff! The staff were very friendly and provided first class service, a truly great asset to the pub!... More 

Helpful?
Thank gs22009
Adam C, General Manager at The Tron, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review, I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your food and that the staff made your 21st Birthday all the more enjoyable. I will make sure I pass this on to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Adam More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2016

After a stressful trip on the airplane it was great visiting the Tron, ordering some food and something to drink. Needed to calm down so the people working there added to my relaxation.

Helpful?
Thank Werner S
Adam C, General Manager at The Tron, responded to this review

Thank you very much for leaving your lovely review, I'm glad to hear that our staff helped you relax and I will make sure I pass this on to the team. Regards Adam More 

Nairn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2016 via mobile

Dirty, tatty looking bar. Only good thing is the central location. This place really needs updating. The toilets were awful. I won't be visiting again in a hurry

Helpful?
Thank Nae-fear
Adam C, General Manager at The Tron, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, we value all feedback whether positive or negative. I will pass your review on to the team and we will strive to improve the points you have raised in a bid to make a better impression if you give us a second chance. Regards Adam More 

Scotland
Level Contributor
232 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2016

I've been coming here since I was 18 years old (I actually came here on my 18th birthday many moons ago) and used to come for drinks with chips and cheese. On my recent visits it has just been for drinks. My husband and I were in town during the start of the festival and we decided to get a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Princess_Pretty
Kirsty B, Manager at The Tron, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for your lovely review! We are very glad to hear you keep coming back, and we look forward to seeing you again, whether for breakfast, a snack or just drinks! I will make sure to pass your feedback onto the team! Thank you, Kirsty More 

Sunderland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2016

Went here as a party of 15 on Saturday afternoon. It was pretty busy and there was only one girl behind the bar serving food, drinks and taking orders, she was very friendly and polite. Was a cheap lunch out before heading out to the shops and food was your standard pub food at really reasonable prices. Everyone enjoyed there... More 

Helpful?
Thank plews87
Adam C, General Manager at The Tron, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you very much for your positive review, I will make sure I pass your feedback onto the team. Regards Adam More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2016

Good atmosphere, and cheap pub although food is really crap. Ordered the nachos and they were the worst we have had! OK for drinking

Helpful?
Thank Emma H
Adam C, General Manager at The Tron, responded to this review

Hi Emma, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your food. We value all feedback and will take this on board and see how we can improve. Hopefully you will give us another chance to show you how good our food can be. I'm glad to hear you did enjoy... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2016

First burger I've had in Scotland, was ok, nothing great. The size was decent, but that's about it. The meat was a little dry, one strip of bacon and 2 onion rings. Chips were ok, though very thick. My partner had a steak which was very small (5oz is the smallest) thankfully it was enough for her (I prefer a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul S
Kirsty B, Manager at The Tron, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for your review. I can only apologize that the meat wasn't entirely up to scratch on your visit. Our burgers are always a very popular and well liked choice! We do hope you choose to visit us in future so we can show you what we can really do! Thank you, Kirsty More 

Travelers who viewed The Tron also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Tron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$4 - $15
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Waitstaff, Street Parking
Good for
Dining on a budget, Large groups, Bar scene
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 1:00 am
Monday
10:00 am - 1:00 am
Tuesday
10:00 am - 1:00 am
Wednesday
10:00 am - 1:00 am
Thursday
10:00 am - 1:00 am
Friday
10:00 am - 1:00 am
Saturday
10:00 am - 1:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 9 Hunter Square, Edinburgh EH1 1QW, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Edinburgh>  > Old Town
  • Neighborhood: Old Town
  • Phone Number: +44 131 225 3784
Description
Large 3 level pub in the centre of Edinburgh. We have some of the cheapest drink selections in town so we are very popular with students and backpackers. Traditional pub food served at brilliantly low prices.

We are not affiliated with the venue known as the Tron Kirk.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Tron staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Staying in Old Town

Neighborhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavored souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.
Explore this neighborhood